We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Bali Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swasti Eco Cottages
Ranked #51 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Bali Experience”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Our first stop in Indonesia was Bali and we decided to make Ubud, and more specifically the Swasti, our base of operations. We were not diasappointed.

From our authentic Bali hut (we stayed in the 'Dharma') to the dining room, the food, the helpful staff, the garden and of course the pool, it was a perfect welcome to Bali.

The town centre is easily accessible by foot thru the sacred monkey forest or by a side road if you want to avoid the cheeky primates.

If you go to Ubud, Swasti Eco Cottages is a great place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pierre Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    152
    62
    8
    7
See reviews for
174
256
71
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 6 days. The food was great and the cottage lovely with all the important things like good shower and comfortable bed. The Balinese dinner dance was interesting and fun. Staff is warm friendly and helpful. Good value and truly peaceful place.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MNSheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breda Holland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had the most wonderfull stay in Swasti Eco Hotel. Great place, wonderfull staff. Very clean and quiet. We would come back there again. Great restaurant. Out of the bussy center but easy to go there

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mreuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swasti Eco C, Responsable réception at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Google Translation
Merci Breda,
pour les commentaires sur Swasti Eco Cottages. Cela fait chaud au coeur du personel. C'est avec plaisir que nous sommes la pour vous servir

Bon Voyage, et a bientot nous esperons.

Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the traditional rooms, Ketut, during our 4 day stay in Ubud. The room was spacious with a queen bed and a loft, lots of natural light, with a private deck and garden, very clean and had an awesome outdoor shower. We went in October so heat was not an issue, the room did not have AC just a fan, which was fine. The property has beautiful landscapes, the pool is very relaxing and usually quiet. The restaurant is great, amazing food and service, we ate there most of the time and even took a cooking class. The staff was very helful, they assisted us with tours, confirmed reservations and called cabs for us. Location is also perfect, just outside of town, but close enough to walk into town. The monkey forest is just a few blocks down with restaurants and shops along the way. If you need to relax after a day of exploring/shopping definatly visit the spa, we had a couples massage and facials followed by tea and a foot massage. We will for sure stay here on our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesenia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swasti Eco C, Responsable réception at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi Jessq00,
sorry for the delay in responding to your comment.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on our Swasti Eco Cottages.

this kind of comments means a lot to us.

We wish you all the best.

Wayan and the Swasti Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Perfectly situated - a short walk through Monkey Forest. Had to take a taxi to the market though as was a fair way but that was only $5 each way. Easy to catch one at the Monkey Forest car park. Situated in a tranquil lovely town with small restaurants along the road into town. - the copper kettle was our favourite. It was a very quiet time of year which was nice as the town was quiet. Could go to the Leke Laka along the road into town to see Balinese dancing at night.
The hotel is beautiful with lovely gardens and beautiful old style Balinese cottages. The restaurant was lovely but the menu a bit limited. Breakfast was good, not huge but enough. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The spa is excellent - a range of different types of massages on offer - in a separate cottage in the grounds and it was very tranquil. The pool is a bit small but adequate and it was salt water which was great - it also seems that the water was cooler than chlorine. Easy to arrange tours and taxis from the hotel through reception. We had 3 teenagers and they complained about the limited WiFi. We didn't have air conditioner in our rooms which made sleeping difficult in the beginning but one became used to it and I preferred it - one feels more connected to the environment. We had family rooms called Nyoman and Ketut - very nice rooms, very clean. The only negative was it was on the boundary and the neighbour watches TV at 9.30pm every night pretty loudly. Would recommend it - the only place we have had access to recycling and each room had a large container of water to cut out the use of plastic bottles. Yah! Very quiet (if you discount the TV) and beautiful - would stay there again. No hotel taxi into town. For a health conscious and environmentally concerned family/couple - this is the place.

Room Tip: Ketut and Nyoman - family rooms - no air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swasti Eco C, Responsable réception at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi Neil,
sorry for the delay in responding to your comment.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on our Swasti Eco Cottages.

this kind of comments means a lot to us.

We wish you all the best back to Australia.

Wayan and the Swasti Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Swasti is one of those hotels/resorts where you end up with an album of envious photos. It is like staying in a posh, exotic kampong in the middle of the rice fields. We went with "Sandy" bungalow that had 2 extra beds including a loft, small deck and a nice outdoor bathroom. The surrounding neighborhood is very quiet & conducive to a good night's sleep. The swimming pool is perfect for a refreshing dip after a sweaty walk through the nearby monkey forest. The Swasti restaurant is "organic" with an eclectic mix of local & french dishes, much of which comes from their own organic garden. The food isn't "outstanding", but does the job well enough. The included breakfast and coffee was a good start to the day. Hotel had decent wi-fi to help plan the next day's excursions. Rooms/cottages don't have A/C (only fans) but in the cooler hills it is quite comfortable.

Swasti it is actually located on the other side of the monkey forest (but there is a little 5-minute walk of a path that goes around to get to Ubud center, no need to pay to go through each time but look out for the scooters). Visiting the center of Ubud is easy, no need for taxis or scooters. Take a bit of mosquito repellent (goes for most places in Bali anyway). A little exploring and you can "stumble" onto the rice fields from the side path just next to the monkey forest (hint, there is a staircase that goes up past a barrage opening).

A few small drawbacks:
Careful booking on-line notably with other booking agents, they book on a 2-person theory but Swasti will add additional if there are more (even if it fits the bungalow's capacity) - supposedly to offset the included breakfast.
Finally Swasti doesn't take credit cards (& the local ATMs give out money in the equivalent of $5 bills) - keep a stash ready for checkout after the meals and massages. If Swasti had a way to top-up over internet (Paypal or something) it would remove this logistical annoyance.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalows for a change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwasshoppah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swasti Eco C, Propriétaire at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Google Translation
Merci encore
Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

On our honeymoon, we had the pleasure of staying at this fantastic location. Many people comment on how Ubud has become too busy and commercialized. This is not so, for Swasti. It has all of the benefits of being close enough for a trip into town for dinner, shopping, etc..yet, it's location on the opposite side of the Monkey Forest, keeps the 'hustle and bustle' at bay. While we did try eating in town, but we kept coming back to the delicious food, fresh from Swasti's gardens, as they were the best meals we had during our 3 week stay in Bali. The property in laid out like a fantasy garden, with gorgeous bungalow's and structures carefully placed to ensure tranquility. We stayed in 'Sita', which wasn't a bungalow, but was recommended by the impeccable staff via email, before we arrived. As recommended, Sita was the perfect honeymoon choice and was kept in order daily by the tremendous staff (flowers)! We were lucky enough to partake in one of Swasti's special events, involving dancing, great food and wonderful staff. Here, it is oh so easy to see how the owners of Swasti have created a unique and thriving community of fantastic people! There is lots of laughter and fun to be had.

Room Tip: Sita is perfect for couples or romance getaways!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swasti Eco C, Responsable réception at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi J and Laura,
sorry for the delay in responding to your comment.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on our Swasti Eco Cottages. We are so happy for you that your honeymoon has been a memorable and enjoyable for you both, and that we contribute a little bit to it.

this kind of comments means a lot to us.

We wish you both all the best back to Vancouver.

Wayan and the Swasti Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#54 of 196 in Ubud
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 196 in Ubud
592 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#27 of 196 in Ubud
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#55 of 196 in Ubud
900 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#36 of 196 in Ubud
1,027 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#95 of 196 in Ubud
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swasti Eco Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swasti Eco Cottages

Property: Swasti Eco Cottages
Address: Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#25 Family Hotel in Ubud
#37 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swasti Eco Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swasti Eco Cottages is a charming hotel situated in Nyuh Kuning, a small and quiet woodcarver village adjacent to central Ubud (1 hour from the airport), of 14 cottages and bungalows with a swimming pool, an organic restaurant and vegetable garden and an Eco-Spa providing 100% natural treatments. Swasti Eco Cottages is a place of its own, where you will find yourself submerged in local Balinese culture and a family-like atmosphere with Serenity and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Swasti Eco Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swasti Eco Cottage Hotel Ubud
Swasti Eco Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing