We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the heart of Ubud”
Review of Dewangga Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dewangga Bungalow
Ranked #24 of 554 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of Ubud”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I arrived very late at night from the airport and was put into room 208. Avoid room 208 if you can - it has mould in the bathroom and the bedroom. I asked to be moved to another room the next morning and the staff were very good and accommodating, moving me to room 206 - the room next door - which was lovely. All rooms are basic. I stayed in the deluxe room, which had air-conditioning. However, there are no tvs, mini bars or room safes (except a locked wardrobe), so this is fairly basic accommodation. It is good value for the price though. Breakfast was included and, even though the choices were limited and they could have done with some fruit juice on offer, it was tasty and sufficient. The location is great - right in the heart of Ubud. Close to local restaurants and cafes, ATMs and convenience stores. It is an easy walk to local attractions like the Royal Palace, Monkey Forest, Galleries and the Museum and there is plenty of shopping all around the area. The gardens at the bungalows are beautiful and very relaxing. There is some noise from local wildlife - and roosters - but this really adds to the ambience. I was fascinated by the squirrels that run about in the trees, but you can only see them if you're up at dawn!

Room Tip: Avoid room 208 - it has mould!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    54
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
23
53
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Ubud can be a bit hectic with mopeds, taxi touts etc, but once inside Dewangga bungalows you can forget all this. The surprisingly large gardens provide total peace and quiet in a traditional Balinese setting. The room we had was a superior double with more than capable air conditioning - essential arriving from a long haul flight straight into Bali's hot season. Even the bathroom was bigger than many hotel rooms! Many thanks to Wayan for all his help and warm welcome. If there would be one criticism then maybe the breakfast selection could be a little wider - but, hey, it's free! A lovely swimming pool tops everything off - and it's a bargain.

Room Tip: The A/C is worth the few extra pennies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCambridgeTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stepping through the gate of Dewangga Bungalows from the noise and asphyxiating fumes of motorbikes on Dewi Sita Street was like stepping into another world, a world that breathed the essence of all that's beautiful in Balinese culture: mossy statues of demons and gods (wearing skirts!), carp ponds, doorways with decorative carvings, flowering tropical trees sprouting orchids, the sound of rushing water from a nearby river, stone buildings with balconies and cool, marble floors. Enchanting!

During our five-and-a-half week stay, the place never lost its charm. In addition, we grew to love the friendly, super-courteous and helpful staff and the married couple--both artists--who own the place. Mega Sari, the wife, took our daughters, age 9 and 13, under her wing and bonded with them while they helped construct the dozens of offering baskets laid out each morning on the many stone shrines that dot the complex. Later in the visit, Mega and her husband, Gusti, generously included our family in two of their temple celebrations.

Breakfast, which included vegetable omelettes, banana pancakes, sliced fruit, and watermelon juice, was included in the price of the room. A very clean and beautifully landscaped infinity pool offered a vital and very welcome chance to recover from the day's excursions, and the air-conditioned room we stayed in was a refuge from the relentless heat and humidity. My one piece of advice to would-be lodgers is to select one of the newly refurbished rooms on the right side as you walk down the central path. The bathrooms in the older units tend to be dim and a wee bit moldy. Wi-Fi, as in nearly all of Ubud, can be spotty, but several of the restaurants just around the corner offer quite reliable connectivity.

About the only fly in the ointment for us was the lack of fitted sheets. By the time morning rolled around, the bottom sheet had invariably pulled out, and my wife and I would discover we were sleeping on the mattress.

All in all, however, a spectacular base of operations for a visit to Ubud as you're no more than a five- to ten-minute walk from everything that makes Ubud so special: restaurants, shops, the market, museums, performance venues. And when you get back... ah. relief!

Room Tip: Rooms farther down on the right are air-conditioned and have been recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XCBillH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was recommended this place by a regular visitor to Bali, and on the whole I was not disappointed with it. It was my first trip to Bali in 35 years, and the island has changed a lot; Ubud is a much busier place than my dim and distant memories of it. But Dewannga was an oasis from the hustle and bustle, while still being located right in the middle of things. The rooms (at the hotel's name suggests) were located in bungalows mostly along a long and verdant garden. Everything lux, calme if not not quite volupté. A pleasant pool to cool off at midday. Rooms were simple and spare, but each had a porch to sit out on and enjoy one's tea. Most inexpensive rooms had fans but no air-conditioning, but frankly, air-conditioning is not necessary in Ubud. Good price for value. Two criticisms: plumbing! Toilets are in constant need of repair. Make sure yours works! Breakfast is included in the price of a room, but is only so-so.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyoka_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stumbled on Dewangga back in 1999 and never forgot the sense of peace and privacy, great central location and the incredibly relaxing soundtrack of waterfall from next door. Came back this time with my children (7 and 9) and everything I loved about it remains the same plus large, comfortable rooms and a beautiful swimming pool where the kids happily hung out for hours. Dwangga has achieved just the right balance of hands-on hospitality and leaving you to your own devices. The staff are helpful and friendly, respectful and discreet. Works of art surround you indoors and out, which gives the place a unique character and makes you feel like you are staying in someone's home and not just another impersonal hotel with standard issue decor. Bang in the centre of Ubud, it's ideal when a youngster has suddenly had enough sight-seeing and you can get home in minutes, leaving the rush and bustle of the street for a tranquil green oasis. Yep, I'm a huge fan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Dewangga bungalows is in an excellent location in the centre of Ubud and its really close proximity to lots of cafes bars and restaurants which we enjoyed (especially mingle bar next door which did amazing 2 for 1 cocktails at happy hour every night.) We were walk ins and booked one of the newly refurbed deluxe rooms which was lovely. the bed was so comfy and the bedroom and bathroom were lovely and spacious and clean. We especially liked the individuality of the room with unique artwork and beautiful patwork quilt. the gardens are gorgeous with lots of little fishponds and the sound of the stream next door, also theres lots of lovely birdlife and frogs around which we found the noises really lovely, rather than annoying and certainly wasnt a noise problem when we were in the room, you would never know you were in the centre of town! the pool was gorgeous and has an infinity pool edge with a pond below it was lovely to lie around in the pool and look at the fish over the edge. I think the hotel is currently renovating the last of the rooms at the far end but there was no noise issue from the builders either.

the only cons we had were that currently the restarant wasnt open nor the bar for meals or room service but we found this in many of the hotels we stayed in Bali (bacause its low season??) however when we wanted a drink the lad behind reception was happy to bring one. also breakfast choices were limited but again, on one of the best restaurant streets in ubud it wasnt an issue!! its a shame really as if these services had been better we would have given Dewangga 5 stars

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holldolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very convenient location on Dewisita Rd, which comes off the middle of Monkey Forest Rd. We could comfortably walk to most places in central Ubud from here.
We paid 450k rupiah for one of the better rooms.

The place is very interesting to stay in, as you are surrounded by art and there are galleries through the property with local art on display.
The room was quite nice, the bathroom was fantastic, newly built and clean. The drawback of the room was that the bed sheets weren't exceptionally clean and on the first night they had a musty smell to them.

Overall, I would recommend the place.

Breakfast 6.5/10
Room 7/10
Staff 7/10
Hotel 9/10, because of the art which is everywhere and makes the place gorgeous.

There is also a pool which looks good but we didn't get round to trying.
J

Room Tip: The new rooms are nice. They are about 450k rupiah and the older ones are about 300k.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHNandSAMMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
0.2 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#17 of 554 in Ubud
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#25 of 554 in Ubud
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alam Terrace Cottages
Alam Terrace Cottages
#50 of 554 in Ubud
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudiana House
Sudiana House
#14 of 554 in Ubud
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#3 of 554 in Ubud
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewangga Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewangga Bungalow

Property: Dewangga Bungalow
Address: Jl. Dewi Sita, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dewangga Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Dewangga Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewangga Bungalow Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing