We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 weeks in heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
Ranked #4 of 521 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2 weeks in heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

If Bali is the land of Gods then Bidadari is the place where they rest. Such was our experience in this tranquil oasis tucked into the side of a hill surrounded with tropical rainforest. The setting has all the secret gems that it purports, but the jewel in the crown is the sincerity of service provided by all the staff. The food was excellent throughout our two week stay, and added to the feeling that paradise is just around the corner. The spa massage is a must do!

The rainy season had no impact on our holiday experience and was more like liquid sunshine. Some days you could not tell if the wind had strategically placed an array of exotic flowers along the stone step pathways, or that a human hand may have done so.

We highly recommend this place to anyone seeking a peaceful and private retreat with modern facilities with just a hint of the Bali that once was….provided they can climb steps :)

Thank you to Jackie, John, Rana and staff for a most memorable stay.

Pania and Geoff xx

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PNZ1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hi Pania and Geoff
Thank you so much for your heartfelt review ...Your words make us feel so very proud and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us ..It was lovely getting the chance to meet you and we can't wait to welcome you back .
Warm Regards Jackie John Rana and the whole team at Bidadari Private Villas and Retreat -Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    22
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
129
312
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family and I stayed in the new huge Bidadari Villa Residence during Christmas holidays, and had wonderful time there.

As many of reviews have mentioned about the many excellent points, let me dig into some of detailed reasons behind them though these are my personal observations.

1. People: I see the excellent services come from the people overthere. Bidadari not only just takes care of guests, but also their staffs and neighbors around the villa. You can not receive greetings responses with smiles from local people living around the villa in the small village unless the villa is a nice part of community there. We also felt the kindness and friendliness of the staffs came from heart naturally not becasue their management told them to do so. Amagingly, we already experienced it even before our visit based on our very close interactions for scheduleing of our stay with Dewi, one of their front desk representatives.

2. Facility: I see the comfortable facilities come from very careful choices of what they place and what they do not place. The living area is, literary speaking, located outside with roof. Because there is no wall and windows, you can enjoy the panoramic view and fresh air by just siting in the living area. The place is cool enough mostly due to the relatively high altitude and the wind from valley. I do not recall we received a key when we were there. There was bolt on each balinese traditional door at the gate of the villa and the bedroom.

3. Environment: I see the feel of at-home comes also from natural environment and landscape plannning of the villa which produced live experiences while we were at the villa. You enjoy lights of flying fireflies in the evening. You hear the sound of gekko very close, and see many insects are flying in the living area at night. For those who are not favorable with the insects and small animals, you may want to stay in a bed room most of the time at night, but I am sure you still enjoy full of stars and many butterflies coming in at daytime with the beautiful scenary of landscape.

One experience we had while we stayed to indicate how close we were to nature while we still stayed comfortable. At the awesome Christmas dinner we had at the dining table in the living area, poop of a big gekko dropped on my daughther's main dish. People need to be prepared this would be part of memorable experiences while staying because the place is so close to nature. Great thing was Arik, the friendly and sincere butler with us, immediatedly told us they would prepare a substitution, but luckily my daughter had finished most of them so we did not need it while we experienced lovely (should be!) encounter.



My opinion should be very honest. For people who like blliant service, nature and friendly neighborfood encounters like us, it must be the super place to stay. For people who may not like insects and small animals, please expect the encounters of those. With this, you will have much more blliant experiences which make your overall trip very positive.

One last point but not least, Rana, the manager of Bidadari, gave me an immediate responce on how they would improve to the point I mensioned in the feedback questionarrie. I was greatly impressed by knowing not only respondng me the feedback (as many of hotels do not unfortunately) but also showing an actual action they are going to implement. With this, I can see the service of Bidadari is alredy great but they will be "super" further. Thanks Rana and all of your staffs!

Koga family

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KogaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi KogaSingapore

Thank you for your wonderful detailed description of your stay we are really glad you enjoyed it and you are so right, it is important to note with all our villas there is a lot of indoor outdoor living as the temperature is so perfect day and night . Unfortunately with the start of the rainy season you have the odd few nights lasting up to one week where the flying insects are attracted to the lights, in fact, they are gone now ,generally even with open plan living here you do not seem to get many insects, considering we are on the edge of a jungle. Thank you for being so good humoured regarding the gecko poop, the flying insects at that time attract the gecko's who come for a feast, our apologies to you and your daughter for that incident .We have designed our villas to be part of the environment and for those people who enjoy the same thing or want to experience a different way of living and of course with nature you have to expect the unexpected at times .

We really appreciate all your wonderful feed back regarding our food and service, as with all our guest reviews and comment cards, the whole staff are shown , it helps to encourage the people doing the right thing and enables us to change direction if needed ,but most importantly it helps us to give our guests the best holiday experience we can, and we truly appreciate the time and effort it takes to put on a review for us.

Hope you have a wonderful New Year and your travels bring you and your family back to visit us again.
Warm Regards Rana and the Team at Bidadari Private Villas and Retreat -Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just love Bidadari. By the first evening we were already talking about coming back and by the end of our 4-day stay we were more than sure! We wished that we had booked for a longer stay though. Being amid the lush rainforest setting was certainly refreshing for us city folk--just immerse yourself in the forest scents, sounds and sights. Our villa, Melati, was extremely spacious, tastefully furnished and clean. You will love their lemongrass and sandalwood scented toiletries. Chanced to check out some of the other villas---each uniquely designed but equally awesome. The food, served directly to your villa, was ENAK SEKALI (yummy!). The meals were ample portioned, well-presented and flavourful. For sure, we woke up each morning looking forward to our customised breakfast spreads! Be forewarned though about the 200-or-so steps from the top of the property meandering all the way to the rustic spa snuggled at the bottom of the hill. We took the stairs as great exercise to make up for our sedentary city lifestyle but definitely not for those with knee ailments and such. Oh and the Bunga Matahari spa, I just couldn't get enough of it. The masseuse were skilled, applying just the right amount of pressure and the rustle of bamboo leaves from outside, a perfect complement. Also, if privacy is big for you, this place is for you. To us, the best thing about Bidadari, that made it stand out as one of our most memorable holiday experiences, is its staff and their impeccable service. Thumbs up Pak Rana and your lovely team! We'll be back. Karen & Desmond

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaymdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hi Desmond and Karen
Thumbs up to you to too ....for such a wonderful and beautifully detailed review. All our staff read all the reviews that are put on our Trip Advisor page and it really helps them to aspire to greater heights , it makes them so happy to know they have made your stay a memorable one and, yes we are all looking forward to your return in the near future
Warm Regards from Rana and the team at Bidadari Private Villas and Retreat-Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place is absolutely amazing. You have to experience it to really know what we are talking about but will try to elaborate a little here. The place is a small resort with 5 villas and the highest levels of privacy and relaxing atmosphere you can hope for. The villas are built on a mountain slope and all face the forest without any intrusion into each other. There is a river flowing right underneath where the resort spa center is located.

The attention to detail is astonishing, whether it be the decoration in the room or the design of the place. And on top of that the staff always greeted us with a warm smile and hospitality. We were travelling on our honeymoon and Bidadari made it special with custom flower decoration and a special honeymoon cake on our private candle light dinner. Special thanks to Adik & Dodik who made our evening very relaxing and enjoyable with their Balinese songs on the tunes of guitar. We can rarely expect such an amazing candle light dinner again!

Our villa Jepun had an amazing ambience with our private pool, open shower area and an open bath tub. We had a lot of activities planned for while in Ubud but cancelled most to just relax in our villa. Every day began with amazing breakfast at the poolside with a soothing forest view and sounds of river and birds. We are vegetarians and requested special menu which the team gladly honoured each time. Had a perfect start to our honeymoon trip at Bidadari and did not want to leave the place at all!

It definitely lives upto its name of "PRIVATE VILLAS" and could not find anything wrong with the place during our 4 day stay. Will be back for sure at this piece of heaven! Congrats to John and Jackie for this wonderful place and the entire Bidadari team for making it what it is!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hi Abi01
Wow ...what a great review , I don't know where to start to thank you so much ...it means so much to us that you have put such a great review on ...We are so glad you enjoyed Arik and Dodik together singing and playing guitar..they loved doing it , We love to suprise and delight our guests and help celebrate their special occasions ...but some people just like to Chill and that's ok too...Anything is possible at Bidadari
We loved having you stay and a warm welcome back when next you come
Rana and the team at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat-Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you are looking for privacy, peace and quiet, Bidadari Private Villas in Ubud is the place for you. The spring-water, private-villa pools are loaded with minerals that make the water feel very special and refreshing. Nothing better than diving into the pool after an exhausting trip into Ubud:) Super-enak (tasty) food, served in the magnificent upstairs living / dining room, with views of the river-valley and lush greenery all around you. We felt like KINGS. Impeccable service. Magnificent spa and expert massages. Quiet location but close enough to Ubud for dinner-excursions (10-15 mins by motorbike or Bidadari's free shuttle service).

The staff is what other places can only dream of: super-friendly, always smiling - and they will take care of pretty much anything for you. The manager (Rana) is truly amazing: he is is always there for you, personally, and can almost mind-read your next wishes. When we checked in we received a small mobile phone with all their phone numbers (private / mobile as well!) already stored in the dial-memory - talk about total dedication! Beyond the fantastic service and attention you receive at Bidadari, you can also just hole up in your private villa, shut the doors and just immerse yourself in the amazing nature, sounds and smells of Bidadari. This is the perfect place for couples (but it also has some 2-bedroom villas for families) and for anyone that just needs to get away from it all. Can't recommend it enough!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 1 which is nice because you are a bit higher up the hill (and less stairs to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gleonhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hi Gleonhard
Thank you for your fantastic review .We are really so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay Thank you also to your wonderful suggestions in regard to marketing our villas....Loved meeting you and your beautiful wife and I seriously hope we can catch up on your side of the world next time .
Warm Regards John,Jackie, Rana and the whole team at Bidadari Private Villas and Retreat-Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Usually the business world is selfish but Bidadari is far from that! Mr Rana, Surya and everyone was so sincere, so friendly. I totally love this trip there, which was my birthday treat / 2nd honeymoon planned by my husband. Nothing to complain abt at all....i have neverending praises for this villa establishment!! Thank you for being so nice, so sincere, so friendly!! Made me feel like a well loved baby again ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anikashrimpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Anikashrimpers
We loved your words that we "made you feel like a well loved baby again" We have mentioned your words at our monthly staff meeting as they were so beautiful and it encapsulates what we are aiming for,for our guests . Thank you for your amazing review and how lovely for your husband to plan such a successful birthday / second honeymoon holiday it really makes us feel great to know you enjoyed it all and we would love to see you come back to your family here in Ubud again soon .
Warm Regards Rana and the team at Bidadari Private Villas and Retreat -Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

the service at bidadari far surpassed all the other places we had stayed. they had mailed us prior to inform tht our villa wont be available due to some construction work in the nearby villa. thus, we were upgraded into the residency villa for our first night there. the villa was huge, clean, tastefully done, had a beautiful view of the ubud forest and we also had our private butler and a maid !! the huge pool was amazing and we just couldn't get enough of it. Despite the villa and the area surrounding it being really huge, privacy was a hundred percent.Mr. Rana dropped by the next day and told us they have made sure the construction noise level in the nearby villa would be kept low and that they will only work during our absence.Sure enough, the next day, when we were moved back to our original villa (no hassles) and although it was smaller than residency villa, this one was just nice for the two of us, was really cosy and we werent troubled with any sort of noise at all.The check in was smooth and was done in our villa it self as they didnt want to take up much of our time.The staff were extremely friendly, polite, well trained and ever smiling. our every request was met with no complaints. they even gave us a complimentary cake as we were honeymooners during the romantic candle night dinner.We changed our shuttle to ubud timings a couple of times but the staff were more happy to accomodate our plans. overall, we were really happy tht we choose bidadari for our honeymoon. it was a wonderful stay there for us.
Ari & Nanthini

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Ari and Nanthini
Thank you for your wonderful review ,yes we have had a bit of building nearby but thankfully the contractor was happy to cooperate with us ,so there wasn't too much disturbance for our guests.We are so glad to hear you really enjoyed your Honeymoon stay with us , and it would be lovely to see you again for your first anniversary Best wishes on your new life together .
Warm Regards Rana and the team at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat-Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#4 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
2.0 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
2.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat

Property: Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
Address: Jl. Raya Kelabang-Moding | Kelabang Moding, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 521 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10-minutes from Ubud, Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat offers villas with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen cable TVs. It features a spa, free parking and a free return shuttle services to Ubud. All villas come with a DVD player, coffee & tea making facilities and microwave. Each Villa has their own private pool. Guests can enjoy a traditional Balinese massage and body treatments at the resort's Matahari Spa. A small library of books and DVDs are available. Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat is 33 km away from the Ngurah Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat - Ubud Hotel Ubud
Bidadari Private Villas And Retreat - Ubud
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing