We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently had an all too short 5 days at the Samaya, and we had a lovely time. All the staff are so helpful and friendly, special thanks to Hema though in the restaurant! The villa was gorgeous, unusually for us we were happy just to stay put and relax rather than get out and about... The food is superb, breakfast on the terrace is a great way to start the day, and dinner in the restaurant an equally great way to finish.

If you go, and you really should, try and have a walk on your own in the rice terraces on the other side of the river, as well as the organised walk from the hotel, it's lovely..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikepowelljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Initially we have plan to only stay at The Samaya ubud for 2 nights. However we found that everything exceeded from what we had expected. They have great location and excellent service, and world class quality standart; hence we decided prolong our stay there. HOW CAN THEY DO IT...... ??? EVERYTHING IS JUST PERFECT !!!!! They give a very personal touch to make the guest always SMILE n HAPPY. We would specially thank Mr. I Wayan (Hotel Manager) and all the staff who had made our vacation memorable and wonderful at The Samaya ubud. Two thumbs up for great team work !!! Will definitely comeback next time at The Samaya ubud.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edhy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Wonderful villas, very private, each with a 5 x 3m private pool, deep enough for my tall husband to enjoy swimming in! Excellent service and breakfasts delivered to the villa were very tasty. Spa treatment included in our honeymoon package was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexcat2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Samaya for 3 nights in May 2012. From the get-go, the service was brilliant. Our flight was 4 hours late and arrived at 2am in the morning where our driver was waiting the entire 4 hours and still managed to greet us with a smile.
We arrived and everything was just perfect. We were upgraded to the River view villa and I have never experienced something so stunning in all my travels. The room was immaculate and the service exceeded our expectations 10 fold. EVERYONE in the resort new our names and we were never left wanting anything. It was my partners birthday and the staff surprised him with a cake :)
Breakfast was absolutely delicious - the best scrambled eggs and freshly made bread I have every tasted. All the juices we ordered were freshly squeezed with any fruit you want and included in our breakfast. While we ate our breakfast, the resort manager came and introduced himself to us and really made us feel so welcome.
The plunge pool was exceptionally clean and an absolute delight. We could see the river from our room villa and it truely felt like we were in paradise.
We had breakfast overlooking the rice paddies which was absolutely stunning. We did not want to leave. Till this day we talk about the Samaya and how we miss it! We will definitely be back. It's certainly worth every cent!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caz_meista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

In the Samaya Ubud the staff made us feel like king and queen.
It was the best choise as a part of our honeymoon!
We only stayed 2 nights,but they were fabulous.
Before we arrived I had contact with the manager to surprice my lady
With a spa and romantic dinner.
Unbelievable what they prepared!
They had set up a sofa on the riverside with a lot of candles for cocktail on sunset time,
After that we had private dinner,nice music and perfect service.
So romantic.
Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Brilliant two night get away together before a family party. Beautiful villa, fabulous staff, great location, very private. Butler service in your villa or great restaurants. Complimentary afternoon tea over the river and a surprise birthday cake for my husband with a lovely singing of happy birthday. Spa is superb. We will be back!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sharron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband, two children (10 and 13) and I stayed at the Samaya Ubud for 5 nights.
From the moment we arrived we felt at home. We had one of these new "Royal Villas" which are huge and so beautiful decorated. Children were really happy to have such a big pool and room !.
We tried, all of us, the Spa and it was excellent. The Dinner at the Restaurant River was great.
I joined the "cooking lessons" with the chef and was very well organized and interesting. They take care about anything and the staff were always so friendly and helpful !!.
Stunning views and special mention to the Afternoon tea, which is just to die for ..
We will come back. Wonderful place to stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 197 in Ubud
1,317 reviews
2 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 197 in Ubud
297 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#8 of 197 in Ubud
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#6 of 197 in Ubud
386 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
3 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#2 of 197 in Ubud
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#6 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $316 - $874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing