We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place to relax and unwind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
Ranked #4 of 520 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to relax and unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Well, what can we say? From the moment we arrived at the airport in Denpasar the service was superb. We were met and taken to our villa which was stunning. The area is beautiful and the villas blend into the landscape perfectly, creating a truly special location. The pictures on the website do not do justice to the villas. They are really beautifully designed, with ample space and are hugely comfortable. There is a small kitchen although I really can’t imagine anyone wanting to use it as the food was really good, and as other people have mentioned, really hot despite our being at the very bottom of the steps and so some distance from the main kitchen. There are also many restaurants in nearby Ubud and the guys are happy to run you into town and then collect you later (a great service).

The real excellence of Bidadari Private Villas though lies in it’s people. EVERYONE that we had contact with were truly lovely people. Nothing was too much trouble and they always had a genuine smile on their faces. The service was totally above and beyond what you expect as normal. Rana and his management team have gathered and trained a fantastic team. A huge thank you to everyone.

We had the most wonderful time here and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. It is a beautiful place with the very best service from people who became “family”. We can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: This depends a little on your fitness. There are a lot of steep steps to the bottom villa, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieandDaveHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoofusAust, Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi JulieandDaveHK
Thank you for staying with us and for putting on such a great review
It was a pleasure to look after you and we love to hear your positive feed back
all the team are so happy to hear your comments and i can assure you we pass them on, as that makes them smile even more.
Best wishes and hope to see you again
Rana and the team at Bidadari Private villas & Retreat- Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    22
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
128
312
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Wow - what an incredible retreat! We shared our belated Honey Moon at Bidadari recently and we made to feel both like royalty and part of the family.. Such a beautiful, peaceful setting, and such personable, caring, friendly and happy staff.. Always more than happy to work around any plans we had to make our Honey Moon the perfect break away..
We would return in a heart beat!
Thanks to Rana and his entire team - keep up the fantastic work!
Haydn and Eloise

Room Tip: Villa number one was superb (from what we gathered, the best there).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoofusAust, Manager at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Hayden M
Thanks for your wonderful review and for having your Honeymoon stay at Bidadari
We all enjoyed meeting you and welcome you back as part of our family
We love helping people and showing them our beautiful part of the world
Best wishes Rana and the team at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat - Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for 6 days. It was just an oasis of calm and luxury. Both the location and the service was like a dream. Just world class. Very friendly and helpful management and staff. Next year we will come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyula I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoofusAust, Owner at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi Gyula I
Thank you for your great photos we really appreciate it and putting on a review of your stay at Bidadari Rana and the team sincerely can't wait to welcome you back next year
Warm regards Jackie Morrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Bidadari Villas was the highlight of our 12 day vacation in Bali. The staff could not have been more helpful. The breakfasts, served in our two-story suite, included fabulous exotic fruits and were beautifully presented. I don't believe that there is a more dazzling view to wake up to than that of our private villa. We had our own private endless swimming pool, and the spa services were reasonable and outstanding. Situated in a small village (only 171 families), we were able to enjoy village life as we took walks into the farmland, noting the daily traditional offering and tiny temples at every house and on every street corner. After staying in 4 different parts of Bali, my daughter and I (age 64), felt this resort had the best experience of all Bali had to offer. And not a mosquito insight!!

We were invited to observe a cremation ceremony in our village, which only happens every 5 years, and watched the teeth filing ceremony(a rite of puberty as young men and women transition to being adult members of the village) in the morning, as the ladies of the village brought to the village center all manner of delicious foods and offerings. Actually the "cremations" had taken place over the last 5 years but this ceremony was to bring the deceased remains of all who had died during the last 5 years, to the Sea.

The Bidadari is located about a 10 minute ride from the bustling (and tourist-filled) town of Ubud, and we were thankful that we stayed in the outskirts of Ubud rather than in town. Amazing evening dance and music performances are held in Ubud nightly, and the Villa staff gladly drives guests to town and picks them up whenever requested. The shopping is interesting and varied.

Despite Bali's location twelve time zones from my home, I would love to take my whole family back for a vacation next year, and would return for much longer stay at this resort.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs, let the staff know with your reservation, and request one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montessorimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoofusAust, Owner at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hi Montessorimama
What a wonderful review, thank you so much, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it's fantastic that you got out and about and discovered what Ubud and the Balinese people are all about. We love our little village and everyone is so friendly and welcoming. Rana and the team (most of them come from our local village of Kelabang Moding) love it when our guests participate in their ceremonies it's a huge cultural difference from the western world and something special to see.We would all be very excited to welcome you and more of your family on your next visit to Bidadari .
Warm Regards Jackie Morrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

we recently went to this retreat. It was really excellent! The view and the villa makes you wonder if you ever want to go out to the centre again. You can stare at the view and listen to the nature the whole day.
The staff was really friendly and gave a personal touch during our stay. Also the spa and the food(which you can order de whole day)was really good!
When we wanted to do a cooking-class the staff arranged the best one for us!
We really felt like a part of the family and also had our privacy. A lovely combination!
The outside bath and shower are really spectacular! They have really thought about everything; We would love to come again as soon as possible!
Rana:Terimah Kasi

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The staff at Bidadari went above and beyond my expectations. From the minute we arrived until the minute we left, we were treated with the utmost respect and graciousness. From the reliable free car service to the amazing food and waitstaff, we couldn't have asked for more. The manager, Rana, is great too. Not only was he very responsive to all my emails, but he made an effort to talk to us while we were there.

Aside from service, the Tunjung villa we stayed at was just a perfect welcome to Bali. The decor is very Balinese and makes you feel relaxed after a long day of trekking or cycling. My favorite was the bathroom - the showers are both outdoors and the toilet faces a koi pond!

All in all, Bidadari made our stay and experience unforgettable. We would gladly recommend this retreat to any/all travelers looking for a place to unwind and have a true Balinese experience.

Room Tip: Villa Tunjung is at the top of the hill so easier to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhNY25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at Bidadari for 7 days ( Aug 10 - Aug 17 2012 ) .

After reading through the raving reviews about the Villa's, we didn't want to miss out an opportunity to spend Our Honeymoon Vacation at Bidadari.

Located amidst a river gorge, Bidadari is just 10 minutes drive from Ubud Centre, tucked away from the bustling Tourist hotspots.

Right from the Moment, we placed our enquiry, we were certain that Our Choice was a worthy one. Dewi, was prompt and clear in her e-mail correspondence and was ready to offer us any help that we would need on our Visit to Bali.

Prior to our arrival, we were informed about the Pick up Person at the Airport with his Contact number. On arrival, we were greeted by Mr.Cawa who offered us wet towels and Mineral Water which i think is very thoughtful.

At the resort, all the staff on duty were awaiting our arrival and the moment we reached Bidadari, we were greeted with their warm smile and was offered the welcome drink.

We were taken for a tour of the Villa and the staff ( Maha ) made sure we were accustomed to the place that would be our Home for the Next 7 days.

The Location of the Villa is breathtakingly beautiful and the aroma of Frangipani fills the air.

Each Villa had its unique design and character. We stayed in Jepung Villa for 3 days, Tanjung villa for 2 days and in their Residence Suite for 2 Days.

The rooms are spacious with wooden flooring with contemporary interiors, yet retain the charm with Balinese Sculptures, Paintings, Fish ponds, Outdoor bath facilities and a private pool overlooking the valley.

The soothing whisper of River Ayung, the fragrance of flowers, the exclusivity of a private pool and the comfort of sheer luxury meld to offer a truly special Vacation.

There are Scheduled trips from the Resort to the City Centre. When we missed the time slots, we didn’t have to wait. We were at Bidadari! The staffs are ever ready to help.
One Instance, there wasn't a driver available at one odd timing we had chosen.
Rana, the Manager would drive us to the Centre.

Breakfast was a feast with a lot of options to choose from. We had dinner at the Villa, couple of times, and they were good too ! Evening tea was served with balinese cake which has become my favorite now .

We listed our places of Interest and they came up with day trips arranged during our Stay at Bidadari. Cawa was our Tour guide for all our trips. He made sure we saw the best sightseeing spots. Cawa made sure my that my wife's desire to dress as a Balinese dancer was fulfilled by taking us to a Studio on our way to the Airport.

The night before our Departure, The staff at Bidadari Surprised us by hosting a Candle light dinner which was fantastic. They served their specialty dish (Duck) which takes 8 hours for preparation. The setting was just perfect.

Candle light dinner by the pool side, soothing whisper of River Ayung, ideal hospitality from the staff. It was very special for us. Thanks to Mr.Rana and the team

The spa is located in an ideal setting and we had the best massage in Bali. When we arrived at the spa we were offered a welcome drink, fresh fruit .After the massage we were offered balinese cake and Tea .


How often do we remember the name of the staff elsewhere?
This is where Bidadari scores high than other places. The Service is impeccable.
On the whole it was a delight to have been at Bidadari.

When the moment arrived to say good bye, I wasn't easy to leave OUR HOME at Bali.

I would certainly visit Bali and I won't look any further. Bidadari will make sure my Vacation is a memorable one!

Thanks to Bidadari for being a Perfect host !
Highly Recommended !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoofusAust, Owner at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hi Arvnr
Thank you for your most wonderful concise review. We are all really glad you enjoyed your honey moon stay with us . Rana , Maha, Dewi and Ketut Cawa send their personal regards and really enjoyed taking care of you and your beautiful new wife. We wish you much happiness in your future together and your family here at Bidadari look forward to your next visit with us.
Warm Regards Jackie Morrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
2.0 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
2.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat

Property: Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
Address: Jl. Raya Kelabang-Moding | Kelabang Moding, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 520 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10-minutes from Ubud, Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat offers villas with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen cable TVs. It features a spa, free parking and a free return shuttle services to Ubud. All villas come with a DVD player, coffee & tea making facilities and microwave. Each Villa has their own private pool. Guests can enjoy a traditional Balinese massage and body treatments at the resort's Matahari Spa. A small library of books and DVDs are available. Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat is 33 km away from the Ngurah Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat - Ubud Hotel Ubud
Bidadari Private Villas And Retreat - Ubud
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing