We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not great...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desa Sanctuary, The Village
Ranked #235 of 590 Ubud B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Okay but not great...”
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Our biggest complaint was the location... Not close enough to Ubud central to walk each timeand not far enough away to be scenic and worth the taxi in! In fairness, this may have been my fault in terms of research, but I was overwhelmed with Ubud options! However, staff were friendly - and even scooted me to a yoga class I was late for when no taxis were available. I do wish however I would have booked at Casa Luna as planned to be in the action of it all.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Kellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    39
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
46
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Desa Sanctuary, also known as "The Village" when we first move to Bali.

Now I have to set the record straight and say that Desa Sanctuary is NOT the same Village from the movie of the same title, starring Joachim Phoenix, in which creatures (who inhabitants do not speak of) lurk behind the tree line of the encircling Covington Woods, waiting to terrorise residents. No, this is an entirely different 'The Village'.

Although the movie soundtrack by James Newton-Howard would create a very nice backdrop to waking up in the tranquil setting of Desa Sanctuary, the sound of water running into the swimming pool and knowledge that breakfast is going to be served on time and with a smile (and that one needn't always order banana's to scare away those we don't speak of) is definitely comforting.

We regularly ate the delicious pancakes and bananas, fruit with yoghurt cereal, and coffee most mornings, all of which we recommend highly!

On top of all of the above I feel it is my duty to add that on the one in instance in which there was a spider in our the room, and my wife (who is absolutely terrified of spiders) called for help, the staff came quickly and helped the spider on his way, which I consider to be an invaluable service as I honestly have my hands full chasing my wife around, let alone spiders as well!

So in conclusion, we cannot help but compliment Desa Sanctuary for their friendly and helpful staff, service and accommodation’s, and if you find yourself looking for a place to Stay in Ubud, a home away from home where the staff are friendly, where it doesn't cost a fortune, where accommodation is good, with a pool, trees, and a stone’s throw from town, give Sanctuary The Village a try.

If not, look up try The Village in Covington woods, and wear Red.

A & J

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoFlyDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Desa Sanctuary remarkably ruined my Ubud vacation.

- They made a mistake in my booking and instead offered a room across the street. The room is old, dark, and not properly maintained. Definitely not worth the USD 115 I paid in advance. That’s correct. Advance bookings must be paid fully in advance.
- The place only has 5 rooms and they still made a double booking error. I learned from the staff that there had been 3 similar incidents that month. Note that I arrived on Aug 4. If this was a tactic, it had no good benefit for tourists.
- From the hotel, you need a cab if you plan to go to Ubud Center. It costs around 50K rupiah for a one-way trip. Even the local driver commented that the place is far. He even asked me why not get better and cheaper hotels near Ubud Center.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank marlon_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtlifePancakes, Owner at Desa Sanctuary, The Village, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
I am eager to respond to this guest as they did not stay with us and yet they wrote a review of us. We did make a mistake and double book a room. We were extremely apologetic and offered this guest a room in our Private Rental home that is across the street from the Village. I would hasten to say that it is neither old, dark or not properly maintained. This is our higher end rental which is a large house, with private staff.
Desa Sanctuary is a B&B and is situated in a Village 5 min south of Ubud center. We have 5 indigenous houses, Joglos from Java, Lumbungs from Bali and Kampung houses. We have been appreciated by many for maintaining a Bali feel for our homes, with western amenities to make guests comfortable. We book houses in advance and hold them for our guests. We are not a big hotel with "walk in" capacity so we have a booking agreement that is clearly understood when guests make reservations...No surprises here!
We do apologize for making a mistake and offered our best solution, and tried our best to help out. There have not been other incidences of double bookings during the month ( as was implied that we are using a business tactic of overbooking) I'm sorry our guest felt so upset that they could not accept our apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stay in somewhere else and feels like home is the best and that is how you feel when you stay in desa sactuary - rumah David. or you might feel that you are staying at your friend's house.

The service was excellent, they welcomed me and my friend with warm smile and treat us like we haven't met for a long time. The breakfast was the one that caught me. It was a healthy yummy breakfast.The owner, Brenda is a friendly and warm person, she just arrived from the state that day, and i was just one of her guest, but she stopped just to say hello and to appreciate our stay. Ibu Sak Ming is the lady that i talked almost every day, very helpful and friendly lady.

The design of the houses are unique, very homey and natural. no TV and aircon, which i think no one who wants to explore Ubud will need it. Ubud is quite cooling area. We stayed at Rumah Kampung, the room that designed as a house and had our breakfast every morning on the table just outside our room. The room is clean, wooden made, nice king size bed, and has cozy corner where u can enjoy your books. We paid USD 50/ night. super worth it =)

Definitely highly recommended place to stay in Ubud =)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The staff at Desa Sanctuary were incredibly nice, welcoming and helpful. All the rooms are very different, so I can only speak on behalf of the room I stayed in - Lotus Lumbung. I liked the "boutique hotel" vibe it had going on, but the design is so impractical. The bathroom (along with the kitchen and sitting areas) is open, so tons of bugs and ants get in. When I went downstairs at night to use the toilet, it was covered in so many ants I couldn't even sit down. It's a bit of a walk to the center of Ubud and there isn't a proper sidewalk for most of the way. If you plan to take a cab somewhere ask the staff to call for a METERED taxi. Overall, I liked the ambience of the place and the staff, but doubt I would stay here again due to the location and the impracticality of the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexofthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtlifePancakes, Owner at Desa Sanctuary, The Village, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback and always want our guests to be satisfied.

Yes, the houses are open air downstairs. It is the Bali style of living and yes, we do live in the lovely jungle where we co exist with ants and bugs and geckos and roosters. I'm sorry that our staff was not alerted to an ant parade as they would have taken care of it. It is their job. There are some very good remedies we have for ants that are non toxic and work.

The Village of Pengosekan where The Village is does not have sidewalks ....even Ubud has bad ones...this was a small village that as little as thirty years ago, there was only a bike path from Seminyak to Ubud. We love that fact, but know that the reality of "no sidewalks' is a shock to those from the cities of the first world. smile..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed here alone and from the first moment of arrival the staff made me feel like I was part of a family! Every one of them was accommodating at all times, smiling, friendly and helpful.
I stayed in Rumah Tingah which is up a winding set of stairs and perfect for a singleton or couple, although the bathroom would not offer much privacy (thin sliding door). The ac kept the room cool and pleasant and I also bought a fan at local supermarket for 15 bucks which helped too.
The property is set just off the main road into and out of Ubud so it is not quiet ever with constant noise from motorbikes and other traffic. I got used to the rooster sounds and the barking dogs and I wore ear plugs every night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuress2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Brenda, the owner, is such an accomodating host! Desa is clean and everyone is very friendly. We felt completely at home here. Stayed here twcie already and both times have been great! We used the massage room in their home and that was incredible. The massage room overlooks rice fields with a really nice massage table. I was a big fan of the lumbong house-type rooms and the outdoor shower which was very private. Definitely recommended for couples and families alike!

Room Tip: the lumbong rooms are perfect for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahnete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 196 in Ubud
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
3.0 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
4.1 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desa Sanctuary, The Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Sanctuary, The Village

Property: Desa Sanctuary, The Village
Address: Jalan Pengosekan | Pejeng Kawan, Gianyar Bali, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 590 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderland In Bali has Ubuds best kept secret Villa's. RiverView Villa is the Grand Dame of them all. Imagine waking up to the sound of the rushing river. Our home is perched in the tree tops, sharing the same views as the Maya Ubud, a five star resort. Eat, Dine and Rejuvenate. Our staff can provide traditional and contemporary meals served to your pleasure. A spacious grande room with ironwood floors throughout, is the perfect place for relaxing, yoga, reading & dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desa Sanctuary, The Village Hotel Ubud
Desa Sanctuary, The Village Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing