We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous honeymoon in The Samaya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #5 of 172 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous honeymoon in The Samaya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Samaya for the first part of our honeymoon. On arrival we were met by one if the drivers from the Samaya who had some iced water and fresh strawberries for us. After a long flight we were greeted by a number of the staff and taken to see an amazing view of the rice paddy fields in Ubud. We were taken to our villa by one of the butlers on a golf buggy and shown some of the property.

Our butler showed us all the facilities in our rather large villa which was spotlessly clean. Our rose petal bath and honeymoon cake were very nice.

The breakfast at the Samaya was lovely, we sometimes had this in our villa or in the restaurant with the views over rice paddy fields. There we'd more than enough choices to suit everyone, the pancakes with pineapple and maple syrup were particularly yummy.

I must say that the service at the Samaya was of the highest quality, Wayan and the team could not do enough for us. The room cleaning and turn down service and service at the restaurant and in villa dinning was great.

Since this was a honeymoon my husband arranged for a 100 candle dinner, as I am not a meat eater my husband told me had a number of email conversations with Wayan to arrange the to suit my taste. The food and was of a very high quality, and I thoroughly recommend the chilli passion fruit martini which I LOVED! The food rivals some restaurants in London.

We had a fabulous first part of our honeymoon at the Samaya Ubud before moving on to the Samaya Seminyak.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holiday-lover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    75
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
171
769
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent 5 weeks in Bali, we chose to stay 5 nights at this resort after reading all the good reviews on Tripadvisor about this hotel. It was all true. Special thanks to Woyan the manager.

Putu Michael

Room Tip: Villa facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parisien1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Hi All,
My husband and I are very excited to stay in this hotel in about 4 weeks from today. My mom booked the room for me and it is definetely "Ayung River Villa". Is ALL "Ayung River Villa" is great? Or would any of you recommend any particular one? Thank you.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Samaya in Ubud for three nights and loved it. The staff couldn't do enough for you, the suites were fantastic, roomy, modern and brilliantly presented and the food was excellent. guided trek locally was really enjoyable and the organised trip we went on extremely worthwhile enabling us to see more of Bali than we had expected. Well worth doing for a half or full day dependant on how much time you had there. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjpcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

After one month in Bali, i decide to stay my last night in a 5 star hotel and my choice was Samaya Ubud.
Till the moment you come inside this peaceful resort untill the one you leave, you feel in paradise.
All the staff is always smilling and looks very happy to work.
Spacious rooms, huge pool, and a brunch that i will remember for the rest of my life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicodino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to stay in both Samaya's in Seminyak & Ubud (5 & 6 nights respectively) therefore both reviews will be similar.

We didn't want to leave either resort. We stayed for our honeymoon and the staff made it extra special.

Upon arrival at Ubud, we enjoyed a tour of the beautiful resort. As we had come from Seminyak (which is bigger), this greeting felt a bit more personal as everyone greeted us by name and it was such a fantastic welcome (felt like celebs!). More honeymoon surprises in Villa did follow too.

Villa is spacious, luxurious, amazing garden, big pool, jacuzzi bath, huge comfy bed.

Breakfasts and afternoon tea are the most amazing quality food, you can order as much as you like really. I particularly loved the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.

The setting is breathtaking with views over rice paddy fields and the tranquil setting of the swept away by the ayung river.

Service was outstanding and edged it at Ubud for us. Every single member of staff would greet you with a smile, and always keen to see how you are and have a chat about your day. The shuttle is essential as it's a bit of a way out of Ubud and is genuinely 24hrs (a special thank you for our pick up at silly o'clock after too many bintangs!)

Also, prior to the trip I had written down a load of things I wanted to do in Ubud and simply presented the list at reception who went about creating an itinerary there and then, calling and making reservations, booking transfers and printing it out for us. They'd even tipped off bridges restaurant about us being on honeymoon so we had a great table and decoration. This just made everything so easy.

We heard lots of people saying they were only staying one night in Ubud, it's not enough! Ubud was much bigger than we thought and a good base for lots to do, great for wandering around and nice bars and restaurants
Our highlights included:
Bali bird walks
Silversmith class at pondok pekak
Monkey forest
Kecack fire & trance dance
Elephant safari park
Meal at Melting Wok Warung (separate review)

Perhaps the only critique would be to add a bit more decor to give the villas a bit more character, after all bali is a very artistic place and would be nice to incorporate this into the hotel, but I appreciate this may be my personal taste.

Also, for the transfers in seminyak we had a huge car with big comfy seats and aircon, for the transfer to the airport from Ubud we had a very hot and sticky 2hour journey so it would have been nice to extend the service to the airport/invest in one of those cars as it was a bit of a downer after an amazing trip (especially when it's depressing enough to be leaving!)

Overall, I had high very expectations that managed to be exceeded! We enjoyed staying in absolute luxury. I can't see how anyone wouldn't love staying here so please do not hesitate to book it!!

A big thank you to the team at the Samaya who made our honeymoon a dream come true.

Sally & Richard

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in both the Samaya Ubud (2 nights) and the Semaya Seminyak (3 nights) through the Bali Experience package. We absolutely loved both locations. The staff are extremely attentive (but not annoyingly so), we were always greeted by name and they never forgot anything. You could tell one staff member, even if it wasn’t technically their job but the message would get through and what ever you asked for would be done. We visited the spa in Ubud and it was fantastic, I couldn’t recommend this enough, it is right by the river and it was so relaxing listening to the sound of the trickling water, the therapists really knew what they were doing and you’re able to choose all of the products they use on you so you’re sure to like the scent.

The food in the restaurant was also incredible, really good quality and a big selection, both western and indonesian. Nothing was too much trouble, one night it was raining, we’d just had a 2 hour massage and didn’t fancy going into town for dinner like we’d planned so we asked the butler for the restaurant menu and they brought our dinner to us in the villa, setting up a nice romantic candle lit dinner in our gazebo overlooking the pool. It was just perfect. We stayed in the hill side villa, although there were no views the villa was beautiful, immaculately clean and very private. The site is VERY hilly so you need to get a buggy back up to the breakfast restaurant/lobby. You have the choice of eating breakfast either in your room or in the restaurant, we always chose the restaurant due to the stunning views over the rice paddy fields. Breakfast is amazing, you can order as much as you like and we certainly made use of that! The choice and quality was also excellent (the baked goods are made fresh each morning, I couldn’t go past the croissants each morning, also recommend the eggs Benedict).

We honestly didn’t want to leave, the only thing that made it bearable was knowing we were going to the Semaya in Seminyak for the next 3 nights!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riley96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 172 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 172 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 760 reviews
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#10 of 172 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 172 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.7 mi away
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing