We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful - again”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was our second holiday staying at the Samaya Ubud (the first was two years ago).

It was just as fabulous and the people just as friendly as the first time. There was a lot of "welcome home" which was a bit cheesy, but endearing.

This time we took the "Samaya Experience" package (2 nights in Ubud and 3 in Seminyak).

Ubud was relaxing and just what we needed. Seminyak has more activity.

Both are fabulous, although for long weekends we prefer Ubud because of the complete relaxation of the place and the people.

But there is nothing to fault in either location.

Just fabulous people and perfect service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin_and_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    80
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
191
847
27
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Staying at the Samaya Ubud was a wonderful experience in every way.

Friendly and attentive service.
Clean and luxurious amenities and rooms.
Beautiful grounds.
Delicious food and serene restaurants.
Awesome spa and gym.
Built for complete relaxation and privacy.

I cannot say enough great things about The Samaya Ubud!

Room Tip: We were right next to the river with a private pool and a view of a waterfall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Service was fantastic helped with any problems or information but not intrusive amazed about this place especially our butler who's name I sadly forgot. At the hotel reception, were warmly greeted by Wayan, the hotel manager, who was so kind and would do anything for you and gave a complimentary upgrade to me what seemed to be their largest villa with a huge pool 1.8m deep both ends and a gazebo with complimentary afternoon tea. YES! They provide daily afternoon tea and you can opt to have it in your villa or at the Swept Away restaurant with the gushing river view . They have cooking lessons where you go shopping with the Chef early in the morning at their local market must for the people who like to cook. DO not have breakfast if so very very light one. Have the B-B-Q on a different night ( so much food) Food service was very quick and of very high standard. Trekking and cycling (not for beginners as you ride on main rd and you need to have your experience in heavy traffic) great and had a local guide who lives next door and invited me into his house and meet his family and his pigs and his 50 fish in his fish pond which he love so much.
In addition, for guests who would like to make trips to Ubud central for shopping and dining, the hotel provides flexible and complimentary transport. This was great and you do not want to drive in UBUD. They really spare no expense in making you feel at home. What I really love about the hotel apart from their excellent service, are their green efforts and the fact that they are a very inclusive hotel. As the hotel is nestled right in the middle of small villages, villagers often walk into the hotel compound to fetch spring water.
Thank you Samaya for a very relaxing time and wonderful hospitality will definitely be returning. I have posted this place on the notice board at work and pass on to others Cheers mate Roger from down under.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We could not fault the service at the Samaya. We went there for a bit of relaxation after a hectic 7 days in Seminyak with a heap of other people and it was a fantastic way to end our trip to Bali - and have some time to our selves. The food was so good we didn't bother going anywhere else to eat. We have never stayed anywhere else where we felt so welcome and pampered!

We have recommended the Samaya to heaps of other couples since we got back.

Many thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara1967WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were just amazed about this place. You can not call it a hotel. It is more... The design of the whole place, the dimension, intimacy and luxury of the room and own garden. And above all, the staff. I work myself in a hotel and know how hard that job can be, but I could see that these people love what they do. Especially our butler who's name I sadly forgot. This was our honeymoon
Thank you!!!

Room Tip: All the villas are very intimate. No one can see you and you can only hear the insects, geckos, wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchygerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I miss The Samaya Ubud! Imagine sleeping at night to the sounds of cicadas and waking up to the soft distant crowings of roosters.

My hubby and I recently stayed there from the 9 Nov to 12 Nov, for our 5th Wedding Anniversary and we are so glad that we chose The Samaya to spend our anniversary. This is not our first time staying in Ubud, Bali. The Samaya represents what good Balinese hospitality is about. On our arrival, we were picked up by the hotel airport transfer (complimentary) and whisked off to the hotel in comfort. Chilled bottles of mineral water, strawberries and some snacks were provided during our ride. At the hotel reception, we were warmly greeted and Wayan, the hotel manager, was so kind to give us a complimentary upgrade to their largest villa with a huge pool and a gazebo (where we often had our complimentary afternoon tea). YES! They provide daily afternoon tea and you can opt to have it in your villa or at the Swept Away restaurant with the gushing river.

The staff obviously took pride in their jobs with their enthusiasm in introducing the facilities, restaurants and activities to do. We were driven around in a buggy to view the hotel compound and get ourselves familiarized.

We made a reservation for our anniversary dinner at their highly rated Swept Away restaurant right away, opting for the Romantic Candlelight dinner. Please also see our other review on the Swept Away.

If you think that there is nothing to do while staying here, then you are mistaken! The Samaya has so many activities to choose from that we think that we should have stayed longer! They have cooking lessons where you go shopping with the Chef early in the morning at their local market. Cooking starts at around 10am and ends slightly after noon where you then dine on what you have just prepared for lunch. There is so much food that it is important not to overeat for breakfast (which is really hard as their breakfast is really good!). For the outdoorsy guests, they have trekking and cycling. In addition, for guests who would like to make trips to Ubud central for shopping and dining, the hotel provides flexible and complimentary transport. Please note that not all hotels in Ubud provide that. In fact, most of them charge a fee and have stipulated timings and they do not do pick up after certain time.

All in all, we really got pampered silly by the staff at The Samaya. They really spare no expense in making you feel at home. What I really love about the hotel apart from their excellent service, are their green efforts and the fact that they are a very inclusive hotel. As the hotel is nestled right in the middle of small villages, villagers often walk into the hotel compound to fetch spring water. We like that the fact that they continue to allow these people to have access and the children to go swim in the river. You do not have to worry about them being intrusive cos during our entire stay, the villagers would just quietly come by, fill up their water vessel and leave. Children are often accompanied by their parents and do not go to places where they may disturb the guests.

Thank you Samaya for the wonderful hospitality and great services! We will definitely be returning! :)

Huge Love,
Your satisfied guests from Singapore

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugarcoated_bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at The Samaya Ubud for 3 nights early November 2012 to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Reading several travel guides about things to do in Bali, visiting Ubud was a must in all of them hence we decided to book a hotel & explore the area. Having stayed in Nusa Dua for 6 nights earlier on this trip, we believed it couldn't get any better & were tempted to change our travel plans - how wrong were we.
We arrived at the Samaya Ubud late afternoon and received the warmest welcome by the reception team & the amazing views across to the valley to the paddy fields - breath taking! Our battler took us to our villa in a golf buggy to show us around and start the most hassle free check in process.
Well...the villa was AMAZING. We are really picky - our travel policy is no matter what room you get, always call to ask for a better one - in this instance there was no need nor desire to do so, words are not enough to describe the place - it was a luxurious sanctuary, a haven of peace. Well designed, spacious & clean, you couldn't ask for anything more.
The hotel staff cannot do enough to please you and are always pleasant & smiley.
We tried the restaurant for afternoon tea (complimentary) & also for dinner on 2 nights (read our restaurant reviews for more details), my suggestion is DO NOT EAT ANYWHERE ELSE! The food is orgasmic & the location is simply unique.
The option of a full complimentary breakfast in the room is fantastic, it really adds to the relaxation, all you need to do, is roll out of bed in your luxurious dressing gown to let your battler in, by the time you wash your face, a breakfast feast is expertly laid out in the gazebo. Priceless!
The Spa was probably one of our best SPA experiences in general, our only regret was that we only tried it on the very last day. Next time we'll ensure we book a couple of treatments daily.
Neither the hotel nor the facilities are the cheapest in the area but it well worth every penny & it's value for money on every aspect. Location, service & quality.
To conclude, book yourself a room for a few nights, min 3, go & see Ubud town on he first afternoon & spend every available second in this haven on earth, you won't regret it.
A massive thank you the entire team for their attention to detail & lovely approach.
Thank you for helping us find inner peace :-)
Graeme & Leo

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo_London84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
1.9 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
220 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,846 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
699 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 198 in Ubud
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing