We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most amazing honeymoon accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Ranked #66 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Most amazing honeymoon accomodation”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights using the honeymoon package. Best value for money! The villa (villa number 6) is extremely spacious (the bathroom and change room area is as big as some apartments!) and you can walk right into the pool from the bedroom and bathroom. Beautiful view of ricefields so is secluded and peaceful. All the staff were superb from the moment we arrived. They all called us by name, were never without a friendly smile and always willing to go out of their way for you (even folding my clothes when i left them messy in my room!). The restaurant has an amazing view of the jungle. The romantic candelight dinner was superb. 5 delicious courses while watching fireflies dancing under the full moon and listening to water gently splashing in our private infinity pool. The shuttle service was also great (for shopping i advise you go to ubud markets as the surrounding shops tend to be overpriced). We also visited the coffee plantation where we were able to taste the most expensive coffee in the world. The only downside is that we could not have stayed at Chapung for longer. If you are looking for a relaxing and tranquil stay surrounded by nature then I highly recommend Chapung. Definitely deserves a 5 star rating :) Anita and James

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    50
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
89
171
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We spend a whole week in Chapung Se Bali which is more than a hotel. You really feel like home, the welcome is warm (and it really comes from their heart) from the airport where a driver pick you up to the hotel where every balinese people who works there smile all the time!
The staff tries to help you choose the best activities with you and I want to congratulate the waitress at the restaurant! They are so lovely!
The furniture are Danish (I think the owners are Danish) and it is well integrated in the environment of the hotel.

You will basically live in an appartement with your own garden and swimming pool (a real one!! where you can swim until you tired and then relax, the best thing ever, especially when you get up in the morning with the sunlight that comes in your bedroom and you just have to put your swimsuit on and go in the pool from the room!)
The appartement are very spacious, with a interior living room but also an exterior. There is a bath and a shower in the bathroom.
The breakfast is "all you can eat" where you order you special eggs and coffe or tea and there is a great diversity of food and it is SO good!!!

The hotel is a little bit far from the center if Ubud but it SOOOO worth it, it is calm, authentic, and just around there are ricefield (the view from the restaurant is astonishing), little villages where you have to try the restaurant to eat REAL balinese food (not like in Ubud where the restaurant just try to catter with occidental taste) and to go in the city, you walk on a very nice green hill or you can just ask to a driver from the hotel.

The hotel also provide bike (free if you just stay around otherwise it is $10/day)
I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Value Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's a true pleasure to read that you enjoyed Bali and Our Resort. Your review has been warmly welcome by our whole team and that we stay focus to consistently improve our services.
"Best In Bali" it will motivate the whole Chapung Sebali team to keep on improving our services quality.

Again, we thank you for having chosen Chapung Sebali Resort and Spa, and we are looking forward to welcoming you on the occasion of your next trip to Bali

Warm Regard
Ferly
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I loved our stay at Chapung. The staff were very kind and nice. The view from my room was great. The Rooms feels like home. The rooms had nice retro designed furniture. The rooms had excellent facilities which were a very Nice pool a big kitchen and a piano. The food was good not bad not excellent but good. There were nice activities to do such as riding bikes around the fields Walking To the arts village.

Room Tip: The second Villa has a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majour h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your valuable to us opinion. We appreciate your comments and informed all Chapung Sebali team about them. A new restaurant facility will be ready, so we hope to see you again and get your excellent review for food too.
Best regards,
Ferly
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My family of 6 all love our stay at Chapung Se Bali. Their beautiful 2 bedroom residence is a very large villa with a great pool, lots of space to hang around peacefully even on rainy days. The villa is stylishly decorated with a combination of retro pieces of furniture and natural, contemporary ones which makes the villa both warm and welcoming. There is an upright piano in the master bedroom which my daughter enjoyed. Both bedrooms and the 2 bathrooms were large, even with 2 extra beds, there was still lots of space.

The staffs were all very friendly and welcoming, they tried their best to serve us. Though some of them don't have good command of English yet, we really felt they tried their best and we didn't find it a problem to explain slowly and longer, great hospitality. The breakfast was nice, not spectacular, but the valley view from the dining room is wonderful. (They do have the most delicious pineapple jam!) Room service was prompt but food was so-so.




The location is great for walking and biking around and along the road and onto the ridge. The nearby rice field is charming especially when we get to see people working in it. It takes about 10-15 min drive from the villa to town and they do offer shuttle at certain time of day. For those who enjoy a little hustling bustling of the town or going to the bars, this place maybe too far out. But for those seeking a quiet, peaceful retreat, this resort is one of the best. Hiring a van from the villa to go places, however, is a little expensive at USD 11/ hour++, we can hire much cheaper from outside. (Other hotels charged us USD 8 or 9 ++/hour.)

We would go back to Chapung Se next time we'd be in Bali for sure. The resort is just so pleasant. They could actually make a 3 bedroom villa out of the 2 bedroom residence, there is ample space.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiaraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear guest,
whole Chapung Sebali staff would like to thank you, for your precious comments. We always announce and translate to local staff who don't speak yet good English, guest opinions. The resort provides them with English lessons, so they can improve their ability in communicating with guests. So hopefully next time you visit Chapung Sebali, you will find it easier to tell the staff your wish.
Your comments make us want to improve in all ways.
Best regards,
Ferly
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband, my daughter (2 years old) and I stayed 4 nights at Chapung Sebali, and it was absolutely perfect.
The people are very friendly, always smiling, and they do everything to make your stay perfect.
My daugther got sick while we were staying and they drove us to the clinic in Ubud and the driver waited for us and they did not charge us for that.
Then because she was sick, I was ordering special food for my daughter and asked them to cook whatever I wanted and they were cooking it and bring it to our villa.
Really this place is a must see!!! located in the middle of rice fields, it is just peace and serenity.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrioufamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your valuable comments. We hope to see you again in your next visit to Bali and be very happy if you spend your vacation here free of health matters. Some of our priorities are to make guests feel welcomed, explore new sites but also feel safe as home.
Best regards
Ferly
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Lovely, quite boutique villa resort hidden away from the hustle of Ubud. Beautiful, large villas with private pool, massive bathroom and dressing room and spacious open air living/dining. I stayed solo, but great for couples, or families (watch the pool for very young kids).

Open air breakfast room is beautiful with lovely buffet (simple, fresh and not over the top hotel style).

Solo many staff around, and it's easy to feel like you are the only guest in the place. Bliss!

Room Tip: Ask for river side villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your review comments. Chapung Sebali staff is looking forward to seeing you again. All of our villas have different layout and swimming pools. Two of our villas provide with pool for children, so when we have families with young members we offer them one of them.
Thank you again for your positive opinion and comments.
Best regards,
Ferly
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hotel is situated in the middle of rice fields, 30 minutes walk or 15 minutes drive from Ubud town.
You have a smiling welcome, and a welcome refreshing cocktail served at the restaurant, when you arrive.
I loved the fact that you have your own villa, with spacious rooms, a big open space and a beautiful private pool (I love its colour given by the paving). It seems like you are alone at the hotel, that is so quiet. I loved the breakfast buffet, fruits and juices were delicious. I loved the room remained clean everyday, and was prepared every evening for the night.

I was a bit disappointed by the reception staff. I made the reservation of the villa through Splendia. I was supposed to get some advantages, that they never proposed. I had to ask twice and emailed splendia, after a 5 days-stay...
You have free shuttle at some hours of the day, which drive you to Ubud...one day, we took it 3 times...how was our surprise, when we saw they charged us the 3rd way, as we didn't take it out of the supposed hours...
Another day, we were with friends (who didn't stay at the hotel) ; we called the reception to ask for bikes to borrow. We insisted on the fact that we'd like to have bikes for our friends, and if we needed to pay something as well...when you repeat "free of charge" 3 times on the phone, the reception said "yes", and when you arrive at the hotel, they tell you they have to charge 10$ per bike, it's just not the right way to treat clients...
So, yes, a little bit disappointed by the staff at the reception.

Would love to return at this hotel anyway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapung, Manager at Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your valuable comments. Your opinion is highly important to us, as we always looking forward to improving the quality of our service. Front office supervisor is informed about your advises so as to improve that department too and fulfill your expectations for your next visit.
Best regards,
Ferly
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.6 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#42 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.7 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#69 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#27 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa

Property: Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Address: Jln. Raya Sebatu, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Ubud
#29 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#58 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapung se Bali Resort & Spa is not your usual Balinese style villa retreat. Rather it calls on contemporary lines and interiors to produce a modern lush Resort, located high in hills, 10 minutes’ drive from Ubud. Nature, minimalist, modern, intimate, spa-cious and design are the keywords to define the Resort concept. The Resort opened in 2009, with the archi-tectural inspiration of the owner, who is a professional furniture designer and owns a factory in Indonesia. Slowly, his vision grew with two restaurants, a large Spa and a wide infinity pool perched on the side of a ridge overlooking the Osh River Valley and its verdant jungle. The Resort aims to offer a memorable experi-ence : swim amidst the lush jungle in a large infinity pool, enjoy a new fusion Mediterranean-Asian cuisine and highly qualitative Spa healing therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapung Sebali Hotel Ubud
Chapung SeBali Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing