We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible family!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
Ranked #14 of 622 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Great secret and peaceful address. right in the middle of a rice field!!! The amazing view from the rooms, the warm welcome and the kindness and good advice of Madde and Ayu made our trip awesome. Lots of activities proposed, very tasty breakfast especially Ayu's delicious banana pancake...best of Bali, clean rooms,
Anyway I'm quite sure its the best address in Ubud...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 394 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed in Nirwa 3 days, we love this place so much, the owner is kind & friendly, the home cooked breakfast is super delicious and filling..which we really forget to hd our lunch sometimes :), We stayed in first floor which direct facing the padi fields, the air is sooooooo cooling and everything seem wonderful and relax :) & enjoy looking the star in the garden ^^

Will definitely back again :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Nirwa Homestay is a peaceful oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the Ubud town centre but is still walking-distance to it. i stayed with 3 friends there and we all had our own rooms with bathrooms and we had spectacular views over the ricefields. breakfast is included too and is a generous serving. we were serenaded each morning (and usually most of the day too!) by roosters and could also often hear the quack quack of ducks in the field. the fields would come alive at night and early morning with lots of country noises of insects and birds - it was amazing. keep an eye out in the evening for the fireflies over the fields - tiny iridescent dots whizzing around.

it's a really nice 10 min walk to town and half of that is just the walk from Nirwa to the main street along a little waterway which is a thrilling adventure when undertaken by scooter/motorbike! at night it's helpful to have a torch or bright light on your phone to give you a little extra guidance as the ground is uneven but there are lights along the towpath as well.

Nirwa Homestay is run by the very lovely, friendly and helpful Madde and Ayu who looked after us extremely well and we felt like family after nearly 3 weeks. while we were there it was Nyepi the Balinese New Years Day which meant everyone (tourists included) are not allowed to go out and must stay indoors all day. Madde and Ayu looked after us and the other guests all day with breakfast, lunch and dinner and felt like a Christmas Day with family getting together and sharing meals and hanging out chatting. Definitely a highlight of staying there.

it's very, very reasonably priced and a home away from home for the person not wanting a pricey resort but a real Balinese home experience.

Room Tip: I had room no 1 upstairs which i think has the best views of the ricefields. there's room no 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janellepolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in this nice homestay and were sorry to move on, we would have loved to stay longer! The upstairs room was splendid, with bathroom, bedroom and balcony all overlooking the ricefields. This gave us an leisurely vantage point to view the different stages of the rice harvest.

The breakfast was delicious and the courtyard was very beautiful. The only negative aspect of our stay was that when we arrived we didn't seem to have room, altough I called two days before to make reservations. Since we arrived at midnight this was pretty inconvenient. the owner however took care of this by providing us with a room in a neigbouring guesthouse.

So, after all, we had an amazing stay and can recommand this hotel to everyone!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were overwhelmed by the reviews on Tripadvisor and decided to stay at Nirwa Homestay during our visit to Ubud in the second week of April 2012. We reached around midnight, and though understandably-the hosts were sleeping, but when the person who had come to pick us up at the Airport, dropped us in our room, we were shocked to find that there was no water in the room, no towels, and no soap. We were hungry and tired but could do nothing. The next day, we were given towels when we asked for them, but were told that they did not provide for a soap!! The homestay is beautifully located--in the middle of plush green fields and amidst the hustle-bustle of the road, it is still tranquil and quiet, However, either because Asians are not that whole-heartedly welcomed or maybe because the hosts had other pressing social commitments, we did not feel welcome at all. We were never asked if we were comfortable or if we wanted anything; there were neither smiling welcomes and not friendly goodbyes when we vacated the room. All throughout our stay we kept wondering that how could the reviews be all so different from our experience. We did not feel any trace of hospitality, in complete contrast to our earlier homestay experience at Singaraja, in Northern Bali.

Room Tip: Room 1 is ideal, in terms of view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sight-Seers-IND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madesidemen, Owner at Nirwa Ubud Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

thanks for your review., and stay with us ,in nirwa homestay
like you know , this is homestay not hotel, so i dont provide diiner when check in in the night
not soap ,just towel and mineral water[ a botol ]
why i dont hospitality with you , because you use my laptop,in my table with out permission
i dont like that ,is not polite , and you knok my door in the night with unnecessary thing [where i have to put the glass] in 30 minute 3 time you knok my door in the night [ no emergency] i will be nice and hospitality along the guest is nice , you pay IDR 250 000, not everything are includes.

sincerely made / nirwa homestay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife and I decided to stat at Nirwa Homestay after reading other reviews on TripAdvisor, and we are so glad we did. After spending 7 nights here, we were genuinely sad to say goodbye to Made and Ayu. They are so loving, helpful and genuine that we immediately felt like we were staying at a friend's house.

We stayed in one of the downstairs rooms, which was very spacious and clean. Each room also has a nice little outdoor space for reading and relaxing. True to being a homestay, the feeling is very "homey" and it is easy to talk to and make friends with the other guests. The wi-fi worked great and the pancakes lived up to their reputation. We also found the location perfect...close enough to the town center but far enough to escape the crowds.

But what makes this place special is Made and Ayu. We loved coming back after a long day and talking to them for hours. The would answer any questions we would have about Bali and had great recommendations for all things Ubud. We miss them already but will definitely be back one day. Thanks Made and Ayu!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

this was a highly recommended option by some friends I met while traveling. Its off the beaten track making it fantastically quiet but still has easy access to the hustle and bustle just a few minutes walk away. Ayu & Made make a big effort to welcome everyone and were excellent hosts. After a relaxing 10 days on Gili Air, this was a great place to retreat to when the madness of Ubud central got too much.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrynPeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Suparsa's Home Stay
Suparsa's Home Stay
#12 of 622 in Ubud
273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gerhana Sari 2 Bungalows
0.9 mi away
Santana Bali Home Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwa Ubud Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwa Ubud Homestay

Address: Jl. Raya Campuhan | Banjar Ubud Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 622 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $20 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwa Homestay is a family owned business in Ubud, set in the rice fields. just 5 minute to center of ubud [ 0.3 mile to center of ubud .located in the country side / rice field , but close to center of ubud . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nirwa Ubud Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwa Homestay Hotel Ubud
Nirwa Ubud Homestay Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing