We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge waste of time and money (and potentially treacherous!!)”

Botanic Garden Ubud
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Bali Treetop Adventure Park Tour
Ranked #107 of 126 things to do in Ubud
Attraction details
Dallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Huge waste of time and money (and potentially treacherous!!)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My visit to this place is proof that Lonely Planet is completely out of touch with reality. I was riding my bike out of town and saw the sign for the "gardens". LP said "totally worth a visit".

AWFUL, AWFUL, AWFUL!! Overgrown.. Can't tell the weeds from the plants. Rarely saw a plant description sign and if I did it was rusted over and barely legible. Walkways are so slippery you almost want to crawl (except the Mosquitos are in hot pursuit). Lily pond an empty cesspool, "temple" non-existent. Herb garden a joke! To top it off I had to endure a worker screaming out some song at the top of his lungs while he "worked" (and he seriously must have been tone-deaf!).

Save yourself ...... Avoid this place!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank whereisshenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    20
    18
    48
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“THE SECRET GARDEN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Having spent a considerable amount of time in Ubud over the past 12 years having stumbled accross the Botanical gardens only yesterday, I felt a little amiss for not giving my support sooner. I can understand the comments from those of you living in countries where governments fund beautifully manicured gardens, that you may see a visit to these magical gardens not up to expectation: which I would understand if you were expecting something akin to back home. But I saw beyond the overgrown vines and structures that needed to attention to the absolutely amazing vision of one man who made it the last of his lifes work to create a sanctuary of beauty and unending whimsy. I felt like I had entered the secret garden.and I am urging every one here to be like Peter and the children of the Secret Garden, see its beauty, support it by paying the Rp,50,000 entrance fee and bring it back to life.. It is amazing with meditation nooks, a labarinth, a persian garden, yes all in need of TLC, but remember this is not a government funded project, what we see is the struggling attempt of the founders widow trying to hold fast to her husbands vision and what an amazing vision it was. It is a huge property and was obviously beyond her financial capabilities to maintain thus a new investor has come to its rescue also wanting to pay tribute to the passion of its founder. I understand this property will benefit by an injection of capital but do miss the chance to view as The Secret Garden with its winding paths and hidden but beautiful rooms. Stop complaining,you are not in the GARDEN STATE now, that these gardens even exist is a miracle. Pay the 50,000, mind your step, go for a walk and those of you who can connect to the beauty in your souls will be glad you did....

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank DreamingGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Derelict and downright dangerous”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This place must be avoided in Ubud. It is completely derelict and downright dangerous: the paths are slippery, there are no guard rails at very dangerous places and the toilets are disgusting. In addition, a map provided of the property showed a cafe, but it was completely pulled down! Despite being very careful, I slipped and hurt myself, jarring my neck! What added insult to injury was my partner and I paying 50,000 Rp each to enter. It is a disgrace that it still operates. Action needs to be taken immediately to shut the place down.

NOTE: The website is a complete misrepresentation of the place. It may have looked like that when it was set up - but whoever owns it now clearly has done nothing to maintain it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank PrincessFionaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Rp 50,000 for a rundown overgrown garden. Very disappointing.
1/4 and well-kept would be better. There was nowhere to sit and enjoy, and the front desk offered us mozzie repellent. Depressing!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BernieWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northcote, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needs major work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Place needs some major work and a lot of the gardens are over grown. But if you're looking to buy an orchid it's has lots.

Helpful?
1 Thank jeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanic Garden Ubud also viewed

 

Been to Botanic Garden Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing