We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing, Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed for 6 nights at the Samaya Ubud. It was incredible. The villa was lovely and we had such an amazing view over the rice paddies. Inside the villa was laid out well, very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and couldn't have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. In terms of food, the breakfast and afternoon tea every day was delicious. We dined every night down at the Swept Away restaurant which was really lovely. The menu was modern, fresh and exciting with a twist. And the spa was perfect, very professional staff who were well trained in the therapies they offered. We can't wait to stay at the Samaya again! Thanks to all the staff, it was a pleasure to meet you all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    82
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
200
864
28
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My business has me spending over 150 nights a year in hotels. My wife does the same. We are very careful when life allows us time away together for short holidays. This place is amazing. The setting is stunning, the Villas are luxurious and spotless, and the service is out of this World. If you need your butler for anything (ice, soda, a ride, etc) he is at your door in seconds. Everyone knows your name. Your morning newspaper has your name typed in it. The food is amazing. I don't know where they hired their pastry chef from, but I spend a fair amount of time in France, and the bread and croissants at the Samaya can even give the French a run for their money--they are truly amazing and must not be missed. All I can say is this place is amazing and we have never experience service at this level in all of our previous travels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Samaya is one of the nicest resorts I've ever stayed in. Full of beautiful greenery that blends into the natural flora of the surroundings, it is truly a paradise. The Samaya is surrounded by wonderful views of the river Agung, padi fields and mountains. As wonderful as the resort was, the service the staff provided surpassed it. They were truly fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had very nice stay at the first night for our honeymoon but the second night was ruined by one wrong room service!

We were woken up by super loud doorbell at midnight, while my husband and I were sleeping. We had to get up and went out of our villa to check what was happening. It was quite scaring and surprising when you were woken up at midnight cos we didn't know what had happened and who were outside of villa. Still cant figure out how come it would possibly happen in such luxury villa/hotel!!!

The worst thing was when I brought up this mistake to the reception next day, while we were checking out. There were two reception stuffs, they DID NOT apologize, answer my question or even explain anything to me. The older staff just gave me an investigation form and told me that I could write down comments if any. The stuff was very unkind and very rude!!! I DID wrote down my comments and contact information, but till now I have not received any reply yet. Very disappointed about their service! not worth to stay!!!!

Room Tip: very nice breakfast and villa facilities but very bad service at the reception!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
45 Thank Celine912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at The Samaya in Ubud with my wife and two other couples for three nights in February.

From the moment of our arrival, when the reception staff walked out to greet us and place frangipani garlands around our necks, we knew we were about to experience something special, and we were not disappointed.

The six of us are widely travelled, some having stayed at outstanding venues in some beautiful places around the world. The unanimous verdict on The Samaya at Ubud? It exceeded anywhere else we had ever stayed, providing a truly exceptional and memorable experience.

The superlatives are endless -

* the wonderful staff - friendly, smiling, knowledgeable, genuinely wanting you to relax, anticipating your every need. I am sure there was one occasion when one of us thought of something we would like and as if by telepathy, one of the staff suggested what had just been a thought.

* the beautiful grounds - colourful, tidy, lush, inviting.

* the location - overlooking the stunning Balinese countryside, terraces, cloud-topped mountains; the river flowing beside the restaurants, the villas and the spa centre.

* the spa centre itself, haven of relaxation and escape.

* the accommodation. We were in the three bedroomed villa, tucked away in its own compound, each beautiful bedroom in its own separate building with an ensuite to die for. And the gazebo. And the pool. And the garden.

* the cuisine. Breakfast in the upper restaurant on the terrace or on the lawn. Wonderful food with diverse and delicious savoury and sweet choices. The amazing restaurant perched beside the river, offering an extensive menu that went beyond the descriptions and created some blissful moments. The gorgeously appointed amenities.

* the opportunity to participate in activities supervised by the staff. For example, two of our group did the cycling tour led by one of the staff. They had a wonderful time.

* the attention to detail, throughout. Nothing is left to chance.

Overall, everything combines to transport you to another place. It is truly amazing.

But perhaps most of all, it is the staff who make The Samaya what it is. They are all Balinese, and are trained to an exceptional level of service and knowledge, reinforced by weekly refresher and update sessions. Ask a butler about what to see, and he will have a range of suggestions. Ask the waitress about a flower growing in the garden, she will tell you it's name. Rooms are refreshed as if by magic. It seems that the staff themselves actually thrive from knowing that your wellbeing is flourishing from their work and service to you. It is an experience that is hard to describe. When we independently organised for a vehicle to transport us to our next accommodation, one of the managers was seemed genuinely bemused at the lost opportunity to continue to make us feel happy and relaxed. That was their job, not someone from somewhere else.

So if you are planning to stay in the Ubud area, do yourself a favour and stay at The Samaya. You will not regret it, you will not want to leave, and you will definitely want to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The most beautiful setting and the best service we've ever experienced. From beginning to end, this hotel attentively catered to our every need with unsurpassed professionalism, courtesy, and friendliness on every level. Restaurant offered a varied menu. Food quality and presentation were exceptional. Spa services were also varied and blissful. Our villa (#204) was impeccable and intimate. Both indoor and outdoor spaces exhibited a great attention to design detail, right down to a sedap melam tree in the garden that gave off a wonderful aroma at the end of the day. We thought we'd died and gone to heaven.

Room Tip: Room 204 was beautiful and intimate. Consists of huge bathroom with jacuzzi under the stars, large r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZanneStA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Spectacular location with incredible views from the breakfast terrace. Amazingly beautiful staff who take your experience to the next level, a truly humble and sincere team attend to every detail from the gardeners to the resort management. A Michelin Star quality restaurant with dishes prepared to the very highest standard that you could find anywhere in the world and a Spa to take your breath away.

Room Tip: The Romantic package with couples Spa and river-side dinner is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,152 reviews
2.0 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
246 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 196 in Ubud
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 196 in Ubud
1,893 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 196 in Ubud
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing