We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet peaceful morning”
Review of Sri Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sri Bungalows
Ranked #21 of 654 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We only stayed here for one night so i cant say much about the place. Dont expect a lot about the rooms since they are quiet old, the type that no matter how you clean it, it will always look shabby. The bathroom looks dingy too. What makes up for the bad rooms is the view from the pool. You are located next to a rice paddy so it's a breath of fresh air from the usual hotels.
The breakfast served is nothing great but enough to get by the morning pang.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l_neveph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 638 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed on the second floor near the pool in one of the standard room bungalows. It is not really a bungalow but more of a room with a bamboo type roof and flimsy doors. The door is not very secure because you need to lock it with a padlock. The door does not shut all the way. I have no doubt that Ubud is a safe area but anyone can easily break into the room if they wanted.

These doors also allow easy access for mosquitos and ants. There is a net but it smells like old mildew and maybe has never been properly washed. Sleeping was a problem because the bed is as hard as a rock and makes so much noise just by the slightest of movements. If you or your partner moves the noise is so loud that it will cause you to wake. Back aches were a common experience every morning.

There is no TV. Not that we watch a lot of TV but when you pay $56 USD per night it should be included. The refrigerator is small but functioning. The shower and bathroom is pretty outdated and needs a face lift.

The breakfast is fair and adequate. Asian style is tastier than the American breakfast. Location is best aspect of this hotel. However if you look around you find better locations for less prices and overall better sleep. Since I pre-booked for 3 nights we were stuck here. I should have booked only one night and looked for better accommodation afterwards.

The rice fields are nice to look at. It looks so nice from the outside but the inside is another story.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this resort. The booking was for two rooms - one for my husband and I and the other for our daughters, aged 21 and 18. I had asked in advance if our rooms could be side by side and Sri Bungalows duly obliged. We were very fortunate to have the rooms by the resort pool, which our daughters greatly appreciated. Our accommodation included breakfast which was perfectly adequate. The location of Sri Bungalows is ideal and makes walking around Ubud easy. Though from looking at the photos on the website I got the impression that this was in a rural location, but it isn't. The staff were very helpful when I needed a driver. They were also very polite when I came across them around the grounds (though most Balinese are very polite). It was hard to believe how busy it was out on Monkey Forest Rd when it was so quiet in the grounds. I thought this was good value for money, compared to our accommodation in Seminyak.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicholaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

the location of the hotel is in the central of ubud, makes easy to walk around in ubud. This place was nice but i think there are better places for the same price in Ubud.
The room was big but not a good layout, the curtains were too light and transparent and you could hear everything around you too well as the thin wall.
the design was like a country house with no comfort, the bathroom was terrible!
Restaurant and breakfast was awful and very slow. we wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanaka t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The pictures shared for here, along from the description, make it seem much more luxurious than it is. It is nice enough. We had 1 queen and 1 twin bed in our second floor room, a nice balcony and quick access to a pool. Our bathroom was fine and clean, but a little dingy. Our mattresses were pretty terrible. I loved the quiet considering how central it was and appreciated the fridge in our room. The best part is the quick access to the (awesome) monkey forest. Fair warning I anyone stating here that they're doing a lot of construction for additional buildings.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

i stayed 2 nights at this resort, the location of the hotel is good and easy to walk around in ubud but the room i had was not worth the money i paid for.
i mean i could find a lot better room for what i paid for sri bungalows but my room was too plain!
the room was big but not a good layout, the curtains were too light and transparent and you could hear everything around you too well as the thin wall.
the design was like a country house with no comfort, the bathroom was terrible!
there was no amenities, only liquid soap and shampoo on the wall, the water pressure was so low.
the only thing i like was the big terrace with a small rice field but i would not return to stay there or wouldn't recommend anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennybkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed two nights at this excellent small resort in the center of Ubud. Outside the hotel is not impressive, a small restaurant for dining, very tiny lobby with only two chairs for guests. But, after you walk inside the resort then everything turns totally different. A beautiful garden, villa style room, vast area of rice field, acceptable swimming pool. The resort is extremely quiet in night time, you can really sleep and relax inside the resort. The center location means that you are in walking distance to everywhere. This hotel is located at the famous Monkey Forest street which a lot of café, restaurant, and shops. The room is spacious, clean, and have a lot of space to sit. Every room has a terrace, and the deluxe room facing the rice field. The only negative side is the water power in shower. While this hotel is surrounded by the rice field, then you will expect some insects, frog outside the terrace area. The resort is well lite at night time although not too bright, but it is very romantic. This resort also has spa area and yoga area facing a small river at the back of the resort. Overall, this is the best small resort in the center of Ubud. Recommended for those you like to enjoy the rice field but still in walking distance to everywhere.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe room as all these rooms facing the rice field. If you like better view, then choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HARTONO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#61 of 197 in Ubud
631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mawa House
Mawa House
#11 of 654 in Ubud
363 reviews
0 mi away
Lumbung Sari Cottages
Lumbung Sari Cottages
#24 of 615 in Ubud
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#2 of 654 in Ubud
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
0.9 mi away
Green Bird Villa
Green Bird Villa
#23 of 654 in Ubud
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Bungalows

Address: Monkey Forest Street, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 654 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $39 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sri Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Ubud, Sri Bungalows Ubud is an ideal spot from which to discover Bali. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Also within easy reach are Komaneka Gallery, Monkey Forest Ubud, Ubud Market.At Sri Bungalows Ubud, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are business center, 24hr room service, laundry service/dry cleaning, tours, safety deposit boxes.Sri Bungalows Ubud is an ideal place of stay for travelers seeking charm, comfort and convenience in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sri Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Sri Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing