We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #3 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute paradise!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights at The Samaya, Ubud, with our children aged 11 and 15. We had the most stunning villas, with a pool between them and absoltue privacy and security. Each villa had a stunning spa bathroom complete with TV and airconditioning.!!! The staff were superb and knew us and our children by name. Breakfasts were amazing "picnics" delivered to us by the pool or in the restaurant. There was no chance of the kids being bored as there are so many activities close by, and we also made use of the amazing spa salon. My daughter and I for nail treatments, my partner and son for some massage on their aching bones!!!. The Samaya has a shuttle service that runs you into Ubud and back on request. We ate at the resort restaurant Swept Away and it too was faultless... stay tuned for our review!!!!! Thankyou Samaya..pure bliss!!!!

Room Tip: Villas side by side were extremely secluded and secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thetrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,122
    79
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
187
839
27
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everything about the Samaya was just absolutely amazing , from our very first welcome to the gorgeous villa with private pool and daybed and a garden area big enough to practice my daily yoga in . Everyone from the hotel manager to the housekeeping staff treated us like their family ; well a royal family ! We really did feel like royalty there , so much so that we extended our holiday from 7 days to 14 . I dont think I've ever seen so many people smiling whilst going about their work in one place , ever. I felt a little ill one day , a doctor was called in and was accompanied by the assistant manager , special Balinese drinks were sent to me and all the staff showed their concern and care for me in a way which was extremely touching . All in all it was quite simply the best resort/ hotel we've ever stayed in , and we are already planning another visit very soon . Our feet haven't quite touched the ground yet , that's how special Wayan and his team made us feel :-) amazing

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a hillside villa. Since this was the third time I have been to Ubud, I feel like I can make an honest assessment of this hotel. I actually agree to most points of the previous reviewer:

1) The physical location and hardware of this hotel is incredible (The villa setup, the privacy, the serene view of the valley and the river, the shuttle bus service, etc)
2) The staff members were all very very friendly, kind and polite (to the point where it occasionally got annoying)
3) However, the staff members (with the exception of the GM and front desk manager) in general did not speak English very well. They were capable of making standardized chit-chat with you, but should you have a real question/problem that needed to be solved, they were unable to provide actual assistance. (In those cases, I just called the front desk directly)

So it was kind of annoying at times. But to be fair, I find this to be a problem in a lot of the so-called high-end hotels in South-East Asia. Once when we were checking out at the Four Seasons Jakarta, the reception could not add/subtract our bills correctly, even with the aid of a calculator! My husband had to walk her step-by step-through the maths! At least at the Samaya Bali, there was a very capable front desk manager who could solve your problems. (i.e. When we checked-in, we asked for afternoon tea in-villa at 3pm with one of the bellboy, but it never came, so I just called the front desk. Problem solved.)

On a side note, the quality of the restaurant was very high at this property. We ate out a lot last time in Ubud, and we thought the Samaya Bali on-site restaurant was much better in quality than most off-site restaurants in town (well, except Ibu-Oka, but that's a local lunch spot, not a proper restaurant). We ate all of our dinners on-site this time and we were very happy with the food quality.

Still a great place to stay, just manage your expectation correctly.

FYI - Ubud in generally has colder climate than the coast. We stayed twice in the summer and both times it was too cold to swim in Ubud (I come from Hong Kong, so I can't swim in non-tropical weather), however by the coast at Seminyak we find swimming possible both times.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed 2 days at the Samaya in Ubud and it was really great.
The staff is very helpful and tries to satisfy all needs of the customers.
We had afternoon tea and dinner at the hotels restaurant very beautifully at the river. It is excellent. Please try the typical regional menu. The Balinese desert is most delicious. Also the Spa and the breakfast do not leave anything open.
If you do not want to walk the steep hill, the golf cars will arrive immediately to pick you up. They have a transfer service to the City Center of Ubud, which is very convenient.
The hotel also offers guided bicycle tours. We would recommend to join these. It is a very nice experience to drive through the rice fields and also to meet some local people together with the guide. At our tour nobody else but our self joined.
The Villa itself and also the private pool has seen some better days. Pool tiles were not immaculate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pannonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

When we come to Ubud we are looking for a relaxing peaceful stay with gorgeous views on rice fields and delicious foods. Well this time we almost got. It was our first time stay at Samaya in Ubud.It is located on the hill by the river about 15 minutes away by a shuttle from Ubud central bus station. My main disappointment was that we did not get the view. Well there are only two or three rooms that get the rice fields views there, the ones are up on the hill. Originally we booked a standard villa, but when arrived were offered an"upgrade" for extra $ to an identical villa, but on the river. I don't know how and why but we agreed to that. The villa was a great size for two, had private pool and breakfast and lounge areas and the river. What i liked the most was our bathroom. It had nice jacuzzi and was done in zen style with an inside little garden like. The bed size we had a little problem with, it was too short for my boyfriend and he is not even a really tall kind of guy. We did a bike tour with a hotel crew member and it was perfect. The staff sure was eager to help, but to my taste it was just too much. I mean it starts in the morning when every gardener asks you how are you enjoying your vacation time and what are your plans for today ...etc. Than when you get a buggy to go up the hill to get a breakfast or to get to a reception the driver asks the same questions, than the same three questions at the lobby and than when you get in the shuttle bus the driver does it again! They do it so nicely , so you feel obligated to answer them and carry on a conversation. But the truth is most of them do not speak any English and after asking those three standard questions they can not answer any of yours. And every single day was the same thing with this pointless conversation stuff. But when we needed something they should do something like a money exchange, they would not do it saying their cash register is closed or something. And than the shuttle bus driver could not explain where we can safely exchange our money in town or even point us in the right direction. We also tried their restaurant . The meal was good, drinks were ok and again the same problem with the service. They brought us our appetizers and in couple of minutes were asking how was it while we did not even get served our silverware. The management needs to stop training their employes how to be nice, they are nice already by their nature. They need to train them how to serve guests at a 5 star hotel and resort.

Room Tip: Only two rooms has rice fields views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen34438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this resort with my husband for our first marriage anniversary... Absolutely gorgeous villas with fabulous surroundings... Clean well-equipped villas... Fabulous & personalized service, very friendly staff, always eager to help... Good food... Would definitely return...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santvana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

What a wonderful place the Samaya at Ubud is!. We recently stayed there for 4 nights, and the next time we come we will definitely stay for longer. The location is beautiful, tranquil, and uplifting,- on the hillside overlooking the paddy fields and the river Ayung below. We stayed in a hillside villa, which we loved, though all the villas are in wonderful settings, and each with their own private pool, not overlooked - so a dip at any time of day or night, with or without costume, in that beautiful setting is liberating!
The staff are amazing lovely people, nothing is too much trouble.- always there with that beaming smile that we have become so used to in Bali - and yet totally discreet. The service is absolutely first class. One of the things we really loved was that breakfast was served whenever you wanted it - 2pm in the afternoon if you wanted - not that we ever actually did have it that late!
Dinner was at the Swept Away restaurant at the bottom of the hill overlooking the river - The food was delicious, and what a fabulous setting - gentle lighting, the sound of the river running by just below, trees on the other side of the river, and the hill behind us, leading back up to the hillside villas. We used to walk down, but an electric buggy would be waiting to whisk us back
up again after dinner!
We did venture out once into Ubud - we used the shuttle service, and that was thoroughly enjoyable. We were going to go trekking, but never did! We did have a wonderful massage in the spa overlooking the river. Mostly we just enjoyed unwinding and feeling rejuvenated in this wonderful place.
Thank you so much to the lovely, lovely staff and manager.
We cannot recommend this place enough, and we can't wait to come back
Lin and Tim Jones, Esher UK

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.9 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#4 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing