We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Samaya Bali Ubud to your Saves list
The Samaya Bali Ubud
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET SPA & DINNER!!
Ranked #6 of 169 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and from beginning to end we were treated like royalty. This is obviously more of a honeymoon venue and as we were staying there with our two teenage children so we felt a little out of place but the luxury and the service were amazing.
The villas are absolutely beautiful with a private pool and garden area.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a romantic occasion.
We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night which is situated alongside a river. Its a lovely setting and the food is amazing. There were a couple having a candle lit dinner which looked beautiful - sat apart from the main dining area on a table two surrounded by a hundred lit candles

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    71
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
162
746
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Samaya Ubud is a beautiful resort .. Excellent in all aspects .. Staff are extremely service oriented, take every effort to serve and pamper their guests. Attentiveness to details is amazing! We love every moment of our visit to Samaya Ubud

Special mention goes to Ms.Putu Ariani, Ms.Putri, Ms.Intan, Ms. Selly, Ms. Sutini and Ms.Puri. This team of therapists are talented, highly skilled and professional. They are extremely dedicated to serve us; making our spa sessions relaxing and enjoyable! Thank you ladies.
A big thank you to Ms.Dian and also Mrs Tjok for their committment to service excellence and taking so much effort to make us feel comfortable during our visit. We appreciate it.
We will recommend Samaya Ubud Spa to all our friends.

Mrs. Fong and family (August 7th 2013)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Relaxing and spoilt weekend in a beautiful resort, being pampering by lovely staff.
Don't miss the afternoon tea!!
When we were there they had recently increased the tax on alcohol, so take some duty free alcohol, and store it in your bar fridge.....

Room Tip: All rooms have their own pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State of Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

There isn't much else to write that hasn't been written already. This is a fantastic hotel and it is all because of the wonderful staff! They will do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfasts are a la carte and come with the best view of the rice fields and mountains. Rooms are great, with private, deep swimming pools (not tiny plunge pools) and loads of privacy. The staff-to-guest ratio must be very high, as they'd always know when we were in the room and when we were not. We stayed there 7 nights and ever time we returned from breakfast, the room would be ready clean and made up. Also, all guests knew us by our name, they also knew what we liked for breakfast and lots of other things. We took a cooking class at the hotel which was really great, and while cooking in the hotel kitchen, we saw a board with our room number, our names and things we liked and disliked. For example, they suggested one desert one evening, and I mentioned I didn't like raisins. This comment was written on the board and shows how much the staff would go out of the way to make sure we had a perfect stay. Also, the manager was very nice. He granted us a late check out (at 7 p.m.) free of charge.

I have to Finalize this review by saying that this hotel offers amazing value for money. We stayed there in April 2013 and for 290 USD a night + taxes it included: Private Villa with own swimming Pool, Breakfast, WIFI, Afternoon Tea, Airport Transfers, Transfers to and from Ubud (not scheduled transfers, you just had to phone ahead, ask a restaurant or shop to do it, and they'd pick you up 30 minutes after you call), cycling and walking tours around the area, 1 spa treatment + 1 set dinner for two. Add to this the most wonderful staff and excellent service, and this hotel becomes one of the nicest and best value places we've ever stayed in. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZAC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Samaya Ubud in June and were upgraded to a two bedroomed hill top villa which gave us a larger pool and really was a beautiful stay. The attention to detail was second to none. The Manager welcomed us on arrival and was on hand to check that everything was perfect.

We had the most wonderful dinner at Breeze, which is a beautiful setting and was the highlight of our four week holiday. The daily afternoon tea was really yummy and could be served at your villa or at the Breeze Restaurant. To be honest it spoilt us when we went on to Samaya Seminyak as it was less personal, and lacked the attention to detail (see separate review).

The hotel provides a shuttle service into Ubud which is good. I must recommend the walk the hotel provides around the village and rice paddies as it is not advertised but is a lovely way to experience local life.

I highly recommend this hotel, it was a wonderful experience for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Samaya hotels in Bali are absolutely wonderful. We had a fabulous time and would return in a heartbeat. Great service, wonderful food, and beautiful surroundings. The villas are lovely and immaculately kept. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lrd9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have recently returned from staying in The Samaya Ubud. I was there on honeymoon and all I can say what a fantastic resort this is. We stayed in a hill stop villa. It was very peaceful. The villa was surrounded by trees. There was a lovely size swimming pool and there was a gazebo in the garden.
The staff at the resort were fantastic, very friendly. We had a fabulous breakfast every morning overlooking the rice fields. Every afternoon we had afternoon tea by the river. This was a great treat! We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was out of this world!We took a morning cycle organised by the hotel through the rice fields and local area.
I would recommend anyone to stay in this hotel if you are visiting Bali. We done a lot of travelling around the world and this hotel is the best we have stayed in. We had a fantastic time on honeymoon at the Samaya Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eliaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#7 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 1,547 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#4 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.0 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
2.9 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#1 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#6 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing