We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar Luna

Bar Luna
Ranked #387 of 724 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Bar, Indonesian, Asian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: A charming, cosy, Bohemian-style cafe that offers an eclectic menu of Balinese and international dishes served with great juices and coffee. Popular for Happy Hour and its well-priced cocktails. Night-times come alive with literary evenings and music. Baby sister of Casa Luna and the Ubud Writers & Readers Festival.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Interesting Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Bar Luna offers an interesting fusion menu with some western dishes and some local indonesian specialities. The highlight of this place is the literary evening they host on a Thursday. The restaurant transforms into a place full of heart as people recite poetry, sing songs and share different elements of the spoken word. I would only visit on a Thursday to experience this and have a meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank citisurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    50
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HAPHAZARD SERVICE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Only two of us, but slow and not gracious with service. food mediocre.
The staff seemed to prefer talking together to serving customers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong sydney nsw
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely duo! Tues night musica!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We actually just went here because we heard there was live music & they certainly didn`t disappoint! It was awesome!!

Actually the key-board singing duo was really fantastic.
She had a really good voice & they were both so nice! He was a wizz on the piano! Wish I got their names so you could call ahead and see when theyre on - I think like once a month (but they have other music on Tuesdays anyways)

We got a free transfer from our dinner restaurant (Ive temporarily forgotten the name, is one of 3 Casa Luna -- Bar Luna &.....?)

I had a nice KILLER COCONUT cocktail but had a sip of their coffee - yum!

Everyones food looked nice too (except we were full already)

Recommend x 10!

Its a civilised Bar that suits all ages

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big surprise...great tasty food with eclectic atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went in for a drink only but when the sky opened we decided to stay for dinner. Starters were good but nothing out of this world, but the main courses were delicious.....best local meal of the trip so far....SUPERB. Really interesting mix of people in for the "poetry" evening.....great people watching!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hamish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A hearty breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We only had breakfast at Bar Luna. ONLY! if you call smoked salmon, eggs, incredible toast and great coffee ONLY breakfast then that is what we had. We were a little early for Ubud but the staff were happy enough to serve us. We started with a couple of great juices and progressed on. It was lovely to sit here facing the street and chat to some of the friendly locals and the new locals from the land of Oz. Seems that life is good here for some older Aussies. who find it hard to make ends meet at home. The iced coffee was a big hit, so we had two! I must say we walked out of there completely stuffed full and didn't bother with lunch. I guess that means that although the prices were a bit higher it evened itself out! Will definitely go back again next time we go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pippyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Luna also viewed

 

Been to Bar Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing