We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #6 of 171 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

They say Heaven is a place on earth well we found it, fantastic holiday in everyway, villa, food, cocktails all perfect, so relaxing peaceful and quiet will not fail to disappoint did not want to leave highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    72
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
166
757
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I spent a fair bit of time researching accommodation in Ubud and am pleased to say that the Samaya exceeded my expectations. The Samaya is a mixture of luxury and genuine hospitality – it really does feel like a home away from home. I have travelled quite a bit and found the staff at the Samaya to be very extremely genuine and friendly – nothing was a bother and they were happy to attend to any request.
It is a stunning resort, the gardens and the grounds are beautiful and lush. We were upgrade to a two bedroom villa with a huge pool – absolute privacy.

The Spa is first class – we were provided 2 complimentary massages which my partner and I wished would not end.

I was concerned when I realised the resort was about 20 minutes from Ubud town but the shuttle which felt more like a private chauffeur was available on request – whether to sightsee or eat at a local restaurant.

I can't recommend The Samaya enough, if you are a couple who want to spend some down-time, this is the place to do it – very romantic!

We Loved it and will definately be back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules4700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Having spent a week at swanky Fullerton hotel in Singapore where we were lecturing my husband , baby girl and i went on a break to The Samaya in Ubud. We had visited the Samaya in Seminyak last year and loved it. This is just as beautiful but so different from anywhere else. From the moment you enter the property you feel instantly relaxed, maybe because the whole area is serene, quiet and the air is filled with the sounds of birds and the smell od frangipani.
The river Ayung is running right throught the property and the spa and pool are right next to it.
It is magical in a truly 'understated luxury' way.The hotel is not flashy, it isnt glosssy, it is not superficial and it does not provide service which is 'in your face'. It offers genuine understated good quality. The staff are genuine, professional and very warm.
The restaurant mamnager Putu and all his staff were so lovely while offerring great quality gourmet food, they also took care of our toddler, giving us a welcome break while they took her to feed the fish.. They made us feel as friends. And we will miss them.
The villa we had has a great view of rice fields from the gazebo and that was the best feature, we loved sitting there in the afternoon listening to the weird and wonderful sounds various birds and frogs made..
Each villa has a pool which is 1,8 metres deep, I do feel they should rethink the safety issue here- especially if the resort is to be branded family friendly. They would need to make the pools less deep, no more than 1,4 metres,in my opinion. For us they fenced the pool off which worked well with the toddler, couldnt do it otherwise.
The spa is amazing. The location is stunning, right next to the river, and the treatment rooms overlook the river. The manager Diane is extremely professional as well as friendly and ince again she went the extra mile and gave our girl a massage, she is still talking of her baby massage.
My Balinese massage was sublime, loved it and slept through most of it...,
The quality of the food is fantastic, the breakfast is really special, all a la carte with fresh fruit, freshly baked croissants and eggs prepared to perfection. Coffee great too. I am a discerning guest and am the kind to send my coffee back at any hint of it not being right.. Their macchiato was fab!
The afternoon tea was special and also complimentary.
So was transport into and around Ubud, I did appreciate this as Ubud was buzzy, hot and full of people offering TAXI in your face. It felt great being fetched between shops, spa, etc by your own driver in a lovely clean airconditioned car.
We will return gladly.

Room Tip: River view or rice fields view but all are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

As everyone before me has commented, this is a VERY special little gem of a resort hotel just outside of Ubud. We stayed in the south the week before and the staff was lovely, but the service provided at Samaya Ubud had unequalled heart and authenticity, I literally cried when I had to say goodbye to the managers, waitresses, and other staff members. I became ill the 2nd day, and the concern and care expressed by staff was something you'd only expect from close friends or family, who could ask for more on vacation? At times we didn't want to leave the villa or the resort grounds, as this peaceful retreat lulled us through each day. The food was outstanding, and we would often arrange our days to be back for high tea, which was not something we've experienced before..and it was wonderful. In our 25+ years of travel to over 20 countries, I must say this is our most favorite hotel in the world! I'm missing Samaya Ubud so much, and hope to go back there some day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonBrit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Samaya is beyond words. I'm not sure how I can summarise 5 days in paradise which will do it justice. We spent our honeymoon there and were treated to luxury from start to finish. The manager, staff and all people at the Samaya all contributed to making this the most incredible and memorable stay possible. They were friendly, happy and remember all of their guests personally.
The facilities really are second to none. Peaceful, relaxing and away from the hustle and bustle of Bali street traffic while having a free transfer at any time into central Ubud - the only problem was that we didn't want to leave the samaya!
We don't know how we will be able to go on holiday again after just having experiences an absolutely faultless and incredible 5 nights.
The Villa, the breakfast, the staff, the spa treatments, the riverside restaurant and food all cannot be more highly commended. Thank you Samaya, we will surely never forget our honeymoon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

From the charming lei welcome to the friendly farewell, this was the most delightful stay I have ever experienced. Accommodation was perfect to the smallest detail. Staff were attentive without being intrusive, their smiling mission apparently to ensure a memorable vacation in every way. They certainly succeeded.

Room Tip: Every villa with pool and garden is completely private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

All of the previous reviews do this place no justice. We spent 4 wonderfully relaxing nights at the Samaya Ubud and it is true that the Staff are the heart and soul of this place. From the time we arrived until our departure we felt very special, they even sang happy birthday to my Husband.
We felt, on more than one occasion, that we were the only guest at the resort even though it was fully booked. Wayan and ALL of his staff should be very proud of how they make their guests feel and the service they provide. We would highly recommend booking the cooking class. The Chef, Loka, was extremely knowledgeable and ensured that we enjoyed the whole experience, with success.
All of the meals that we enjoyed at the resort were first class and would not be out of place in any 5 star restaurants in Australia.
If we return to Bali this would be the only place that we would consider staying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#4 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#7 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#1 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.7 mi away
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#6 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing