We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, picturesque oasis with wonderful staff.”
Review of Puri Tupai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Puri Tupai
Ranked #186 of 570 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“A beautiful, picturesque oasis with wonderful staff.”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Arriving at Puri Tupai is like walking onto a movie set. The house is truly lovely, with lots of open-air living space and it also has air-conditioned bedrooms, which is a luxury in the humid climate. The grounds are beautifully manicured and feature a large infinity pool that is always the perfect temperature - not too cold, not too warm. Sip your morning coffee on the patio overlooking the back yard while listening to the sounds of roosters crowing, the occasional cow mooing and in the distance, the morning call to prayer in the village. The villa staff is friendly and welcoming, and they will take excellent care of you. Great location too, just out side of the town of Ubud where you will find fabulous shopping, restaurants and the famous monkey forest!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Puri Tupai is an oasis in an already magical place. The villa is lovely, but the staff is what truly makes the difference. They are thoughtful, caring and make every effort to meet the needs of the guests. The culinary delights that come out of the kitchen at Puri Tupai are unmatched by most of the restaurants in Ubud. You will feel pampered, safe and well fed! I would return to Bali, to stay here again.

Ask the staff to meet Wayan Pepper!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

A real gem and very comfortable. The food is exceptional. Friendly staff and management. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Likestotravel000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I was unsure about spending a week inland on Bali, but was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it. The Villa Puri Tupai offered a private, spacious and comfortable setting, with excellent service from the cooking team, drivers, gardeners and various staff tending the rooms and our needs. With four rooms, it is a great place to stay with a group of friends, as everyone has run of the house.

The location itself is okay, as long as you have a competent driver who will take you further afield. There is lots to do in and around Ubud - which is about 10 minutes from the villa - and the pool is full-sized, so spending time around the house is pleasant. It is not in walking distance of anything too interesting, but again, with the great drivers we had this did not create a problem.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitakuehnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yallingup, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Puri Tupai was so much more than we expected. We did alot of searching & made our choice because the children could have their own room but be in the same building as us. Initially booked as a holiday for two families, my Dad (age 78) joined us unexpectedly after Mum passed away, which meant the children all slept in one room - no problem. Nothing was too much trouble for the beautiful staff at Puri Tupai. Ketut and Komang's cooking was out of this world so we hardly ever ate out. Wayan a superb driver. We could all hang out together, playing cards, chatting, enjoying the sound of the frogs or you could wander off in the lovely garden and read a book or get some privacy, best of both worlds here. Kids enjoyed sitting on the big daybed drawing or upstairs watching dvd's (supplied).
Highs: laps in the pool / indoor/outdoor shower / super comfy beds, pillows / the food / general chilled out vibe / happy hour by the pool
Lows: there really weren't any however when it rained, one had to be careful (slippery) but thats pretty standard in Bali with all the marble floor tiles

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tintin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

A delightful surprise and a great retreat away from the busyness of Bali. Beautiful room in spacious gardens with soun dof surf in background make for a very happy stay. Also staff were most friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Forsythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2010

WOW what an amazing introduction to Bali! After searching for a few weeks to find a suitable place to stay for 2 familes with 2 young children and a Poppa...what a find. There were no reviews for Puri Tupai at that stage so we totally went on accommodation style - price - location. It far exceeded all my expectations. Two seperate Villas joined by a Lotus Pond full of Fish and a Turtle consisted of 2 King bedrooms in one and the other had a King and Double which all were clean, spacies, beds comfortable and esthetically beautiful. Each room had it's own bathroom with partial outdoor shower, hot water. The 25 metre Pool was brillant, clean and had a ledge all the way along one side which was great for my girlfriends youngest to wade along. Tennis court was in great condition and 4 rackets & balls supplied as well as Badminton rackets. The Gardens are tended to daily and are in superior condition. Upstairs Loft room with a huge selection of DVD's to suit all. Air conditioning in all bedrooms & ceiling fans and portable ones all around. Leaving the best to last - The Food..... Husband & Wife team are the heart & soul of Puri Tapai (although ALL the staff COULD NOT do enough for you) We rarely ate out as the menu covered every type of Asian & some Western inspired meals you could ask for and is very well priced. Must try the Beef Rendang!!! A fully cooked breakfast is supplied with the Room and was more than adequate in the portion size. They were more than happy to cook something simple for the Children if needed.
It's location was a 10 min drive in traffic to the heart of Ubud! If you are going to Bali to Chill you would never have to leave!
Puri Tupai is fantastic for families but 4 couples or a couple of single people would just indulge in all it has to offer.
If this was the only place I stayed again in Bali I would be happy and would recommended it to everyone. Kerry Yallingup Western Australia.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezzareed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.0 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#73 of 196 in Ubud
717 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
858 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#50 of 196 in Ubud
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.0 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#2 of 570 in Ubud
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Tupai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Tupai

Property: Puri Tupai
Address: Anak Agung Gede Rai st, Abiansemal Lod Tunduh | Jl Raya Anak Gunung Rai, Abiansemal Lod Tunduh, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 570 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Tupai 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extraordinary escape in Bali. A spectacularly designed house in a stunning Balinese jungle setting, Puri Tupai Villa provides a measure of pure indulgence and relaxation. It is truly the island retreat you have always dreamed of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Puri Tupai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Tupai Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing