We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss amidst the hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #3 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bliss amidst the hills”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

There are many superlatives that can be used for this place, paradise, exotic, beautiful, pristine, etc. but words cannot give you an idea of how amazing The Samaya Ubud is.
While planning our honeymoon to Bali, we checked tripadvisor and zeroed in on The Samaya properties. We took a package with 2 nights in Ubud and 3 nights in Seminyak and boy were we blown away.
At Ubud, we opted for the Ayung Villa, which is right next to the Ayung river. It is heavenly as there is a deck overlooking the river and you can listen to the sound of the river while you enjoy your breakfast or afternoon tea. The villa was absolutely stunning with a private pool, jacuzzi, outside gazebo, spacious bathroom and bedroom.
The famous Balinese hospitality is to be experienced at Samaya. The staff are genuinely friendly. We were welcomed with warm smiles and aromatic flower garland. After checking in we were whisked away in a golf cart to our Villa where we were provided with a refreshing drink. Their anytime anywhere breakfast concept is great since you don't have to rush early in the morning to catch breakfast. They also provide you with a shuttle service to and from Ubud village.
Ubud is a quaint village with beautiful Balinese architecture amongst hills and greenery which provide for an amazing honeymoon experience. In fact while we were there it was raining a little which added to the charm of the place.
After 2 amazing nights in Ubud, it was time to leave for their Seminyak property in a shuttle provided by Samaya.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jatin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    81
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
194
856
28
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The reviews on here really don't do this place justice.
We arrived at the Samaya sick from the destination immediately previous to Bali. The service we received was amazing. Staff cared for us brilliantly - from arranging Drs, to having a car available to take us to hospital and bringing food to a hospital to ensure that one of us who could eat wouldn't go hungry - yep, we really were sick...). We got to enjoy the service of the facility purely because we were too ill to leave the villa for the majority of our stay... Thank you Kadek (Resort Service Manager) - you're kindness and care for us when we were ill could not be faulted. The ongoing supply of fluids (water and pokari sweat) ensured our eventual recovery. But enough on our sickness...
From pick up at the airport (in a wonderful car provided with water, a nice cool face towel, nuts and strawberries for the trip) through to check out - the service provided was faultless.
The spa - heaven!! Wonderful massage, attentive staff, very receptive to feedback and always ensuring that they are exceeding your needs/wants. We had to go back for more...
The included breakfast - ala carte - all you can eat. We would have loved to have made better use of this!! What we were able to eat was extremely tasty, very well presented, and very reasonable portion size. There were plenty of options to suit every taste.
The included afternoon tea - again I think if we had been well we would have put on 10kg - the food was wonderful and the options for drinks very reasonable!
The villa - beautiful. Massive bathroom with all you could possibly want and more - two person spa, large shower, large vanity area. The room also was large, and the bed comfortable. The private dining area on the Ayung River looked wonderful. The sun beds and cabana were very comfortable, and it made relaxing easy. Having your own pool was lovely - you can swim whenever you like in the privacy of your own pool - lovely.
Complementary shuttle to and from Ubud was easy to arrange and readily available - the "shuttle" was always a very comfortable and extremely well maintained vehicle.
Staff - if I could list everyone by name I would. Pak Wayan - you should be extremely proud of all your staff (yourself included). All staff were always striving to assist in whatever way possible, always willing to say hello and make sure you were okay and didn't need anything. For example our buggy driver on the way up to check out stopped to simply tell us that he hoped we had a wonderful stay and to please return if we are back in Bali.
Overall - this is a wonderful place to relax. The service cannot be faulted, and the environment is very peaceful.
Thank you to all at Samaya I would not hesitate to stay with you again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JNutchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The reviews by everybody say it all! Truly impressed and happy with the services rendered by every single staff of The Samaya Ubud. I love how sincere the staff are when they greet and welcome the guests. They seem to know what activities we had participated and are genuinely interested to strike a conversation with us to understand if we were enjoying ourselves.

Samaya provides complementary shuttle (to/fro) to Ubud; but the villa is soooooo comfy with a private pool and cabana we just want to laze around the hotel all day. The food served at Scene (breakfast) and Swept Away (Lunch, Tea-break, dinner by the river) were awesome. The Spa was also super relaxing... Coupled with a romantic private cabana dinner with personal butler service and a surprise proposal - Perfect holiday!!!! Thank you Samaya, we had a really really really good time =)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moleyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This really is a wonderful hotel. From the moment you arrive to the time you leave everything is just perfect. The staff are warm and friendly and remember your name, the villa is luxurious. The restaurant is one of the best in Bali. There are also regular shuttles into Ubud but the hotel is so good you will never want to leave. Sure it is expensive but well worth treating yourself. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Villas by the river are excellent and you can fall asleep listening to the rapids. It's a steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ivan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Perfect Hotel and room, perfect stay, perfect management, perfectly loving staff, loved this hotel from the bottom of our hearts!! thank you Samaya Ubud for such an experience that we will never forget!

We already recommended you to everyone we know, and definitely we are coming back!

Regards from Mohd and Asiel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asiel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Samaya for two nights and the stay was absolutely perfect. From pick-up at the airport with cold water, cold towels and chilled strawberries in the car. On arrival check-in was smooth and they transferred us to our riverside villa via golf cart. The grounds of the Samaya were absolutely perfect.

The villa itself was beautiful with a large bedroom, huge bathroom with great whirlpool tub and doors opening onto the pool. There was a great deck overlooking the river, which they hotel served breakfast on. There was also a great covered sitting area to relax in while it was raining. The only thing I would fault with the villa is that the tile and some pieces of the furniture could do with touch-ups.

Food was top notch both at the breakfast restaurant and also for dinner - best food that we had in Bali the entire time. Staff at the hotel was amazing and they all welcomed us by our names every time we they would see us. You can fault absolutely nothing on their service standards and would be number one reason to return to the Samaya, which we will.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank USHKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at Samaya Ubud in October 2013. The staff are amazing - they leave no room for suggestions ref. improvement in service/hospitality/quality. Villas and garden are impeccable. It is simply awesome.

Breakfast and restaurant menu has a great selection of vegetarian food - beautiful valley/river views. Chef is happy to take special requests.

Samaya staff worked hard to make our stay perfect - all this with warmth and friendliness which is typical of Bali.

Do yourself a favour and visit Samaya Ubud.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MeUinMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 196 in Ubud
1,120 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 196 in Ubud
1,036 reviews
2.0 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 11 in Gianyar
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#14 of 196 in Ubud
1,878 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 146 in Seminyak
712 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#2 of 196 in Ubud
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing