We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, lush, quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santra Putra Guesthouse
Ranked #93 of 523 Ubud B&B and Inns
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, lush, quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at Santra Putra for 2.5 weeks in March, 2013, and was absolutely thrilled with this accommodation. It is in the darling village of Penestanan, surrounded by rice paddies, and only about a 15-20min walk to downtown Ubud. Each room is uniquely appointed and each one has a simple yet elegant feel. Each room has its own ample terrace and a little kitchenette, allowing for buying, storing, and preparing your own food if you'd like (although the food in town is amazing!!). Karja and Made and warm, welcoming, and attentive hosts and will make sure your stay is fun, comfortable, and happy. I can't say enough about Santra Putra! Stay there!

Room Tip: The upstairs room (door immediately past the breakfast area) is gorgeous and has a most outstanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderlustNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Beautiful, quiet, friendly, helpful,and affordable. Karja is a great host, an outstanding artist, laid-back, Also, we met some great fellow-travellers over his wife Made's tasty breakfast outdoors in the garden. We changed our Bali plans to come back for another 3 days. You'll love it. Maybe not climbing the steps, so ask for the other way in from Penestanon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank earl667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

6 days was not enough to explore and enjoy the beautiful village of Penestanan. Karja and Made very special and welcomed us into their family. Art classes inspiring. Shopping at markets with Made fun. Yoga and meditation beautiful. Excellent accommodation

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New York and Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

This guest house is in the rice fields. There are several attached houses all built and designed by Karja with his artwork throughout the rooms. I stayed in a newer room which was spacious and clean. There are two huge galleries on the property. This is a quiet setting with a low keyed guests. Karja and his wife Made are wonderful people--kind, friendly and very helpful. I used Karja's cousin Dianna as my driver for several day and overnight trips. He was knowledgeable and a pleasure to be with. I would highly recommend him. I plan to return here.

Room Tip: Take a newer larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mooshoo10465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

I stayed here for one month in July 2009. I had a new room that was on the second floor. The room was huge and had a small kitchen. The family that runs Santra Putra are wonderful hosts and made me feel like one of the family. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

Santra Putra is a lovely guesthouse, approx 1 km from the town centre of Ubud, situated on an elevated hill of the village of Penestanan. The property is operated by a Balinese family Karja & Made who also live on the premises with their family which gives not only a glimpse of traditional Balinese ways in a modern day world but also a more personal view of Ubud & Bali. The property has a variety of bungalows. These are all 2 storeys - you occupy either the top or bottom levels (not both). I stayed in both a new bungalow & the older more traditional style bungalows. The newer style are very comfortable. They are large with a very big balcony living areas, kitchen with gas stove top, large fridge freezer and cooking utensils. The bedroom is also large and the bathroom has both shower & bathtub. These all look over a nice, large & lush garden setting. The older, more traditional style ie, thatched roof, some with thatched walls, some concrete walls. These are around 10 years old so some wear & tear. But at a more budget price they still provide everything you need – small kitchen, balcony area, bathtub/shower. These all look out onto small patches of rice fields. The family are a great bunch, friendly & accommodating. If you enjoy art, Wayan Karja is a well known international abstract artist and happy to share his artistic philosophy. All up, I highly recommend a stay at Santra Putra.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AUKKXW08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Ubud Heaven Penestanan
Ubud Heaven Penestanan
#107 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taman Bebek Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#57 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#99 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nirvana Bali
Villa Nirvana Bali
#71 of 526 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bali Asli Lodge
Bali Asli Lodge
#168 of 523 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santra Putra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santra Putra Guesthouse

Property: Santra Putra Guesthouse
Address: Jl. Pacekan 18 | Karja Art Space, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 523 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santra Putra Guesthouse is a family owned business that has operated since 1989. Now a part of Karja Art Space, Santra Putra Guesthouse offers unique experiences of travel, optimizing on the feeling of comfort and homy feeling, blending in and living like a local. A true city detox, away from the hustle-bustle of Ubud, but not too far to reach the center of town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santra Putra Guest House Hotel Ubud
Santra Putra Guesthouse Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing