We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveler rating
314
77
18
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
77
18
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana pancakes rice paddies home stay the main street balinese family ceiling fan wonderful hosts minute walk balinese compound felt like home balinese coffee home away from home highly recommend staying here every morning mosquito net fantastic stay breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 414 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

What a perfect introduction to Bali! Ubud (and the Nirwa homestay) was my first stop in Indonesia and really set the tone for the rest of my trip. Made, Ayu, and their son, Alit, were such wonderful hosts. From the moment Made picked me up at the airport (with a bottle of water in hand) to the moment he saw me off and into a bemo, this family really took care of me!

The property is gorgeous, a typical Balinese compound -- just off the beaten path, but only a 5-min walk to the main strip (Jl Raya Ubud). Very calm, peaceful, tranquil atmosphere. Rooms are clean (but don't leave food out in the open unless you're hoping for ants), spacious, and the ceiling fan is perfect during the cool nights. Wi-fi is reliable. Tip: The room with the best view is on the 2nd floor, the far side from the staircase, overlooking the rice paddy fields. Book in advance!

I originally booked for 2 nights and ended up staying for 6. And had Ayu's banana pancakes with lime and honey every morning for breakfast (yes, it's That good).

Thanks again to Made and Ayu for a fantastic stay. I'll be back!

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ihno29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thanks ihno for write review to Nirwa ubud home stay , i am really appreciate so much for your time , i happy that you have good time during to stay with us in Nirwa .
our family will take care all the guest during they in our house . i wish you can stay with us again for next your visit .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for 11 nights at this lovely homestay in Ubud, and loved every single second of it. The place is owned by a charming family, Made, Ayu and their son Alit, and they always made us feel at home. To get to the homestay from the main street (Jalan Raya Ubud) we had to walk a small path next to a stream that can be quite dark at night, but Made always provided a flashlight. The homestay is simply amazing; it is a Balinese compound in which every room has privacy and space. Our room (a bungalow) was very spacious and had incredible views of the rice fields; it was fully equipped with terrace with chairs, a bed with mosquito net, ceiling fan, two bed tables, electrical adaptors, dressing table and Wi-Fi connection. The bathroom was beautiful and very large; it had a closet, shower with hot water, sink, mirror and W.C. with bidet. Even though the room has no air conditioning, at night the fan is enough to get the room cool. The breakfast that Ayu made for us was so delicious; we loved the fact that they have a breakfast menu with different options, so you don't have to eat the same thing every day. The banana pancake was delicious, so as the fried and scrambled eggs with toast. We also loved the fruit juice and Balinese coffee with milk. We took two tours with Made and were great; we visited many attractions and had a great time talking to Made. A very important thing to us was that Made has a very good command of English, something rare in most Balinese homestays. We had a great time in Ubud, and Nirwa was one of the main reasons of it. We'll definetely go back soon. We miss you guys!

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thanks for taking your time to write review for Nirwa ubud homestay , i glad that you have wonderful stay with us in Nirwa .i am appreciate so much . hope you have wonderful day , have nice memory for your holiday , enjoy your honeymoon , enjoy beautiful Bali.
hope to see for next your visit . all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We found this little homestay last minute on tripadvisor. This is a decision my husband and i will forever treasure as we found our family in Bali. All the reviews are very true, Made&ayu and their son Alit will treat u as family from the moment you step in their traditional balinese compound till you are in Bali. We were given a room at the second floor with a beautiful ricefield view. Waking up every morning is such an exciting experience knowing your sorrounded with the stillness and calmness of the place. walking in the ricefields has been our daily morning ritual while we where here. Not to mention, the delicious breakfast everyday. Ayu's green banana pancake is to die for. On our first night ,my husband had a little accident with our rented motorbike on the way back to nirwa. It was a minor accident that involves a local lady being pushed on the side by the motorbike. Minor as it may seem but the thought that we are in a foreign land scared us to death. As we arebonly few meters away from nirwa, made and ayu came and took us home. We were assured that evrything is all right and as long as we are with them nothing will happen to us. Ayu even told me, " you are our family, we will protect you." i almost wanted to cry at that moment. They did talked to the lady and everything was settled without any drama.
On the following days Made has been our personal tour guide, showing us around ubud and telling us stories you will never find in any books. At night time after a long day of discovering ubud we will sit in their breakfast hall with the whole family and sip ayu's organic rose tea with the other lovely guests from different part of the world and share stories and laughters. This always left a
smile on our face as we retire to our room that has been cleaned daily.
As we had our previous reservation with a resort in Sayan,we only stayed with them for three nights. But their graciousness didnt stop when we bid goodbye from their homestay. First day in the resort Alit ( their son) delivered the famous bali smoked duck for our dinner with ayu's homecooked gado gado. Dont miss it, its very delicious. It doesnt end there still. On my birthday, Made and Ayu surprised us at the resort with a boquet of pink and red roses and a birthday cake. It was indeed a day i cherished, i felt like im celebrating my special day with my family.
Nirwa homestay as others said is not for those people seeking luxury but if your after memories and friendship you will treasure forever, this is the place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kharen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thanks for your review , take your time to write review , i am happy that you have good time during to stay with us in Nirwa ubud home stay , my pleasure to have you in our home stay , every guest how stay with us will part our family , during they stay with us , so my duty to give them protection . i am sorry about the accident that happen , to makes you not happy rent scooter , it is more difficult to write scooter when is narrow street .
thanks all so you come with made when the tour , hope to see you for next visit .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

It´s a little bit hard to find, before you go over the bridges, you have to turn right and then just follow the little river. Made and Ayu welcomed us really friendly (best hosts ever) and it seems that they don´t have check in/check out times. we arrived at 9.30am and we could move into our room immedatly! the rooms are quite big and basic, same with the bathrooms, but there´s everything you need and the surrounding is really beautiful, you have nice view from the terrace or balcony over the rice fields and there´s a backdoor where you can enter the ricefields and walk through! there´s also a walk (10-15mins) to Sari Organic (take a torch with you when you go there at night).It´s a really quiet location, but to the center of ubud it´s just a 5 min walk!
the rooms are 235.000INS (23$) for a double incl. breakfast (choice of 5 breakfasts+juice or fruit salad + coffe or tea).
You should definitely try the Banana or Pineapple-Pancake! It´s the best one i had and it´s green!

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thanks for take your time to write review for the Nirwa ubud homestay , i am appreciate so much for that .
for first time it difficult to find ,but after you been here so easy .that way when my guest check in i asking for the pick up ,
inpact our room rate is 25$ / day for ground floor , but in this time when answer your email
i just got cancellation , & i want to fill the room that way i give you with discount .
Thanks again for stay with us ,i am happy you have good time during you are here .
hope to see you for next visit .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I too read about Nirwa on tripadvisor and decided to book my stay here. I can not say enough about the loveliness of Made and Ayu. They are both so sweet and accommodating. I felt very taken care of and surrounded by their warmth and the beauty of the surrounding rice fields. Such a sense of peace and rest inspired by Nirwa Homestay, an all encompassing beauty inside and out. The rooms are spacious and airy, clean and bright. The view is gorgeous. The breakfasts are delicious with many choices and the people I met who were also staying at Nirwa were quite lovely. Nirwa is also very close to the center of town but maintains a sense of calmness and serenity. I recommend Nirwa Homestay to anyone traveling to Ubud with no hesitation! Thank you Made and Ayu for your graciousness and accommodation. I am looking forward to visiting with you again.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meyung K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balimitra, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Miyung Kim
Thanks for your review to Nirwa ubud homestay , Thanks for choosing Nirwa to serve your holiday in Ubud bali .it, is my pleasure to have you in our homestay . i am happy that you have a good time during you stay in our home stay .it is a good idea / smart to use trip advisor to prepare for your travel.
hope to see you next your visit .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews