We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The memories never fade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
Ranked #3 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The memories never fade”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Oh Rana and all the wonderful staff - I miss you all so much. I have just finally had some time to sit down and look at the photos of our fabulous holiday at Bidadari and it reminded me of how special Bidadari was to Mum, Michelle (my sister) and myself. Your hospitality was so genuine and the smiles on all of your faces are planted in my heart. I am so very very anxious to get back to all of you and the wonderful experience that Bidadari planted in our soul. To all of those who are thinking of staying at Bidadari - do not hesitate - this will be a holiday that will always remain special to you. At Bidadari I have never said "thank you" so much and genuinely meant it, I have never smiled so much and genuinely felt that flutter in my heart and at Bidadari I have never heard the words "your welcome" and know it is true - always. The service at Bidadari is magical as are the people and the scenery. Jackie and John you have created the ultimate heaven on earth. xx

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelSheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hi Belinda
What a wonderful surprise to hear from you. thank you for your beautiful descriptive words . It's like reading poetry. We all really can't wait to see you again soon and meet the rest of your family.Our family here has grown and there are lots of new exciting things happening at Bidadari and look forward to sharing it all with you. I have new grandson and new phone now so I can take good pictures.I also have started cooking school at Bidadari .
Warm Regards and good memories from Rana and the team at Bidadari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    22
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
134
324
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My Wife and I stayed in Bidardari Tunjung Villa at 10-13 Oct for 4 days to celebrate our wedding anniversary!
We feel we went into the beautiful paradise, around the villa are full of art feel, full of natural.
Every staffs(include the driver, his left arm have tattoo, sorry we forget his name) all full of heart, they serve us seem like the king and queen, their services are over our expectation, we gave over 5 stars!!!
Our Tunjung Villa is so clean, our bed so comfortable, breakfast everday different, very tasty and display is vey nice too. Blue sky and birds singing are everyday around the villa, let us so relax, we like so much!
We are planning to stay in Bidardari Villa again and again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyaamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi Joeyaamy
Thank you for staying with us and its great to hear how happy you were on your wedding anniversary at Bidadari. It was a pleasure to serve you and our whole team sincerely would like to welcome you back when you next come to Bali
Warm Regards
Rana and the team at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat- Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Bidadari is a great place to stay in Ubud. It is a 10 minute drive from town and is set in a beautiful and quiet location. We felt like the only guests there for the whole week, when in fact all the villas were occupied. All the staff are amazingly friendly and helpful and everyone from the manager, Rana, to the kitchen hands doted on and entertained our 23 month old girl! Special mentions to our butler Arik and front desk staff, Rumi and Maha who were particularly lovely!

We stayed in the beautiful one bedroom villa without pool and it was perfect with a young child as we didn't have to worry about our daughter falling in to the pool or the big ponds that the other villas have. The villas are big and have at least 3 different living areas.

The food is great if you decide to eat in but if you want to eat in town the villa provides a free drop off/pick up service which we found very convenient.

The only negative I can think of is that they don't have HBO or the movie channels if you want to "veg" out at night.

The Wifi in our room was very reliable and OK speed.

Overall a great place to stay and we would do so again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinB_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi JustinB_1974
Thank you for your review and wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay We loved little Eva she is a beautiful little girl. Arik, Rumi and Maha especially send their regards and we cant wait to welcome you back.We will definitely have Movie Channel ready for you, its in process now.
Warm Regards Rana and the team at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat-Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a fantastic five nights.Our villa was spacious, and every detail was attended to, including free wi-fi. The staff were without exception fantastic, and nothing was too much trouble. They took us in to town whenever we wished, and picked us up, and organised a driver for a day trip, who was knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We had quite a number of meals served in our room, all of which were great, and beautifully presented. We also used the on-site spa on a couple of occasions, and again excellent. We left relaxed and refreshed and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: We had the one room without a pool, which was huge and very comfortable.The manager invited us to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoofusAust, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Alison P
Thank you so much for your kind review We are all happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.Your family here at Bidadari look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Warm Regards Rana and the team at Bidadari Private Villas &Retreat-Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

It was with much anticipation that we arrived at Bidadari after reading the fantastic reviews of the property. To be sure, our arrival was met with much attention and we were introduced to our butlers and the staff and taken to our villa..the Kenyeri. When we booked our villa, this two-bedroom unit was the only one available, we had only needed a one-bedroom unit...but were assured we would be upgraded to this two-bedroom unit for our entire stay of three nights.
The villa is beautiful, and the view is outstanding. The second bedroom is accessed via outside stairs and was locked, but we did not need it as there is only two of us. However, if you are booking this unit in order to have two-bedrooms for use of the living room/kitchen and of course visiting...you should be aware that again, it is only accessible via the outside. There are many stairs down and back up(!) from this villa...I counted 88. The pool is nice, but very cold. We thought we would spend a lot of time relaxing in it...but the temperature made that impossible.
Also, this is an outdoor environment. The only enclosed room with air conditioning is the bedroom. There are a lot of ants and even though they would spray for them(of which the smell of bug spray became a nuisance)...we would find many more each day. The bathroom is quite dark, I assume so that the light won't attract bugs and animals. But as we both wear contacts...it made for a lot of difficulty in removal/placement due to the low light. In fact all of the lighting is quite minimal..so be aware that once it gets dark, there will not be much you can do in the villa. This is more like luxurious camping. Even in the enclosed bedroom, I found a spider as big as a half-dollar...luckily they supply cans of bug spray.

There is construction happening next door - we were told we could close the shutters for more privacy...but there is lot of hammering, so for me it was more the noise that was an issue. They started at about 8 am and didn't stop until dusk every day...including the first Sunday of our arrival. I realize that this is outside of Bidadari's control...but if you are looking for quiet...this is not the place at this time.

The service on our first day was great. We had asked for our blinds in our bedroom to be closed as they were floor to ceiling and wound tightly to the bracket...this was done quickly. The dinner included in our package was tasty, but the amount of chicken quite sparse...we each were able to extract maybe 4 or 5 bites of meat from the bony chicken. The service though was fantastic. However, after the meal they gave us a bill for the dinner. We had to sign that we agreed on the price including service...even though at the top it stated that the meal was included in our package. It was a bit disconcerting.

On our second day, the service started to break down. A request to have our towels replaced and the blinds drawn as we left for dinner, was never completed. Not a huge deal to us and they had turned down our bed. They do supply a ride into town and back whenever you want. This is definitely needed as it is about a 15-20 minute ride to town. We went into town for dinner and to see the kecak fire dance(highly recommended!). On our return, at 9:15 pm, we were informed by the girl at the desk that they would be moving us the next day. We did not understand why we needed to move...again we had been assured we would be in the villa for the entire stay. They really put the girl at the desk in an unfortunate position in having to tell us this news. We had no advance notice of this and it was already late in the evening and we had an early morning tour booked for the next day. A call to the assistant manager was placed and we were told we could stay in our villa.

The next day, we had our tour...booked by us, as the prices at Bidadari are quite high. On our return, we had booked our massages which were also included in our package. They were fantastic, and I can't speak more highly of our two masseuses. Our massages ended at 4pm and we were met at the spa by another staff member. She asked how are massages were and then informed us that they were going to 'upgrade' us and we would be moving to another villa. This was our last night at Bidadari and again, we did not understand why they kept trying to move us. There was never any explanation. We would certainly have understood if there was an issue with our villa or a mistake had been made and they had double-booked our unit. We stated that we were perfectly happy with our villa, this was our last night and we did not want to spend time packing up, unpacking for the night and then packing up again in the morning. So much for the relaxing effects of the massage! She relented and allowed us to stay.
Overall, the staff at Bidadari are very nice, friendly and quite helpful. Just know what you are getting in regards to the accommodations and make sure you have a copy of your reservation confirming what they are supplying you.
Also, the Ubud Tourist Information office is located across the street from the Palace and main temple. On our first day, we asked the driver to take us there and instead we were dropped off at one of the many tour companies in town. You do need to know where exactly you want to go. :-)

Room Tip: Be aware of the number of stairs. We knew this ahead of time and were prepared. Ask for a villa clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelcrazy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoofusAust, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hi travelcrazy58
We are devastated that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your concise description on how you felt about your stay, We have taken on board your valid complaints and we will use it to improve ourselves. We are a team dedicated to our guests needs, and it really upsets us to know we didn't live up to your expectations but it gives us a new bar to reach.....We still hope to welcome you back one day and show you the type of experience that would warrant a "FANTASTIC" from you....we will be working on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our stay at Bidadri was very magical, the most beautiful outlook and surroundings accompanied by fantastic service and clean, fresh villa which was 3 stories and secluded!
My partner chose our villa to propose to me there, the staff were amazing helping my partner organize 2 dozen roses and have our French champaign delivered.
The staff are accommodating giving an easy and relaxed service to and from ubud centre of town!!
We hope to return soon!!
Thank you for the amazing memories!!!
Kris and Llara

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llarakris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoofusAust, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Llarakris
Wow what a great morning I enjoyed so much being a part of it and am so happy you said "yes"It was an absolute pleasure to meet both of you and we are all looking forward to see you on your Honeymoon
Warm Regards Rana and the team at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat-Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We've just returned from Bidadari Villas today - it was heaven on earth. We were warmly greeted on arrival and told they will make us feel like a king and queen and they certainly did. Every element is exceptional. Location, setting, decor, service, food, transport and the Spa ... that's in a league of its own at the bottom of the hill, just above the river ... on our first morning they transported us in to a world without care. The village trek was also unique and fascinating, showing off the beauty of the landscape and the people. Thanks to Rana and the whole team - we will be back! - Libby & Geoff

Room Tip: We stayed in Tegung which was the two story villa closest to reception - everything was perfect. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BidadariGM, General Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi LibbyJ
Thank you for your lovely review, We loved having you and Mr Geoff stay and glad to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your villa environment. The village trek is a great thing to do its really like a step back in time... visiting Bali as it used to be..We definitely cant wait to welcome you back.
Warm Regards Rana and the team at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat- Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 196 in Ubud
1,121 reviews
1.7 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 11 in Gianyar
234 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.2 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#2 of 557 in Ubud
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat

Property: Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
Address: Jl. Raya Kelabang-Moding | Kelabang Moding, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10-minutes from Ubud, Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat offers villas with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen cable TVs. It features a spa, free parking and a free return shuttle services to Ubud. All villas come with a DVD player, coffee & tea making facilities and microwave. Each Villa has their own private pool. Guests can enjoy a traditional Balinese massage and body treatments at the resort's Matahari Spa. A small library of books and DVDs are available. Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat is 33 km away from the Ngurah Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat - Ubud Hotel Ubud
Bidadari Private Villas And Retreat - Ubud
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing