We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
Ranked #4 of 518 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
denpasar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I’m compelled to share my experience staying at Villa Bidadari. I had such a beautiful, relaxing, special time there – it surpassed everything I wanted the Ubud leg of my journey to be. The Bidadari team should be proud of their stunning villas and the firstclass service they offer.
The experience begins with the little road which took us there, winding deeper into postcard village life and scenic terraces. Arrival was met with a first class welcome, beaming smiles and a knockout cocktail. Escorted down a magical landscaped walkway we knew we were in for something good. When our private gate was opened and the villa presented itself, the WOW factor really hit. Beautifully appointed rooms, a knockout view, a private plunge pool & outdoor granite bath which seem to drop off into the valley…..
Thank you Bidadari, I never wanted to leave, but have left feeling restored, revived and wanting to rave! I cant wait to come back!!

Room Tip: No doubt theyre all fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    22
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
128
310
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
186 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed 5 days at this villas, this was our first long trip together with my girlfriend and I wanted to have something special.
The villas and the place lived up the expectation and actually was way better than expected.

Our villa was on two floors, with a nice garden and swimming pool (that was too cold to be used for long though). Breakfast was served in the morning in our open kitchen, our room was overlooking the valley with trees and some rice fields. We always woke up very early in the morning, and the sunrise among the valley was absolutely stunning.

All the place is full of nice photographic spots, very nicely decorated, perfect bed and furniture and perfect environment.
We loved to walk to and from Ubud from the villas. It's a long walk almost 1 hour, the the free shuttle bus covers in 5 to 8 minutes, but the walk is astonishing. The small village the villas are in is full of nice people, nice houses and small temples, the rice fields separating this village from Ubud are astonishing and the entire atmosphere is paradise.

Service is great, one night we wanted to order something to eat very late, their kitchen could no do it, so they sent the Van to a restaurant in Ubud, called from there on our phone and let us order, then they took the food back and put in their beautiful setting of dishes and decorations. They are really really good and nice.

By far one of the best place I ever been, and believe me... I travel a lot...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGADOTTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

To say that these villas were straight out of a dream only just does them justice Having visited Bali a number of times and generally sticking with the big hotels for accommodation, my husband and I were excited but a little wary of taking the plunge into something more exclusive. Would it live up to the photos? And would we be too far out of the action? Thankfully we were blown away by both the location and our villa. Swimming in our private infinity pool felt like we were right in the heart of the rainforest and the quick ride into Ubud was always a pleasure. It was great to see villagers going about their business instead of the hustle and bustle of Kuta life. The staff were absolutely lovely and treated us with the utmost respect and warmth, much like family. Attention to detail was obviously a priority for the owners as every nook and cranny held another little treasure to discover; it really is a feast for the senses. If you are looking for somewhere very special to stay when you visit Bali, this place is it. I'm dreaming of our next trip already.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Wow, my partner and I stayed at Tunjung Villa in Bidadari (Ubud) and had an awesome time. From the moment we were picked to the moment we were dropped back off at the airport we were treated like royalty. I've never experienced such great customer service, We arrived at almost 2am and was still greeted by two or three of the staff who took our luggage to our rooms and gave us a quick tour. Welcomed us with cocktails and some snacks.

Every day we were served delicious breakfast / afternoon tea to our table in the villa where we enjoyed marvellous views over the forest and rice fields. The guy that served it up was so polite and awesome. We ordered lunch too, the food is totally amazing and delicious. Our villa was always spotlessly clean with fresh towels and linen everyday. At night we were left a little treat and our bedroom made to look cosy and inviting.

We had a driver that took us in and out of Ubud almost as soon as we requested it and was very helpful and informative and there was always someone to wave us off and welcome us back. I would recommend everyone to stay here (don't take kids though, it was so awesome to be on holiday with no screaming kids taking over the place!) We were so relaxed by the end of our stay and though the privacy and size of the villa was amazing, it has been so nicely designed with no expense spared, huge big day beds and big TV with a heap of DVD's to hire for free if you want a day in.

I was gutted when I left, I really could have stayed there forever!! If you want a quiet relaxing holiday away from the hustle and bustle then this is for you, it's great how you can be driven in and out of Ubud (5-10 min drive) at no extra cost.

The best part, my boyfriend asked me to marry him while we there too!

I can't wait to go back there some day. Lynne and Steve

Room Tip: Tunjung for less steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynners32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

As previous reviewers have mentioned, the Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat is composed of 5 beautifully designed secluded villas on a hill near the art village of Ubud in the mountains of Bali. Each villa has its own pool. What makes a stay at this location so special are the truly amazing villas that the Australian owners have built with an incredible passion for beauty, creativity, and detail. These are no ordinary villas. My entire stay I took as many pictures of the INSIDE of the villa as I did of the grounds, which are stunning too. There are hidden gems everywhere. It is work done by a master. Second, the Bidadari Villas have the most exceptional staff. They are wonderful people... During my stay I turned 46, and was surprised in the morning of my birthday with not only a birthday chocolate cake (my favorite) but also a beautiful song.. Because there are only 5 villas, you get privacy AND an incredible level of service that makes you feel special in an already special place. Lastly the villas are located in Ubud (or a short distance away). This is one of the most magical places on earth. What better place to enjoy and explore this heaven on earth then from Bidadari. Very very well done. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoofusAust, Owner at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. Also thank you for taking the time to put such great shots of the villas on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate it. Hope we see you again in beautiful Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

This grouping of 5 private villas just north of Ubud was a luxurious honeymoon destination. We were immediately welcomed upon arrival by intensely friendly staff & offered complementary drinks. We stayed in Villa Jepun for 1 week and were blown away by the quality of the place, attention to detail (Frangipanis everywhere!) & attentiveness of the staff. The private infinity pool was a very nice touch, although a bit cold! The open air bathroom with double sinks was very nice, and the rainwater shower and huge outdoor bathtub were divine (although the hot water ran out a tad fast for my taste). The drive into Ubud is about 10 min; there is a free shuttle that will take you in but you have to book ahead (there's a card with exact shuttle times, but they don't seem to adhere to it). There are also some nice walks through the rice paddies you can do from Kelabang-moding. A lovely breakfast spread is included in the cost of the room, all you have to do is let them know what time you want it and they will have it all laid out when you get up. They do other meals too, though everything is room service (no physical restaurant) and WAY overpriced. We wound up ordering in pizza a couple nights when we didn't feel like going to town OR paying for a meal there! All in all though, we had a lovely stay. Oh, and if you've ever been to Bali you know that you'll eventually want a motorbike to get around on your own terms. We asked Bidadari to arrange one for us & they quoted us at 70,000 rupiah (about $7usd) a day, which is very high - the going rate in Bali is 50,000, and we found a place in town who would rent for 40,000. We told them so, and they took it down to 50,000 for us. Just something to keep in mind!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earthtoes7382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoofusAust, Owner at Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive feed back, and your constructive criticism, we really strive to make our guests stay memorable, and improve our service to you based on feed back. I totally understand the comment re food prices, and yes, we do not have a restaurant, its more like room service, as everything is delivered to your Villa and set up and of course you have lovely areas with amazing views to enjoy your meal, also we pride ourselves on our chef Ketut, who not only cares about his cooking he uses only fresh produce and keeps his kitchen spotlessly clean tidy and hygenic. We welcome any guest to call in to see him and his kitchen at any time. Also we are happy if guests choose to eat out in Ubud, we have shuttles on request, but we cannot compete on price with local restaurants as we only have five villas and are trying to deliver a more personalized experience for our guests who want to chill out and relax in their villa. There are many places that do take-away or home delivery and of course the villas have great kitchens, large fridges and microwaves for those who would like to prepare a meal in their villa. The choice is yours. I also understand your concern with the price of Motor bikes, there are many places that rent out motor bikes, and the price differs on the condition of the bike, and who you rent it from. There is nothing worse than renting a bike for a guest, and it breaks down or has unsafe tyre’s or brakes, contributing to an accident, so we try to get our bikes from a reputable company that we can rely on, as we want our guests to have a safe hassel free bike experience exploring the beautiful rice padi’s and villages of Ubud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Staff were VERY friendly.
Accom was fantastic.
Can recommend the trekking.
But massage - very intense and quite painful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaglelanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
2.0 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
2.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat

Property: Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
Address: Jl. Raya Kelabang-Moding | Kelabang Moding, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 518 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10-minutes from Ubud, Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat offers villas with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen cable TVs. It features a spa, free parking and a free return shuttle services to Ubud. All villas come with a DVD player, coffee & tea making facilities and microwave. Each Villa has their own private pool. Guests can enjoy a traditional Balinese massage and body treatments at the resort's Matahari Spa. A small library of books and DVDs are available. Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat is 33 km away from the Ngurah Rai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat - Ubud Hotel Ubud
Bidadari Private Villas And Retreat - Ubud
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing