We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impressive villa with most amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
Ranked #4 of 583 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

pictures can not show what you will feel when entering the bidadari surrounding. These huge villa houses are more than perfect, really. the view, the furnitures, the lighting, the whole atmosphere they have created is so unuique. you must fall in love. listening to the jungle sound, no matter if it rains or not.... on top, the most personal service by mr rana and his team. helpful to get you dry during rain to your Villa, arranging restaurants, transfers, massages etc or to have a nice chat, bidadari was the highlight of our bali and lombok tour. you are so close the the jungle, just 10 minutes away from ubud, still so easy to get along with the flexible transport sevice. we are more than happy that we have choosen bidadari private villa!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hi roger t
Thank you for staying with us and also for your great review, you have managed to capture what we are about in your lovely words . Villa houses is a great description, because they are big , they are not just a bedroom and bathroom , they are two story with living area kitchen and dining all with all the mod cons and fantastic views , so even if it does rain, you have wonderful daybeds and different areas to relax, read or watch a movie and enjoy some down time, also plenty of room if choose to have a massage in your villa . We loved having you stay with us and we really look forward to your next visit .
Warm Regards Rana and the family @ Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat - Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 558 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have just returned from ten days at Bidadari and my wife and two teenagers (17/16) all agree it was fantastic. We stayed in the two bedroom villa 'Kenyeri". The facilities were fantastic, the villa very comfortable and relaxing, and the staff were brilliant. The open lounge room looking out over the river and jungle and the private swimming pool were highlights. The main bedroom was private and also opened up to the jungle and had its own private balcony, very nice. To be honest, the place was so glamorous we sometimes wondered when/how we'd joined the jet set. The other reviews here are all genuine and cover Bidadari well, and the photos show the facilities well, though they don't capture they fantastic atmosphere of the place. Other highlights:

* Free transport into Ubud, and a mobile phone to use to call to get picked up
* Simple but good food on the room service menu
* Breakfast and afternoon tea were provided as part of the package
* Being served at our own table in the villa by friendly staff
* Reception was happy to arrange daily activities/trips and also arrange me a motorcycle
* Staff always had a smile, and everyone knew our names, a very nice touch

The staff were all fantastic, but we'd like to particularly thank Koming on reception for who nothing was to much trouble and Suryf who took us on some day trips. Wonderful people. I hope I spelled their names correctly.

Be aware of the steps, the layout of the complex is on the side of a step hill and there are lots of steps. No problem for our family but something to keep in mind if you had younger or older people in your group.

The only down side of Bidadari is that it is out of Ubud a little way so you do need to rely on drop of and pick ups by the drivers. This service was excellent, but slightly restricting. Drop-offs were not a problem, but pick ups could mean a 20-30 minute wait once you called. There was a major Hindu festival on during our stay and the main temple in Ubud was between Ubud and Bidadari so I expect this wait is normally less, however, though minor, it was something to be aware off as you couldn't just walk out of Bidadari to access shops, restaurants, etc. I arranged a motor bike, that was fantastic, but the rest of the family wasn't quiet game enough to give that a go. You probably wouldn't even notice this as a problem on shorter stays, we were there for a longer stay. Again, only a minor thing, and really the only problem I can think of.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrjamesAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hi mrjamesAU

Thank you for your fantastic review, we really appreciate all your concise comments and insights during your stay with your family, it is a big help to all Trip Advisor readers. Really happy to hear you felt like "Jet Setters" in the villas and you enjoyed our services and that Koming and Surya really took care of you . I'm sorry you were inconvenienced by the Temple Ceremony that was going on at the time, it was a big one this year, and made it difficult for many Villas in our area transporting guests around, but i hope you got to enjoy the sights and the sounds and fun of the whole experience on your motorbike. We loved having you all stay and really hope you come to visit us again soon.

Warm Regards Rana & the family @Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat - Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

After 1,5 years we visited Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat - Ubud again. We spent 5 days there. We lived in the Residence Villa. We can only repeatedly say how beautiful the nature there is and how friendly and attentive the staff was. We felt like at home. We received a 24h butler, who actually quickly became good friend to us. He's name was Mr. Aryk. Together we explored our the neighborhood and he was also especially helpful when shopping with us. Everyday we enjoyed wonderful Balinese massage. We want to highlight the extraordinary friendliness and competence of the general manager Mr. Rani, who could be a role-model for many European general managers of famous hotel chains.
We will definitely be back very soon!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gyula I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hi Gyula I

What a fantastic review, many thanks for your kind words about us, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay for the second time and you enjoyed our 4 bedroom Residence villa with your family, we loved meeting them all, and we are glad you enjoyed your butler Arik and he looked after you and helped with your shopping. We do, what we do, because we love to do it , but its always great to hear such positive feedback, so thank you so much, we are very humbled by your comments.
We hope you come back and visit us again soon

Warm Regards Rana & the family @ Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat- Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a holiday at Bidadari and both agree - it was one of the best places we have ever stayed!

The staff are AMAZING! So polite, professional and friendly! We really liked all of them! The service and the staff's attention to detail was world class!

Bidadari is nestled in a stunning rainforest and the views and sounds are incredible. The villas are private, glamorous and relaxing. We even had a private plunge pool and deck. The room service is highly recommended, especially the traditional menu. And they even offer cooking classes which my husband attended and loved! We also explored the rice fields with their charming guide, a priest from the local area.

They offer on demand transport back and forward to Ubud, and even supply you with a mobile phone to call them with ease. It made getting around Ubud very easy.

We will DEFINITELY come back to Bidadari!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Hi MariseNW

Thank you for your most amazing review, what a lovely review to finish the year with it makes us feel so happy that you both were happy, enjoyed your stay and definitely coming back again, all our team can't wait for you to return. I will pass on thanks to Munku and great to hear positive feedback re our Trekking guides and also our service. We hope you have a wonderful and prosperous New Year, and you come back to visit us soon .

Warm regards Rana & the family @Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat- Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at Bidadari for two nights and three days. It's a very quite place away from the hutsle bustle of the main market place. The staff here is very caring and courteous. We stayed in Tanjung Villa so didn't have the problem with steep steps mentioned in other reviews. The view of the forest from our Villa was amazing. Since it is at a distance from the Ubud market they provide their guests free shuttle which is very helpful and can be used at any time of the day. We did the bike ride which was arranged by the hotel itself at a very reasonable price. The spa room at the base of the property is very strategically designed to give you the feel of having your massages right in the center of the forest. Needless to say the massages were awesome!!!! The only problem that we faced was that, as vegetarians we didn't have too many options to choose from their food menu. Overall it was an awesome experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NVJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Hi NVJ-12
Thank you for such an amazing review and interestingly you stayed nearly 12 months ago so a lot has changed since we saw you last ...we love to listen to our guests feedback and we are very driven by it ....our menu is upgraded and changed yearly and we have more vegetarian options now we also ask on check in if there are any special dietary requirements as we can cook anything you require if there is nothing suitable on the menu , having only 6 villas allows us to be able personalise your experience, just ask us, we love to do it . We all hope you are well and you will come to visit us again soon .
Warm Regards Rana & the family @ Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat -Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

we stayed there for 7 days, and it was one of my unforgettable vacation, what makes it more relaxing and amazing is Bidadari hotel, the room, the view, the staff all were amazing, The service is the best we have experienced in our numerous trips to Bali. rooms were beautiful, comfortable and clean with a private pool overlooking the jungle, the staff was exceptional, from the GM to our driver,

defiantly if I will be in Bali I will stay at Bidadari, add to the outstanding service , the hotel is secure and safe,
i would advise anyone who is going to Ubud to stay in Bidadari.

best place ever

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hi Bana R
Thank you for your fantastic review and thank you for staying with us, we love to hear you were happy, and we loved looking after you. Your comments on our service just really make our hearts fill with joy and they will definitely be passed on to all the team. We can't wait for you to come visit us again and we hope it is soon.
Warm regards Rana & the family @ Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat- Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 nights at Bidadari and really enjoyed our stay there. All other reviews we read are quite accurate so we won't repeat all the positives, however, the staff do deserve a special mention for their first class customer service. The service is the best we have experienced in our numerous trips to Bali. Well done to a talented team! I would also like to mention a couple of things perhaps not covered in other reviews. Not to put visitors off or discredit Bidadari in any way but just to be helpful. Bidadari is an architectural wonderment. It is build on a very steep valley with good views and there are many steps. The steps are in good condition but if you have any mobility limitations please bear this in mind. There were about 90 steps from Villa Jepun to reception. There are other villas closer to reception as an alternative. During our stay we had a snake next to the pool. It was apparently not too dangerous but we were not expecting to see any snakes so it was a fright to us. Also coming from South Australia we are conditioned to treat any snake as potentially deadly so this heighted our fear. I spoke to Ami at reception who agreed it might be a good idea to provide some information to guests in regards to native wildlife and any precautions necessary. Please don't be put off by this as a snake sighting could occur anywhere in Bali. The staff responded immediately and relocated what turned out to be a relatively harmless 'rice paddy snake'. Overall our time at Bidadari was wonderful and we felt the pricing was spot on. We have stayed at more expensive hotels in Ubud and while they were all amazing Bidadari will suit those looking for superior service and tranquillity. Thankyou for having us as guests. Kind Regards Ian and Anne. PS: The spa is under restoration at this time so massages are offered in your villa as an alternative.

Room Tip: Villa Jepun suited us but it is lower down so 90 or so steps. There are other villas closer to recep...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61Shiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hi Ian & Anne
Thank you for your honest and helpful review, and for your wonderfull praise for all our team.
We do mention on our website about the stairs and that it may not be for the elderly or physically challenged person, but as you say you cant get the views or the feeling of being snuggled into the jungle with out stairs. If stairs are a problem....Villa Tunjung, Villa Melati and Villa Pucuk are closest to the reception and they could be more suitable for next time. We are terribly sorry about your fright with the snake we don't see them often but yes they are harmless and coming from Australia you are taught to be very careful, but don't worry our team are able to relocate them easily. Thanks for the great idea about an introduction to our native wildlife we have taken that on board its an excellent idea. Hope you both come and visit us again soon and you can experience our new revamped spa and see your suggestion in action.
Warm Regards Rana & the family@Bidadari Private Villas& Retreat- Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.7 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
1.2 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#2 of 583 in Ubud
224 reviews
3.4 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 198 in Ubud
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat

Address: Jl. Raya Kelabang-Moding | Kelabang Moding, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 583 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $254 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10-minutes from Ubud, Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat offers villas with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen cable TVs. It features a spa, free parking and a free return shuttle services to Ubud. All villas come with a DVD player, coffee & tea making facilities and microwave. Each Villa has their own private pool. Guests can enjoy a traditional Balinese massage and body treatments at the resort's Matahari Spa. A small library of books and DVDs are available. Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat is 33 km away from the Ngurah Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat - Ubud Hotel Ubud
Bidadari Private Villas And Retreat - Ubud
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing