We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay in a long time...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best stay in a long time...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

At this moment we are staying in The Samaya Ubud. First time we have the luxury of a own villa and your own private pool (and I do no mean a mini jacuzzi but a truly magnificent swimming pool). Service is outstanding, everybody is extremely friendly and helpful. Although this place is a bit out of Ubud (by car about 15 minutes) it's definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Villa 106 is the best villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soho75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    79
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
184
829
26
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at a hilltop villa at Samaya, and it was absolutely incredible! The service is impeccable, and the resort is utterly gorgeous and serene. The minute we stepped out of the shuttle from the airport, we were greeted with hospitality and warmth. Our villa was beautiful - equipped with our own private infinity pool and gazebo - and our butler, Agus, was one of the friendliest people I've ever met. In fact, everyone at Samaya is incredibly friendly and courteous. The General Manager, Wayan, stopped us several times to inquire about our stay and ensure that we were comfortable and happy. Even the gardeners greeted us with bows and smiles every time we saw them.

The food here is also amazing. Your breakfast is served every morning however and wherever you would like it, and you also get an afternoon tea service that is served with delicious cakes, sandwiches, and pastries. I would recommend going to The Scene restaurant for breakfast one day, as they have a more extended menu than the room service menu and the view is incredible.The Swept Away restaurant is also phenomenal; we went here 3 times during our 4 night stay at Samaya. The Executive Chef always came out to personally greet us and to see if we were enjoying our meal.

The Spa at Samaya is also one of the best that I've ever experienced. My husband and I got the couples massage, and it was wonderful and very reasonably priced. All the service at Samaya is top-notch!

This is the perfect destination for honeymooners and couples alike. The views are breathtaking, the food is fantastic, and the service is unmatched! I would highly, highly, highly recommend Samaya to anyone visiting Bali/Ubud!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLemelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

Booked this on the internet as it looked nice and we were certainly not disappointed. Stayed in a Hill Side Villa which had all the amenities you could want and more. The pool was also fantastic. Get up in the morning and go for a swim before your breakfast arrives and gets set up by the pool by your butler. If you need to leave your villa, a butler quickly arrives to pick you up with a golf buggy. The Swept Away restaurant had fantastic food. We went out to Ubud a few nights to try some local restaurants, but Swept Away was the best food we had in Ubud. Spa was also great. You must try the Shiro Dhara. Free transport service to the city of Ubud was also a bonus and was available promptly.

Overall this was an excellent villa. Service was impeccable and everyone was helpful and nice. We highly recommend staying at this place. Perfect for a honeymoon and romantic getaway in a quiet and relaxing part of Bali.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We were treated with excellent service and hospitality during our 5 days at the resort. Breakfast at the Scene restaurant was very sumptuous and nice. Staff around the resort were all very friendly and sincere in greeting us every time. Nice resort away from the touristy area and excellent views! Will definitely stayed at the resort again if we return to Bali.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCJC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We have just returned from 8 nights in the Samaya Villas. I cannot begin to imagine how this resort could be better. The Villa on the bank of the River is private and extremely well appointed. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfasts in the Scene Restaurant overlooking the rice fields are memorable; the Asian-influenced menu at the Swept Away Restaurant is innovative and very good, and, although more expensive than eating at most of the "down-town" restaurants in Ubud, the prices are quite reasonable. The gym is good. Perhaps the most comfortable aspect of this holiday was the fact that although it was totally luxurious, it also felt very homely. A wonderful place to be. Thank you Wayan and all of your lovely staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Dear Wayan,

We are finally backed in Moscow! We miss Samaya Ubud so much!

This review is specially dedicated to you and your wonderful team in Samaya Ubud for giving us such divine hospitality during our stay in Bali.

Something tells us that the service will be good from the day we booked the hotel online on “booking.com”. Within the next 24 hours, we received an email from Samaya Ubud to confirm our arrival details and we were told that we would be picked up at the airport. This is probably the first time in our numerous bookings with other 5 stars resorts to be acknowledged as guests before even arriving in the resort!

Upon arriving at the airport, we were greeted by a friendly driver who showered us with cold water and cold towel to refresh us. The comfortable 1 hour trip took us to the hotel lobby where again we were given cold towel and frangipani flowers necklace. From there, we were greeted by the head butler, Joe who gave us a short tour of the resort and escort us into our river villa. On our way to the villa in a cute golf buggy, we were also introduced and greeted by the hotel manger, Wayan who were still in the property at 10pm making his tour and checks. I have background in hospitality management and I can tell you seeing a hotel manager at that time is pretty rare. ;-)

When we arrived in the villa, we were hugely amazed with the size of the villa and the size of the swimming pool! Everything in the villa were perfect and clean and the door open to your private swimming pool, which we make good use of it by having the pleasure of jumping into the pool the first thing in the morning.

Outside you have two sun-beds and a huge sheltered Bale for comfortable nap in the afternoon without the direct heat of the sun. Just next to the Ayung river, there were also table and chairs for breakfast, which you can order the day before and served to you in your villa according to time preference.

The bathroom is smartly designed, with two individual basins and a huge Jacuzzi bathtub. Separate rain shower and toilet also makes the spacious bathroom unique in most villas.

The king-sized bed is fitted with luxurious pillows; quilt and bed-sheets gave us wonderful and calm sleep every single night. ☺ The gentle sound of the running river outside the room gave some ZEN to the quiet nights in Ubud. For those people out there looking for the perfect sleep, this is probably the best place to escape the insomnia nights in a busy city.

In-addition to the in-villa breakfast, you can also chose to have your breakfast in the scene restaurant where you over-looked the rice paddy fields, Sawas that Bali is so famous for. The view you get here is simply priceless and there are hardly any resorts in this area that can match his view. As for breakfast, you can choose from anything on the menu and don’t forget to select the nasi goreng (fried Indonesian rice) with chilli sambal if you like some spicy Asian delights for your breakfast.

We also make use of the activities provided by the hotel for their guest. We did an early morning 2 and half hours walk in the rice-paddy field located near the hotel and a cycling trip the following morning in rural area of Ubud village with our wonderful guide Alip from the hotel, who also happens to be local in the village. Thank you for the wonderful tours our dear friend Alip!

Samaya Ubud also provides complimentary shuttle service to the centre of Ubud where you can find numerous restaurants and shops. In fact, Samaya will do their very best to send and pick you up from anywhere in Ubud centre if needed.

During our four nights stay here, we also booked ourselves two times at the Spa. As a Spa freak myself, the spa in Samaya Ubud is probably one of the best you can get anywhere in this world. The treatment room is located just next to the river so you can also imagine how beautiful the setting is. We chose the couple package, which starts off with a foot wash, followed by Balinese, massage and then body scrub and a facial. One unique pointer here is that everything used in the treatments are all natural like fruits and spices. You will definitely not find some lotions from the bottle here! Thank you Dian for the wonderful experience and the pampering you have given us! For anyone reading this, PLEASE try the Spa and I can bet you will not regret it!

To be highly mentioned here in Samaya Ubud is the personalized service, which Wayan and his team strive to provide for each and every guest that arrive here. Guests are greeted by name from day 1 and daily activities are smartly and effectively communicated across all departments in the hotel. They seem to know and anticipate what every guests might need to have a flawless holiday and the well deserved rest that what we are searching for in every holiday. This team in Samaya Ubud is probably the most impressive we have seen for a long time in the hospitality industry. Keep up the good work!

On the day of check-out (which was tough for us as we wish we could have stayed longer), we were again personally assisted by Wayan and Joe who genuinely wishes us back in the near future and to check that if there is anything they can improve on. Frankly speaking we find the experience here with Samaya simply flawless.

We are already planning our next holiday in Bali and we sure bet that Samaya Ubud will be included in our agenda!

Warmest regards,
Brian and Peter

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brianluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

This hotel really is exceptional. The staff will give you an extremely high level of service. Your butler will come to your room and arrange whatever you need, even if they have to research it and get back to you. Lovely spa facility with rooms facing the river and spa services on par with the the highest end us spas. Four hours of treatments was under two under dollars. The breakfast that is included can be taken in the room or in the restaurant with a stunning view of the rice villas. The nicest view of the rice fields I saw in my three weeks in Bali. The breakfast is a full menu with fresh organic produce and imported cheeses like Brie and camembert. The breads are baked on site and fresh and delicious.
The rooms are impeccably serviced. No villa is bad here. Even the least expensive are well positioned and groomed. The rooms are high tech with large flat screen tvs and iPod speakers. The walk along the river is as stunning as the view from the restaurant up at the lobby. I stayed at two other hotels in this price range along the Ayung river and this was by far the best and both of the others were higher rated. I am sure the samaya' s rating will exceed these other hotels when enough reviews come in. Since it is only seven months old it doesn't have the benefit of as many reviews as the other hotels yet. The photos on the website do not do justice to the beauty of the location of the hotel.
Bottom line - This hotel is a bargain at this price. It will no doubt cost more once it is a year old, so take advantage ofnthis price while you can. You will not regret it. The staff will make sure of that.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#12 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
1.9 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing