We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Mountain Escape”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ChrisLyon...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Mountain Escape”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect villa far from the chaos. My girlfriend and I had a great stay at the Hillside Eden. The transfers were on time and the driver helpful and friendly. The villas grounds are well kept and lush. The villa is very comfortable, quality beds, nice pool, all the necessities plus extras like hundreds of legal movies, telescopes and binoculars. Which you'll want when looking at the amazing mountainous view. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The meals are quality and the vegetarian Nasi goreng was our favourite in bali. Will be back to stay again...

Thank you

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
42Phuket2...
Busselton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Where do you start... Our driver got a little lost finding the villa but after a couple of quick calls we arrived, very scenic road access. We were met with a very smiley Ketut.
We had seen the photos and were very excited.... Well the photos do not do this place justice, the views over the valley to the mountains were breathe taking, especially siting on the balcony waiting for dawn watching the distant lights fade as the sun rise. Perfect time lapse moment. We don't have many hills back home.
The villa was immaculate, Ketut and family very attentive, a great way to start any Bali holiday.
We dined in the restaurant, the meals were very well prepared, presented well and served with more smiles.
We were saddened when we had to leave, such a fantastic experience, we cannot recommend this place enough but also want to keep it for ourselves. We WILL be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and staff.
Liked least: We could not fault.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepyhea...
Katherine, Australia
2 reviews
“An Eden in many respects”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We desired a family holiday where we could relax in a mountain retreat waking up to glorious views every morning. No hustle and bustle of the beach resorts, simply a quiet stay amidst beauty. This villa certainly did deliver to our expectations. Our appreciation for faithful Ketut and his family, the housekeeping and grounds staff and management for making this wonderful experience a holiday to remember for all the right reasons.
This is a retreat way off the beaten track please keep this in mind. It's not a simple matter of nipping around the corner to get what you need or want, and at the limit of the electricity grid. No WiFi or phones to give you those everyday distractions of the 'real' world. You can totally immerse yourself in what you are doing 'today', even if it means doing nothing at all. Ketut the driver is available to take you anywhere you please with prior arrangement. Make a day of it. Ubud markets, temples. Ketut will get you there and back in one piece. He is very valuable in assisting you liase with the Balinese locals despite his limited English skills. He will ensure that you get the best deals and ensure that there are no misunderstandings during your interactions. Do yourself a favour at the villa and ask to purchase a whole roast pig from the local farmers. It can be arranged and is a feast you won't forget.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralieAd...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking view - Exclusive location !”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I, with our 4 children, have stayed in Eden Hillside Villa in July 2013 for 5 nights.
First to say, getting in contact with the owner, Judith, was really easy and very friendly. She did answer to all my questions, and helped me out to get organised.
Once we arrived in Bali, her head of staff, Ketut, came to pick us up at the airport. It is a 2.30 hours trip. After 16 hrs of trip, we thought it would be very tiring to get there. But honestly it worths it. You get to see a lot, especially the countryside/mountains of Bali. The last 10 min are right in the middle of the jungle. Yes it is bumpy as others would say. But it is not a problem at all. Ketut paid attention to drive safely and smoothy. The children ( 10/8/6 and 18 mths ) loved this road.
Then, the house, completly out of the track !! Just unbelievable, and so worth it. It is a nice and cleaned 4 bedrooms/bathrooms house on two floors. The view is just breathtaking over the jungle and ricefields. The pool in between the bedrooms makes it quite unusual and unique ( although i have to say it is quite cold as the outside temperature in this part of Bali is much cooler than elsewhere ).
All the members of the stall ( some of them are on site 24hrs ) are very kind and make everything to make you feel confortable. The house is cleaned every morning. They cook really nice traditional dishes ( reasonable prices but however I should recommend to have a detailed price list for drinks, food and other services ). Ketut took us for a 2 hours walking trip in the jungle and ricefield. Amazing. Children loved it too. Something we would had never done elsewhere. Again completly out of the tourists attraction, with the locals.
You need 40 min aprox to get to Ubud. But once again we felt really lucky about it as you could see so much on the way. The Villa is well situated, in the heart of Bali.
I definitly recommand this villa if you feel like staying in a unique and exclusive, reasonnable priced place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view combined with the location
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewed January 23, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yolandi B
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We flew into Bali in the evening, were picked up and driven straight to the villa so missed the stunning scenery. The last bit of road to the villa is really an adventure, but loads of fun.
The entrance is onto the middle level with the kitchen and dining room in the middle and two rooms on each wing. Through the dining room and out the door you reach the open air stairs to the pool and the other two rooms.
Each room has its own bathroom. Only one shower though, and the room with the shower was the only one with hot water when we stayed. But this is rural Bali and the weather was beautifully mild when we stayed so a good excuse to go green :)
I stayed on one of the middle level rooms (off the kitchen) and the view when i woke up that first morning was just breathtaking. The mountains and the rice paddies and the greenery just take your breath away.
Ketut was our housekeeper and we all wanted to take him home with us when we left, he is just the sweetest and most adorable little man ever. And his coffee is the best we had in the whole of Bali!
It is off the beaten path and the ride into Ubud can take up to 40 minutes, but the view and Ketut make it worth it.
We used it as a base for the 4 days we stayed, going for day trips around Ubud, up to some temples and Git Git Falls in the North, on a full day cycling trip through the rice paddies and then some.
The top level of the villa has a lounge and a little library if memory serves, but we didn't spend any time up there.
The pool is a great place to relax in after a day of exploring.
It is in the middle of nowhere though, so if you're hoping to be able to pop into a bar for a couple of beers and maybe to regale other travellers with your stories then i am afraid you will be disappointed.
But it is truly a little piece of paradise, we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and Ketut!
Liked least: The lack of hot water in all the rooms.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2012
Dear Yolandi,
Thank you for your review.We have now fixed the hot water problems[we have solar and the booster sometimes needed to be switched on]We have done another refurbishment especially of the gardens.We will post new photos soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester - UK
Reviewed April 25, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing