We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Ubud. Very friendly and interesting food”
Review of Clear Cafe

Clear Cafe
Ranked #104 of 746 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Indonesian, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
London UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Nice place in Ubud. Very friendly and interesting food”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Visited Clear Café without knowing what to expect. It was a very hot and humid day and after a 30 minute walk around Ubud.

Clear Café is well located. Initially I was a bit put off by staff standing outside offering menu etc but decided to give it a go. We were greeted by an extremely member (who claimed she is a babysitter), offered the menu with a very clear explanation.

If I remember right they don’t serve alcohol and most of the food are “raw”. Very healthy concept and yet the food and drink are really tasty.

Most people in the restaurant seemed to be non local, trendy, relaxed. You can take your time here – some people were on iMAC doing work, some are playing with their kids, and nothing is too much trouble. It didn’t feel touristy. Rather it has a feel of the home for local expats.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jtung74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    855
    427
    158
    72
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and design”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

As others have said, it's comparatively pricey for Ubud bit with most dishes between 40,000-80,000, it's still a great price. The restaurant itself is gorgeous. We took numerous pictures of the dishes alone. We had the dragon bowl and the nasi lemak which were fantastic. And the iced chai comes with a spiced sugar syrup which is great and the 'glittery gold' is nice and green with just a little sweetness. If you want a gentle "splurge" definitely check out Clean Cafe.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bohemiantable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ideal retreat”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The two of us dashed into the Clear Cafe when there was a sudden downpour whilst sauntering around Ubud looking for a place to eat prior to a Kecak dance performance.
Leaving shoes outside (not easy when trying to escape the rain!) we entered a lovely open plan timber building decked out in sort of 'fusion' style (my idea of traditional and modern). There is a large open atrium style central area that rendered parts of the restaurant 'out of bounds due to the deluge!
It was early (1700) so there were just a few people either having a cooling drink or taking early dinner.
Service was friendly and attentive and cooling iced coffee was followed humus selection and dim sum style spring rolls for starters both very nice. Mains were Ikan Asli (fish in coconut cream sauce) and Prawn Pad Thai - both delicious.
I was classify this place as international with S/E Asia influences rather than the other was round and a level up both in quality and price from the typical Ubud eatery.
All in all a relaxing and enjoyable experience and would recommend - and by the time we had finished the rain had stopped!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful design, tantalizing treats - Ubud Gourmet”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I would eat here everyday if it weren't for the pricetag - which isn't enormous if you are here just for a quick holiday, but as I am living in Ubud, this is one of my "special" night out places. Mains are around 60-80,000 rupiah.

From the coconut crusted fish with creamy coconut sauce on top of a bed of garlic mashed potatoes (substitute it for the rice) and green beans, to the trio of dips, seared tuna, love burger, fluffy buttermilk pancakes and one of the best iced Chai's, this place showcases the culinary aspects of Ubud. Complemented is the layout, which is a blend of raw natural wooden pieces in a contemporary design, adding to the already stellar ambience created by indie tunes pumping through. The staff of lovely girls are always smiling and extremely attentive, right down to taking your flip flops as a form of "coat check" at the door.

Definitely not a place to miss out on whilst in Ubud.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madziu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“IMpressive Interior & the best grilled tuna steak in town”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The interior is impressive. In my home town Berlin i would not dare to set foot into such a designed posh place. The stuff is incredible charming, attentive and repeats every order to avoid misunderstandings.
THE TUNS STEAK! I have mystery shopped every restaurant in town and tried the tuna!
Its 2 rare/medium or done tuna steaks with lime-tamarind sauce on Wasabi mashed potatoes!
Its super reasonably priced (was the most affordable i found!)

Its the real deal for you Tuna Steak Lovers out there!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JensDube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clear Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Clear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing