We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice staff”
Review of Ketekung Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ketekung Bungalow
Ranked #440 of 666 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked Ketekung online before we arrived as it was during Nyepi. We found it difficult to find as it is a good distance down a little road then down through a rice field. I think they only have 4 rooms here but they are big and very well kept. It was a bit of a walk to main areas but it was a scenic walk so we didn't mind. During the day of silence where nobody is to go outside we paid a little extra and they provided all our meals during the day, the food was very good. It was nice to seem like your in the countryside but just a few minutes walk from anything you need. The people who run the place are reserved but very friendly. We would have liked to stay longer but all the rooms were booked out. The Hindu New Year festivities were amazing with a crazy parade of oogha ooghas to scare away any bad spirits for the new year. The town itself is very friendly and laid back. We would stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

I absolutely loved this guesthouse, and my only complaint was that I only stayed the 1 night and wish it was longer! It's just 1 block (and maybe a 15 minute walk) to Monkey Forest but it's surrounded by rice paddies and peace and quiet.

The view over the river is beautiful and it feels tucked away from the craziness of the city. More suited to people who can speak a little Indonesian or have a phrase book, but the young owners couldn't have been more lovely and my room was absolutely spotless. For the price, it's great value and the stone shower was impressive. If you are low-maintenance and want some quiet in Ubud this is a fantastic choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Among the many offers in Ubud, I have no doubt that this will be a top choice for those seeking budget accommodation. Clean and large rooms (with bath-tub), nice views, very friendly owners and excellent breakfeast made this stay a pleasure. Yes, the insects and frogs make some noise, but there are none in your room and you soon get used to it so it doesnt bother (it is way better than traffic noise). Only real downside is that the walk into town is a bit far, but it's a nice walk through ricefields, so... Go for it!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristofferMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

basic,quite and comfort to stay. This only 4 bedroom hotel give you the silence experience of Ubud. Located quite far from main street and just next the river and rice field makes this hotel one of nice stay in Bali. The owner also kind and the pancake for breakfast is delicious. Room was quite large with nice open bathroom and the building has beautiful balinese ethnique architechture . Really nice to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

we chose ketekung because of all the positive reviews.. which was a mistake, our stay was more or less "ok" if you dont mind a broken bed, a dirty bathroom, and staff that doesnt understand a word english!!! when we arrived there was nobody, and there is also no reception so we had to look for someone in the tiny house beside...and wait..., they wont provide us with a map or information.. we had to go ask at some other hotel and they were so kind to give us a map!! I am pretty sure there is better places to stay in ubud, maybe you should just take a cab here.. without doing an internet reservation first, because there are lots of other nice bungalows in the middle of the ricefields!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrisFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

My husband and I wanted to get away so much from hectic city life one day and so we went to Ubud – Bali, a remarkable site for those needing peace of mind. There we stayed at Ketekung Bungalow located on Jalan Bisma, not far from where the famous sacred nature reserve ‘Monkey Forest’ and the home of Tjokorda Gede Agung Sukawati (1910-1978) - the last "king" of Ubud, Bali.

I myself actually am the kind of person who tends to get fussy about staying in local small hotels, inns or bungalows, imagining uncomfortable bed and water problems (not to mention about the smell from damp bed and pillow sheets). But when arriving at the bungalow I became speechless and really had nothing to complaint about. I found this traditional Balinese structural type of building very neat, spacious rooms cleanly maintained with cozy king-sized beds. The bathrooms were clean, no leakage nor tabs or hot water problem. And, with a price of (+) US$ 25,-/ room per night, free continental breakfast and free afternoon tea/ coffee served at my wish by local friendly staffs, what more could I ask?!

We spent 3 days on the upper floor during our first visit, overlooking rice paddy fields from the windows and, overwhelming sights of nature from the balcony. While in the evening we heard the sounds of night insects like lullaby to put us to sleep, as morning comes, chirps of early birds and morning quacks of ducks had awaken us.

I’d say, Ketekung Bungalow’s a perfect place to getaway, offering a retreating staying ambient and able to offer us an unforgettable opportunity to unwind ourselves hence made our getaway extraordinary that it became the place we bound to visit time and again, since then!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeBeLaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.5 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,874 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 5 in Mas
153 reviews
2 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ketekung Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ketekung Bungalow

Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #440 of 666 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $32 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ketekung Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ketekung Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ketekung Bungalow Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing