We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
Ranked #14 of 526 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Novi Pazar, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Rooms are very nice and clean. Location is great, because it is on quite place, but just 5 minutes walk from the center of the Ubud. The only bad thing about location is a dark, narrow passage to the homestay. Breakfast, which is included in a price, is also very nice.

Family who runs homestay is very helpful, pleasant and they can arrange everything for a resonable prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ertan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    69
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
60
120
109
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nirwa was our first stop in Bali & Ayu & Made, our amazing hosts, made us feel relaxed and well looked after. Straightaway we became addicted to the delicious green banana pancakes Ayu cooked us for brekkie everyday. On the last day, she made us double pancakes as we'd been telling her we would miss them!

Made would often come over to our balcony for a chat, sometimes with yummy Balinese desserts for us to try :0)

I could go on about the little unexpected things at Nirwa that make it so special but that would make for an extremely long review!

Ayu & Made - thanks for an awesome stay & see you next time we're in Ubud :)

- Corinne & Daniel

Room tip: room#1, top floor on the right is best as it has the most privacy and the best views. The other top floor or stand alone bungalows are also nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clawey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at Nirwa Homestay for a few days on our 4 months tour around the world. We had not heard anything about Nirwa, we just googled some nice homestays in the town of Ubud and this was one of the ones that popped up. So we booked 4 nights if I can recall. From the first minute we arrived it was a bit magical, the owners waited for us where the car landed because there is a 2-3 minute walk, passing ricefields and pure nateure on the way to the house. The crickets, frogs and birds were playing an enchanting symphony for us this first night and we felt so relaxed right away. The morning after a nice homemade brekfast was prepared for us by the owners, which are a lovely Indonesian couple in their sixties who do everything to make you feel at home. Over all the stay was perfect, with one of the best things being the chance to speak to the owners about Ubud, Bali, Indonesians, politics, history and to get insight into the culture of the Balinesians and their Hindu religion.

We will defenetely stay at Nirwa next time we come to Ubud, which will hopefully be sooner than later !

Kari and Sif

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor for the best view over the ricefields...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vestfjord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

After trawling through many impersonal resort and hotel pages in Ubud, I finally stumbled upon Nirwa Homestay. It offered a genuine Balinese experience with a local family in a beautifully crafted, traditional compound. I'm so glad I went ahead and booked here because it turned out to be the best accommodation experience in Bali!

For around $30 a night, you absolutely can't go wrong. The rooms were clean and comfortable with cute outdoor seating options attached to each one. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and Ayu always offers more if you haven't had enough. The grounds are absolutely stunning - so green and tropical. There are indeed rice fields completely surrounding the compound and it's so peaceful. It's in a perfect location for Ubud - a lovely 10 minute stroll to the heart of town but far enough away from the craziness of the main roads. The path that leads to the homestay isn't very treacherous at all. There is lighting at night and with an additional torch, you won't have any problems. The pathway is beside a beautiful little stream surrounded by jungle and I found the walk really pleasant and relaxing. As for the ants and mosquitoes, sure, they exist, but if you can't handle a few insects, then don't come to tropical Bali at all! Made and Ayu provide mosquito coils anyway and the mozzies actually stayed away. We were surprised that we didn't even need the mosquito nets for sleeping at night.

The most special part of staying at Nirwa were Made & Ayu and their lovely son, Alit. They welcomed us with such warmth and we immediately felt like part of the family. The owners will go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful experience and day tours/transfers can be arranged easily at a very reasonable cost.

I miss this amazing family and homestay already and can't wait to go back. If you want to have a genuine Balinese experience, don't hesitate to stay at Nirwa!

Room Tip: Room 1 upstairs has the best rice field view. The stand-alone bungalow has a great outdoor daybed ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinytini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Cristine & Chris
Thanks for your time to write review to share on TripAdvisor , i am glad that you have good time during your stay with us in Nirwa ubud homestay ,is my pleasant to have you in our place , i always want to makes fell at home to our guest , hope one day to see you again ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

First of all the famous breakfast green pancake are awesome!!! And you can always get additional one.
Nicely mannaged homestay with helpful and kind owners.
It has all common pros and cons of the remote location, wich you need to know before you come here to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ayu and Made immediately made us feel welcome and at home after a long bus trip. The rooms and views are amazing, such a sanctuary away from the noisey bustle of central Ubud, but still within walking distance of everywhere.

The make your own tours are so flexible and Made (Owner) will take you anywhere you want to go ( We went to the usual temples nearby but then he took us to NungNung waterfall which is amazing and not one person was there, highly recommended even though a lot of stairs).

Stayed for four nights and could easily stay for longer . The owners as everyone else has said are so caring and lovely, and look after you like you are one of their own.

**Banana Pancakes in the morning are a must.** Free tea,coffee, water,breakfast, fresh towels and Ayu normally gives your room a spring clean when you are out in the day.

Aj and Coco

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aj L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

From the Pick up at the Airport to the Drop off at the Airport (when we had to leave at 3:30am in the pouring rain), everything was great. Super friendly & Very helpful. The breakfast was great. The owners were easy going, kind and eager to help. From the little things like a flash light for your walk at night, local info and planning a personalized day trip. Would stay there again if we ever go back to Ubud. We really enjoyed going for an early walk in the rice fields which were as advertised right outside your room. :-) All in all great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueToesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for your time to write review , i really appreciate so much your time ,
i iam / we more glad that you have wonderful time during to staying with us in NIrwa ubud home stay ,that what we hope every guest have good time here , i always tray to do my best
hope one day you return & spend with us again Nirwa ubud home stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suparsa's Home Stay
Suparsa's Home Stay
#13 of 526 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santana Bali Home Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwa Ubud Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwa Ubud Homestay

Property: Nirwa Ubud Homestay
Address: Jl. Raya Campuhan | Banjar Ubud Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 526 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwa Homestay is a family owned business in Ubud, set in the rice fields. just 5 minute to center of ubud [ 0.3 mile to center of ubud .located in the country side / rice field , but close to center of ubud . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Nirwa Ubud Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwa Homestay Hotel Ubud
Nirwa Ubud Homestay Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing