We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing property in a pictureque location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Samaya Bali Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #3 of 183 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing property in a pictureque location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at The Samaya Ubud for 2 nights at the start of our honeymoon and this was definitely the best way to start the trip!

We were met at the airport by a Samaya representative who had cold towels, water and snacks. It was about an hours drive from the airport but took a bit longer due to traffic, however Wayan the driver provided us with lots of information about Bali and Ubud. On the way he took us to a coffee farm where we tried several different coffees and teas which was really interesting.

When we arrived at Samaya we were taken to our beautiful villa to check in. There were lots of lovely touches as we were on our honeymoon which I won't spoil for others! The villa was stunning with a lovely pool and gazebo. The bathroom was huge with a massive Jacuzzi and huge shower!

In the evening we ate at Swept Away with is the gorgeous restaurant down by the river! The food was amazing and the service first class. It was a lovely romantic meal and a great way to start our honeymoon.

We also took part in the Balinese cooking course that the hotel offer which was brilliant. We went to the food market at 7am with the chef to see all the different foods available then went back to hotel for breakfast before starting the course. We cooked in the Swept Away kitchen and got to see how the professional kitchen worked. Loka, the chef talked us through several dishes which we then helped to make before we were able to try them for ourselves! We were given aprons and CD with all the recipes on try when we're at home. This was one of my favourite things we did while away and something I could definitely recommend!

We also had a treatment at the spa which was excellent; the staff were high trained and made you feel very comfortable. The Balinese massage is not to be missed!!

I would recommend this property to anyone who would like a private luxurious stay in a breathtaking location!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edigweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    76
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
176
790
24
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed one night (only- what a pitty) at Samaya Ubud, finishing a super short but intense trip to Bali. What a place! The hotel, overlooking the rice fields, made me remenber Ubud as I first met, back on 96s. Our vila was something to remember, perfect on the size, decoration, confort and, wow, with a big and beautifull private swiming pool. The staff was impecable, super friendly and caring, made us feel at home since we arrived. The spa is wonderfull and the girls are lovely and good on what they do: superb massages! The restaurant by the river is simply unforgettable, delicious food and the best Nasi Goreng ever. Hope to come back soon, this time with our kids, to enjoy the hospitality and the beautifull everything at Samaya. Thank you Wayan (s), Kade, Anis, Dian, and everyone that make us feel so special. Terimah Kasi!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaDeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed there with my wife for 4 days of R & R. Everything about this place is amazing. The check in was very efficient and in villa. We arrived from a long flight and drive just in time for afternoon tea. They brought it to the villa for us while we started to relax. The service over the next few days was outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was on all day. The restaurant, Swept Away, was next to the river. Such a romantic spot and within a day all the staff knew us by name. We never felt the need to eat out. All in all an outstanding place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sr08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My family stayed at Samaya's two bedroom villa and were amazed by the views, hospitality of the staff as well as the quality of food and spa services here. The breakfast choices are wide with great views overlooking padi fields. Afternoon tea at the swept away restaurant along the Ayung river provides the serenity and peace that city dwellers need. The villa is fantastic, with our own private pool and the staff is always willing to set up the breakfast or tea at your own private space for the mail to enjoy. We tried the spa and the service was fantastic with again great views from the spa room overlooking the river. Buggy is at your service to move around the premises and free shuttle to Ubud marketplace anytime. Great place to just unwind and be presence with your love ones.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Geok Chwee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Amazing services by ALL staffs in The Samaya! Couldn't remember eveyone's name but my compliments go out to each and every staff who attended to us. The moment we stepped into the reception, we were greeted by the staffs and the manager gave us a brief orientation of the place. Our Butler, Angus, was very efficient in his service and clear in explaining to us about our villa.

All I could say is this is the BEST villa my hubby and I stayed throughout our stay in Bali! Very personalized service, delicious breakfast (love their porridge and fried rice/ noodles) and afternoon tea. Swept away restaurant along the ayung river was awesome! Beautiful view & nice dinner even though its abit pricey. The crispy duck they served is delicious!!

Their SPA is a must try! We took the 2hrs Balinese journey of joy package and it was the best massage ever! Therapists were very good!!

Not to forget, they also provide us with a complimentary 24/7 shuttle service to Ubud town.

Overall, it was a wonderful experience in The Samaya UBud. We couldn't bear to leave. Staffs made us feel like home! Will definitely come back and stay if we ever return to Bali!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hp2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Samaya Ubud and it was the highlight of our stay (also stayed in Seminyak aand Nusa Lembongan).
Firstly the resort and the villas are amazing. The landscape and the views are very picturesque and the property and the villas are huge. The view across the rice paddy fields was beautiful and it was really serene down by the river. They even offer complimentary bike rides everyday if you'd like to explore more of the town and country side.
Whilst the Samaya is a little out of town they do offer complimentary shuttle in/out of town 24/7.
The service was the real highlight of the stay as the staff were extremely friendly and always happy to go above and beyond. When they found out one of us was gluten free they even baked fresh gluten free bread everyday for breakfast and the complimentary high tea.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevec81Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

All the hotel people are truly involved making you feel your experience as the best and right choice. New, clean, friendly, modern, amazing views, excellent food. The villa was perfect for our honeymoon.
Nothing to worry about!!!
Food was excellent!!! Hotel Manager always looking for keep us served!!!
We had our first honeymoon days at the Samaya (Mexican), and it was perfect for us!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pparriaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
4.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#4 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.9 mi away
COMO Uma Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud
#9 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing