We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the needle in the haystack”

Japanese Diner AngKaSa
Ranked #343 of 1,142 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: When you walk along the Monkey Forest street in Ubud, you will find some narrow backstreets. Looking into one of them, there’s a two-storied small diner decorated with many Japanese-style red paper lanterns. -Backstreet Japanese Diner “AngKaSa” Here, you can enjoy home-style Japanese cuisine. Is this your first time to visit Ubud? Are you looking for delicious Japanese cuisine? The place you should visit is our diner, AngKaSa. It’s our pleasure to welcome you.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

the vibes were 100% awesome (hidden japan in the middle of ubud) and not to mention the food that is very comforting.
especially the tuna on rice 10/10
always a destination on a day off

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank mozakoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angkasa_ubud, マネージャー at Japanese Diner AngKaSa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear mozakoy,

Thank you for your visit and finding us at the alley :-) We are happy to hear that you liked the tuna rice bowl. Look forward to your visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came for pork ramen.tonkotsu broth was excellent perfect color with marinated soft boiled egg yolk and super tender pork belly on top.had large one and it was plenty.also had gyoza and tuna roll both very nice.green tea price wise very affordable for Japanese food.Highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Brumla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angkasa_ubud, マネージャー at Japanese Diner AngKaSa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Brumla123,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad to hear that you liked our menu and food. Indeed, ramen and gyoza are very popular here. Hopefully you will be back again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Recently visited this restaurant in Ubud. Easy to find off a small laneway on Monkey Forest road. Look for sign. We love our Japanese food and thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. Good service great prices and very good Japanese food. Definitely worth a visit when in Ubud.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrewjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angkasa_ubud, マネージャー at Japanese Diner AngKaSa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear andrewjenny,

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to know that you enjoyed our menu and eating experiences with us. We look forward to your visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019

AngKasa is located near Monkey Forest Road, the center area of Ubud. The place is a bit hidden, so you have to look carefully--esp since the Monkey Forest Road is a one-way road.

My favorites are their sushi and curry. The cheeseburger curry is a bomb. Haven't tried their ramen yet but looking forward to it. The service is a bit slow sometimes, but on a good day, it's all worth the wait

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gumilangra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angkasa_ubud, マネージャー at Japanese Diner AngKaSa, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2019

Dear gumilangra,

Thank you for finding our place and your visit. I'm sorry for our services because we are running with limited numbers of staff. But I appreciate your feedback, so that we can improve our standard in the future. Next time please try our signature Agodashi Ramen :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

Very delicious and inexpensive food. The waitress was also very very kind, although we came at 2PM.Will go again.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Claudio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angkasa_ubud, マネージャー at Japanese Diner AngKaSa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Dear Claudio C ,

Thank you for your nice review! We are glad to know that you enjoyed our food and our service :) No problem coming at 2pm because we offer special lunch set menu until 17:00. We look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Diner AngKaSa also viewed

Ubud, Gianyar Regency
Ubud, Gianyar Regency
 
Ubud, Gianyar Regency
 
Ubud, Gianyar Regency
Ubud, Gianyar Regency
 

Been to Japanese Diner AngKaSa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing