We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fun you can have in a boat”
Review of Bali Sobek

Bali Sobek
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.53*
and up
Bali Adventure Mountain Bike Tour
More Info
$63.53*
and up
Sobek Bali Ayung River Rafting
More Info
$63.53*
and up
Bali Telaga Waja Rafting Adventure with Buffet Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in Bali in 1989, SOBEK was the first Adventure Tour Company of its kind on the island. Taking pride in a proven 100% safety record even to this day, SOBEK invests heavily into thorough industry recognized safety training standards. Each and every one of SOBEK's 265 staff receives on going training and development to ensure they are the very best in their field. Ultimately SOBEK works hard to maintain its reputation and market position as No.1.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best fun you can have in a boat”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had to convince one of our 8 year old boys to come on this adventure. He bet us a dollar that he would not like it. Half way down the track to the river he informed us he owed us the dollar. And it just got better. The fantastic guide, in deference to the children, made sure that he gave us lots of safe thrills, wetting the kids under waterfalls, blaming them for his splashes on the other boats and any other shenanigans he could come up with. He was also very informative about what we were seeing. The organisation appears incredibly well run. We got a bit nervous when the rain started bucketing down (the conditions of a river change rapidly) but the guides clearly had very firm safety protocols and put them professionally into action. We got a good feed at the end (surprising how hungry you get paddling) and rate this adventure as a highlight. Great fun had by all.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    102
    17
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Just great fun”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

A great time all round. Fun rafting, fun people on our raft and some great rapids -- it had recently rained and really helped the current along.
If you don't want to get wet, don't get in the raft, otherwise, this is one great fun time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nature view was great, and the river was clean”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

(+) I really enjoy the natural view during the rafting. The water was also very clean, I didn't see any rubbish floating in the water during the rafting. There was also enough stream that we didn't need to paddle too hard. The guides were very professional in providing instructions and safety explanation. Lunch provided after rafting were also tasty and plenty.

(-) I didn't sign-up by myself as it was a company trip, so I didn't knew how much the rate was. But if checking on Sobek's website, the rate is more expensive compared to other rafting providers.
Photos were overly commercialized, some photographers took our photo during the rafting and we could buy it on Sobek's basecamp after rafting, for IDR100K/photo. I must say that price were very very very expensive (vs Devdan Theater IDR40K, Quicksilver cruise IDR40K). Our group ended up not buying any photo as one of our group member was bringing her underwater camera so we had already took some photos by our own.
In the middle of the rafting trip, we made some short break, stopping in the riverside. Some local ladies were selling beverages i.e. softdrinks, green coconut, in this rest-stop area. The price of those beverages were also very expensive at IDR20K (you can buy the same softdrinks for less than IDR10K in other places). I did had rafting in Elo River - Central Java before, where the rafting provider provided free snakcs and green coconut in the rest area. Considering that Sobek's rate was pretty expensive, I think it would be best if they could do the same (providing free snacks+drink in rest area).
There are plenty rafting providers in Bali, I think the route of Sobek's rafting was some way or slightly shorter than some other providers, because many boat were passing our start point.
Footpath from sobek's basecamp to rafting start point and from rafting finish point back to the basecamp was pretty exhausting, it's not that far but very steep and has hundreds of stairs.

Summary: I really enjoy rafting in Ayung river and would definitely do that again but probably will try other rafting provider next time. Not because Sobek's service was not good, it was great, but if you could get the same level of service only less expensive and less commercial, why not?!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoisKwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Rafting fun for all ages and types”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I chose Sobek because their itinerary seemed to be the better one amongst the rafting companies. The package is good for what is included. The cost includes everything such as pick-up and drop-off, all the equipment, lunch, showers and towels (even cheaper if you purchase your ticket on the Internet). The only thing you need to pay for (if you want it) is beer or soft drink. This tour is not difficult at all, and everyone managed easily - it is more like a relaxed paddle down a scenic river. The only downside some people may find - if you prefer wild rapids and adventure, you will find this tour too easy. If however you are hoping for a fun morning or afternoon with Balinese scenery, you will enjoy yourself.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zodiac6573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
“Worth Doing.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great value, well organised also included a very good buffet lunch.
500 steps Down and 230 steps back up so make sure your fit !
Our guide made it all the more fun with his sense of humour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bali Sobek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing