We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel and staff in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #5 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels but I must admit that The Samaya Ubud is the most fabulous hotel I have ever stayed. Again I would like to compliment the staff, our stay 4 weeks ago was absolutely fabulous. Next time when I’m in Bali I will definitely stay at in this hotel!

Kind regards,

Cor Pijnenburg

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,284)
There are newer reviews for The Samaya Bali Ubud
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

I expected something more when i spent more than $300 for a villa per night. Samaya has a good reputation for their property in Seminyak but their ubud counterpart seems different. It just open last year but the property looks already been there for ages. I guess the management doesnt put enough effort for the property maintenance

The butler escort me to the villa by a club car. Nothing so special about this villa, it is like typical modern bali villa. The breakfast is standard. if i can turn back time, i would not stay at this villa but will come here only to have a cup of coffee on their 'cheery' restaurant. I would recommend kayumanis next door for a better stay

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boondavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

After reading all the positive reviews, we decided to stay at The Samaya Ubud. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly driver. During the just over 1 hour comfortable ride, we were given a short introduction to the various areas.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were presented with lovely frangipani flowers. We had selected the Hilltop Villa and it was truly amazing with your private pool and mini garden, not forgetting the Jacuzzi bathtub.
We did not opt for the in-villa breakfast as we preferred to have it at the scene restaurant over-looked the rice paddy fields. My partner simply loved the afternoon tea and their home made jam.

What made this hotel so special are the people. The service is very personalised, they will anticipate and flawlessly arranged across all departments to minimise any unnecessary disturbance to the guests. Everyone is so friendly, even the locals too. On a few occasions we met some locals and we smile and greeted each other.

Thumbs up to Wayang (Hotel Manager) and all the staff of The Samaya Ubud. Thank you for the wonderful experience and this is the best stay that we ever had.

Warmest Regards
Tan & Neo

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

At this moment we are staying in The Samaya Ubud. First time we have the luxury of a own villa and your own private pool (and I do no mean a mini jacuzzi but a truly magnificent swimming pool). Service is outstanding, everybody is extremely friendly and helpful. Although this place is a bit out of Ubud (by car about 15 minutes) it's definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Villa 106 is the best villa!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soho75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at a hilltop villa at Samaya, and it was absolutely incredible! The service is impeccable, and the resort is utterly gorgeous and serene. The minute we stepped out of the shuttle from the airport, we were greeted with hospitality and warmth. Our villa was beautiful - equipped with our own private infinity pool and gazebo - and our butler, Agus, was one of the friendliest people I've ever met. In fact, everyone at Samaya is incredibly friendly and courteous. The General Manager, Wayan, stopped us several times to inquire about our stay and ensure that we were comfortable and happy. Even the gardeners greeted us with bows and smiles every time we saw them.

The food here is also amazing. Your breakfast is served every morning however and wherever you would like it, and you also get an afternoon tea service that is served with delicious cakes, sandwiches, and pastries. I would recommend going to The Scene restaurant for breakfast one day, as they have a more extended menu than the room service menu and the view is incredible.The Swept Away restaurant is also phenomenal; we went here 3 times during our 4 night stay at Samaya. The Executive Chef always came out to personally greet us and to see if we were enjoying our meal.

The Spa at Samaya is also one of the best that I've ever experienced. My husband and I got the couples massage, and it was wonderful and very reasonably priced. All the service at Samaya is top-notch!

This is the perfect destination for honeymooners and couples alike. The views are breathtaking, the food is fantastic, and the service is unmatched! I would highly, highly, highly recommend Samaya to anyone visiting Bali/Ubud!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CLemelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Booked this on the internet as it looked nice and we were certainly not disappointed. Stayed in a Hill Side Villa which had all the amenities you could want and more. The pool was also fantastic. Get up in the morning and go for a swim before your breakfast arrives and gets set up by the pool by your butler. If you need to leave your villa, a butler quickly arrives to pick you up with a golf buggy. The Swept Away restaurant had fantastic food. We went out to Ubud a few nights to try some local restaurants, but Swept Away was the best food we had in Ubud. Spa was also great. You must try the Shiro Dhara. Free transport service to the city of Ubud was also a bonus and was available promptly.

Overall this was an excellent villa. Service was impeccable and everyone was helpful and nice. We highly recommend staying at this place. Perfect for a honeymoon and romantic getaway in a quiet and relaxing part of Bali.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We were treated with excellent service and hospitality during our 5 days at the resort. Breakfast at the Scene restaurant was very sumptuous and nice. Staff around the resort were all very friendly and sincere in greeting us every time. Nice resort away from the touristy area and excellent views! Will definitely stayed at the resort again if we return to Bali.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCJC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
263 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,193 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 199 in Ubud
499 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $336 - $1,237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing