We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sounds good on paper...”
Review of Sri Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sri Bungalows
Ranked #16 of 543 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sounds good on paper...”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I decided to stay at Sri Bungalow after reading the great reviews. It is really a beautiful guesthouse, and I really want to give it 5 star, but I have to be objective. here goes:

the good:
- location. the bungalow is situtated about halfway on monkey forest road, this means that you will be able to walk to monkey forest, restaurants, open stages for traditional dances, all in less than 15 mins of walking each.
- the view. we booked a deluxe suite, which has an amazing view of the rice field. it's a small one, about the size of a football field, but it is nonetheless beautiful. ducks can be seen feeding and wading among the plants, roosters crowing at the crack of dawn.
- breakfast. the breakfast included is at their restaurant, and it was not bad. it comes in a set, not buffet.

the bad:
- basic facilities. for the price we are paying, we felt that some basic stuff should have been provided, such as hair dryer, a box of tissue, toothpaste and toothbrushes, water kettle, safe box in the room etc. not deal breakers, but for much less that we had paid elsewhere in Bali, those basic stuff had been provided and more.
- insects. now, the rice fields are literally at the doorstep of your bungalow suites. as beautiful as it is to lie on your bed and enjoy that view, the abundance of insects at night entering our room wasn't pleasant at all. flies would crawl into our room at night to shed their broken wings and die a few cm from our bed. grasshoppers jumping here and there. trails of ants weaving in and out to consume the dead files. you get the picture. the management could have installed better doors that can seal away the room from the insects, even though they are harmless.
- Internet. the Internet stability and coverage is awful. you can't connect to the wireless anywhere you like in the room. it has to be near the balcony or at the balcony of the suite. perhaps it's only our room, but I don't believe we were that unlucky.

that's all for my review. thanks for reading.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceangeek1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    279
    99
    21
    10
See reviews for
115
243
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Sri Bungalows in Ubud for 5 nights in October 2012. The hotel is simple, and is surprisingly large given its rather small main road presence. It stretches a long way back, with a lovely garden path meandering among the bungalow buildings - mostly 2 upper level/2 lower level units. The grounds include a pool (rated high from swimmers we talked to) and a large rice paddy toward the back. Our rooms and the grounds were immaculately tended. Staff even swept leaves from the dirt among the plantings. Our rooms were simple, but very clean. Our first night we stayed in one of the "suites" at the back. The downside was loud temple chanting somewhere behind us. But it stopped around 10PM or so. The rest of our stay was at a standard room. We were far enough from the street to pretty well mute the road noise. Our rooms had a ceiling fan, AC, and a refrigerator which was stocked with gratis bottled water. Our only complaint might be that lighting in the bathroom was definitely insufficient.

The staff was excellent in all respects to us. Breakfast was served and not a buffet - American, continental, or Indonesian choices which could be mixed or matched as it turned out. WiFi was slow, but always available. Handy for those who can't survive without their internet of Facebook fix.

Sri Bungalows is centrally located in Ubud, with the restaurants and busy nightspots just a few steps away, and just beyond the main part of town and the charming market area. Not far the other way is the monkey forest and tourist shops. All very convenient.

The cost of accommodations was more than reasonable. We were part of a group of 16 people, and were well pleased with this small, friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Book a standard room, as the temple noise near the suites in the rear can be a bit much when you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drsoma24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My parents, my wife, children, my sister's family and I stayed here for two nights ... We had booked three rooms at this property after reading great reviews .... This property is having an excellent central location but still offers benefit of beautifully landscaped gardens and well appointed rooms .. Then why 3 stars ? ... Couple of reasons which are big let-down ... lighting in room very minimal .. so at night very difficult to see properly .. all the more difficult for us because we checked in at night ... it was literally difficult for us to take out stuff from our suitcases... secondly when we looked around for a plug point to charge our gadgets there were none except the mini fridge socket and the shaver socket in the bathroom ... in times of multiple gadgets which travelers carry the management should think our travellers' needs ... Both the room door and the bathroom door have wide gaps .. so people outside can take a peek if they desire ... also you lack privacy even in your bathroom ... and the last but not the least ... CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST included in room price as I had booked through booking.com .. no buffet ... they will serve you ONE small glass of Tang Drink in the name of Orange Juice ... they will count the slices of bread that they will serve you ... precisely two with preserves.. and you need to pay if you want more ... and a small plate with few slices of fresh fruit ... and a tea or a coffee ... never elsewhere in the world have I experienced this attitude from management ... that you are offered restricted quantity for breakfast at the start of the day ... and this was the ONLY place in Bali, where the restaurant staff move around with SQUARE FACES ... in an otherwise friendly island where Hotel staff, drivers, guides, villagers, shopkeepers are friendly and are always smiling ... Pity this hotel loses out on this very important aspect !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vik99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at Sri Bungalows from 24-28 Oct 2012. The 2nd floor deluxe room was huge and very, very clean. While the hotel is in the middle of the very busy Monkey Forest Road, the location of the rooms are quite a walk from the main road and thus was a very quiet place. The room where I stayed was squeaky clean. Inclusive in room price is a daily set breakfast.
Downside: (1) The towels were kinda old. Tourists would love to use fluffy white and nice smelling bath towels; (2) not room amenities such as tea/coffee making facility; (3) not even a paper and pen to write notes; (4) the restaurant staff has very limited english.

Room Tip: Take the 2nd floor rooms with a view of the ricefield
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meryl_Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal Town, Belize
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I love centrally-located hotels that can still be quiet and peaceful, but with nice rooms and bathrooms and genuinely committed staff - this hotel hits all the right buttons. Breakfast is included, and is always high quality, beautifully presented. Balinese people are always nice, but this hotel has trained its workforce well, so they really are a joy to deal with. I really do want to visit Bali again, and yes, this is the hotel I'll choose - why look elsewhere?

Room Tip: I reckon all the rooms are going to be equally good - the grounds are superb and excellently maintai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenBayside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Tanura, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Sri Bungalows and found the rice field and pool view Room 16 to be spacious, clean, cool, comfortable. Breakfasts delicious and service impeccable. The location in the middle of Monkey Forest Rd. was ideal for walking anywhere, and we DID walk. Ubud is not the quiet little sleepy town we remembered, unfortunately, and the thump thump of a nearby bass guitar into the wee hours each night is the only reason I give the Bungalows 4 stars rather than 5. If sleep is a priority, you might consider booking further outside the center of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoWixted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We got a good price on Agoda for this centrally located hotel. Check-in staff was wonderful. But room was moldy. Problems really started when we asked to extend our stay 1 night & inquired if we might be able to get the same rate as we got on Agoda. They refused to show us our Agoda check-in print out--surrendered at check-in, not wanting us to be reminded of what we'd paid. The managers started bad talking my wife right in front of her, as if she couldn't understand what she was saying. When we indicated that we may not stay longer in light of all of this, the staff urged us to clear ou of oir room rapidly, hours before checkout time. All this despite our declared plans to lead tours through Ubud using this hotel! We moved over to Artini 2 cottages--just behind on Jalan Hanoman--& were treated royally there. We do not recommend Sri Bungalows.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaudRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.1 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Bungalows

Property: Sri Bungalows
Address: Monkey Forest Street (Jl. Wenara wana), Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 543 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sri Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Ubud, Sri Bungalows Ubud is an ideal spot from which to discover Bali. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Also within easy reach are Komaneka Gallery, Monkey Forest Ubud, Ubud Market.At Sri Bungalows Ubud, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are business center, 24hr room service, laundry service/dry cleaning, tours, safety deposit boxes.Sri Bungalows Ubud is an ideal place of stay for travelers seeking charm, comfort and convenience in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sri Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Sri Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing