We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sehati Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sehati Guesthouse
Ranked #396 of 511 Ubud B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

A cool place with a Nice garden, very quiet, close from dowtown Ubud, in a cosy place, typical style from this part of Bali. Very close from the Monkey forest - which you should really see. Service was fine, rooms were clean. Just missed the swimming-pool. Breakfast was OK - included, with basics. Great bargain anyway. You should go there!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Dealing with Sehati Guesthouse was such a breeze - after a series of emails (no deposits required!), my standard room was confirmed and my airport pick-up was arranged. Even their "standard" is an understatement - the room was spacious, with one queen bed and a single bed, very clean and tidied everyday. Other than the "old-ish" shower curtain, the bathroom was adequate and gives out hot water. The staff were helpful and friendly, and would gladly send you to Ubud Market if you asked. If I had any complaints it would just be the location - which is not Sehati's fault, anyway. It's about 20 minutes walk (uphill after the bend at Monkey's Forest if you take Jalan Monkey Forest) to Ubud Market, and especially dark at night along the Monkey Forest Sanctuary stretch.
Plus point - it's just a few steps away from the Venezia Spa, which I thoroughly enjoyed (TWICE) during my 3 days there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpicyOlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights on Aug 2010, the place is really welcoming, clean, safe and the managers are very kind. It is not located in Monkey Forest Road so not near the city centre but in 15 minutes you can go to the Ubud market by foot. Furthermore there is the Sehati Spa that is really a value for money choice for your massage! We really suggest this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trioev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

..or my "princess palace" as my newfound friends called it. Admittedly I had the most expensive room there, the deluxe on the second floor of the main house. and it was wortht he small splurge - for 400,000 IDR I pretty much had the floor to myself - there were 2 rooms across used by the spa for massage which weren't often busy. The room was huge and had great furnishings - a massive bed, desk, wardrobe with lockable drawer, desk, kitchen with fridge, TV and DVD player. outside the room were 2 comfy sofas and a small fountain, as well as a table and 2 chairs next to a Ganesh statue and pool with frangipanis.

there were a few fountains around which lent itself to a nice relaxed atmosphere.

There was a small private terrace as well, and a huge bathroom with round tub and hot water. there is a choice of fan or AC, which I appreciated as it was a bit cool for AC at night, but the fan was just right.

for breakfast there was tea, fruit and choices for things like jaffles or pancakes. There's also a very cute puppy.

staff were attentive without hovering, and if someone couldn't answer something for me, they literally ran off to find someone to help me. I arrived early in the morning and they kept my luggage until my room was ready. When I came back at the agreed time the room was ready with all my luggage in it. When a friend wanted to do a healing treatment for me they had no problem letting us use the spa massage rooms for free and even supplied the music.

The location is great, monkey forest is very close by, as well as restaurants. they dont have laundry, but ABC laundry is just about 50/100m away if you need it.

One thing to note, there is a bit of noise from the street but it certainly didn't affect my sleep in the comfortable bed. just remember to close all the windows at night.

I never needed internet, so I can't comment on the wireless.

I had a look at a standard room that was empty and it looked nice as well, and the people on the 3rd floor deluxe rooms were happy with them (they could see rice fields).

Of the 5 places I stayed at on this Bali trip, Sehati was my favourite. would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abhainnmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phitsanulok, Thailand
Level Contributor
252 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

If you want peaceful Balinese charm at a very affordable price, this is the place. We felt like we were in a resort, without resort prices. We stayed here for 11 days and absolutely loved it. The main guesthouse comprises only 6 units all facing the beautiful garden. There are two deluxe cottages and 4 standard rooms. We stayed in the cottage and it was very spacious, extremely comfortable bed, attractive bamboo furniture, refrigerator, TV, DVD player, and A/C. The bathroom was very large with a bathtub and shower. I looked in the standard rooms and they looked clean and comfortable as well. Unlike many guesthouses in Ubud, they have air conditioning. Some people say you do not need it in Ubud because the nights are cool, true, but if you want to hang out in your room in the day, it's highly recommended.

Breakfast is provided in either the charming outdoor dinning area or served on your veranda. The English speaking staff are very friendly and helpful. Prior to selecting Sehati GH, I e-mailed a lot with Wayan the owner who promptly answered all my questions.

Ubud is charming and very walkable. The immediate area of the guesthouse has restaurants, shopping, and two mini marts. The center of town and the Art market are only a 20 minute walk away.

We slept extremely well and the guesthouse was wonderfully quiet and peaceful. I want to dispel concerns raised by one other reviewer on this site, who complained about the insect noise at night. We discussed this with Wayan, and he explained that this happens only infrequently after rain, following a very long period of drought, and then its only for a day or two. I live in Asia and believe this to be true.

One tip, prior to reserving always ask for a discount which they offer for low season or a stay over a week.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falangsabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No fixed abode
Level Contributor
107 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

World travellers reviewing where we stay en route. If you wish more detail, take a look at our Blog (details in profile) or contact us directly.

Sehati Guesthouse

Arrival

Minibus from Kuta direct to Ubud (Xtrans, a new company) was just IDR 70 000 return per person and took around an hour. Same trip by taxi would cost you IDR 400 000 return and not be much quicker.

Plus

– large rooms
– full sized double bed with good linen and very comfortable mattress
– bathroom with both shower and bath tub
– air con
– fridge
– lovely gardens
– nice breakfast
– clean but bathroom a bit shabby
– cheap price

Minus

– wi-fi signal totally useless; fault due to ISP
– poor TV reception (indoor aerial) and only a few local channels
– no safe
– poor towels
– mosquitoes
– ants in bathroom in first room
– some indifferent staff
– extremely noisy at night due to wild life making an enormous racket. Bull frogs, geese, crickets, cockerels- they were all at it, non-stop.

Comments

Ubud makes a nice change from the beach life at Kuta and you get to see monkeys close up. 100S of them in Monkey Forest, at the foot of the hill. Accommodation was fine for the price, if a tad away from the action. Probably would not stay there again. There are lots of guest houses in Ubud so just turn up and shop around.

Tip

Take any rooms away from the back fields (ask for the two rooms in the middle of the gardens) and you'll be fine. Or take ear plugs and pray.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.4 mi away
Karang Mesari Ubud Bungalow
1.1 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sehati Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sehati Guesthouse

Property: Sehati Guesthouse
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 511 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sehati Guesthouse Hotel Ubud
Sehati Guesthouse Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing