We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my hubby for my first wedding anniversary... Loved the stay and would definitely go back every time i go to bali... Costly but value for money... Amazing villas and service... Personalized care...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santvana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was at the Samaya Ubud for 2 nights and wished that I had extended my stay at the resort. I am a hundred percent satisfied with the service provided - everything from the pick up at the airport to the way we were treated on arrival and upon check out. Service was prompt at the times we requested (such as the delivery of breakfast to our villa and the pick-up & drop-off times for the shuttle within Ubud). Our every need was attended to with such professionalism. We also tried out the spa and it was superb! This is by far the best resort we have stayed at and I would highly recommend other couples and families to stay here during their trip to Bali.

Room Tip: The hillside villa is highly recommended - secluded and you have your own private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleTan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked the 5N Samaya Experience package which offers a 2N stay at Samaya Ubud followed by 3N stay at Samaya Seminyak. The service at Ubud really deserves a 5 star rating, with super friendly and smiley staff. The breakfast spread and quality was superb. We had breakfast overlooking the paddy fields and it was peaceful and serene. The next day we had breakfast in the villa and it was fantastic too. Didn't dine there so couldn't comment but there's a restaurant next to the river, which looks very good too. There is complimentary transport to town as well, and a complimentary walk to the paddy fields.
We were upgraded to a 2-bedroom villa because the 1-bedroom hill villa was fully booked. The room and toilet is big, but does not look very new. The only grouse we have is that the air-conditioner was leaking the night before we were leaving, but we did not realize it until the next morning. The thing that could be improved is to make the room more luxurious. Somehow the room did not have a very luxurious feel given the pricing. It would have been nicer if the room's flooring is decked out in wood.
Overall, it was still a good experience, with the friendly staff more than making up for anything else. Special thanks to the hotel manager, Mr Wayan, for being such an excellent host.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolTMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is amazing place to stay, with only 19 rooms overall and with that amount of staff they had, it's just great, they pay attention to our needs to the detail. TOP SERVICE.

We stayed in Samaya 4 days and 3 nights, feel like we don't want to let go. Our experience start from the airport, they pick us up in the airport and drive us to the hotel, the trip is fantastic, attentive, knowledge and nice driver. they give us light snack and cold towel to refresh us. (work wonderful)
When we reach the hotel, the staff is already outside to welcome us and greet us by name. check in done in the villa it self, we sent by buggy down to our room, i love the ride, some people might say it's very steep (as it hilly) but some might enjoy it.
The villa blew our mind out. it's beyond our expectation, i don't think i need to put another photo of the villa, as what you see in their website photo is what you get. (see other photo by traveler)

Breakfast, you can have it in your villa or in the scene restaurant, as we love to mingle with other people, we choose to take breakfast in the restaurant, we walk up to the restaurant, again, it's a hilly path, it's good to work out as you reach there i feel a bit tired. (you can call buggy and they will pick you up from the villa)

Food, it's fantastic, breakfast and dinner at the swept away restaurant... it's great.

DO NOT FORGET to try the croissant.... it's THE BEST croissant that i ever had.

We had spa treatment, we tried 4 hand massage and also Balinese massage, both do great but honestly we enjoy the 4 hand massage more (yeah it's more $$$). it's just great.

I can't name all the people, for this all of the staff is doing the great job. from the gardener, cleaners, to the top, they really attentive and polite.

i really hope they keep it up the service and give rewards to all the staff well.

I will be back.

note : If you want to look to more active and vibrant place, go to samaya seminyak, if you want to have your own quiet time and peaceful time come and relax at samaya ubud.

Room Tip: All room is great, some say ask for the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crazy_Dharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a relaxing spoiling time at the Samaya in both Ubud and Seminyak. From the moment we arrived the staff looked after us and made sure we had everything we needed. The villas are stunning and we could not drag ourselves away! There is a free shuttle into Ubud which we used when we reluctantly left the villa and it worked very smoothly, we called when we needed to return and 15 minutes later (just time for one more drink!). It picks up and drops off at any time which is very useful.
Breakfast was at any time which was fantastic because it means the mornings are truly relaxed. Similarly afternoon tea in the villa or the restaurant was delicious - loved the scones and cream! We also ate at the restaurant a couple of times and it was extremely tasty with wonderful service. I highly recommend this place as a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have loved staying at the Samaya, the villa was very comfortable, clean and the bathroom is spacious with a big spa bath.

The pool was so refreshing after braving the busy markets in such hot weather.

The staff were just lovely, they are happy to chat if you want and tell you all about Bali, nothing is ever too much of a problem.

The complimentary breakfast was superb, top restaurant quaty, we tried everything on the menu whilst looking over the rice fields.

Afternoon tea was also complimentary down at the restaurant at the river, it's a beautiful spot to relax. Afternoon tea was almost a full high tea with a selection of small sandwiches, cakes and pastries.

We took the bike ride through the rice paddies one morning, that was great, although the trip back on the road was a bit hairy and by that time quite hot, but well worth it, it was also complimentary!

The restaurant prices at the hotel are similar to Sydney prices, which is dear in Bali, but you have the choice of eating here or in town, the staff are happy to run you into town as many times as you like.

I think the only thing I can fault is there is some wear and tear in the villa but everything else made up for that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at The Samaya in Ubud with 2 friends in March 2012. We stayed in a hillside villa and the view was peaceful.
The villa itself was large and comfortable, the bathroom was huge! Especially enjoyed the pool and outside "canopied sitting area".
The staff were extremely accommodating, especially as we were visiting during Balinese New Year and wanted to go on a trek.
There is only one point that I wanted to bring up, because the resort is rather large, you need to be "golf carted" around the place - the staff are excellent in timing to pick you up, but it just means you can't wander around as much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecrickettragic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,291 reviews
2 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
287 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 199 in Ubud
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
3 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#2 of 199 in Ubud
509 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#6 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $300 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing