We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and comfortable in a beautiful setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swasti Eco Cottages
Ranked #58 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Ashton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Welcoming and comfortable in a beautiful setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed in the Lola cabin and loved it. It was our first experience with an outdoor bathroom and the plants and water pool were lovely. I appreciated all the natural touches and the recycling. The staff were always ready to help and were very accomodating and friendly. The food was delicious, much of it from their own gardens. We attended an evening of Balinese dancing and a traditional Balinese meal was served with the entire staff participating in the festivites. It was great!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    143
    58
    8
    7
See reviews for
166
238
63
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

As expected, Its a basic budget place with nice grounds, but a pretty negative experience overall.

I stayed here with a friend of mine last year and I have to say it was a major disappointment. I understand its an ECO hotel, however, their mismanagement was outrageous. We had booked AND PREPAID for their 2 story house (2 separate rooms, one above and below). When we arrived they said that a family is coming in that day and that they were accommodating them and that we were to go to their Balinese Traditional House. Well, this was already unacceptable as we paid for two separete rooms and then they demand we go to another room we have to now share. To say that the traditional house is spartan is an understatement. a bald lightbulb on the wall and two ok beds with filthy mosquito netting in the "worlds worst summer camp cabin" is more of a better description.

The crazy thing is, not only did they NOT refund us our money for the difference they were arrogant and annoyed that we weren't happy about this change they demanded.

The only reasons we stayed was because all the other hotels in the area were completely sold out and they refused to refund us our money. I wanted this to be a great place, I really did. FYI- I have stayed in Eco Resorts so its not a matter of me not understanding the eco resort culture... They may respond with some sort of excuse, but honestly, the attitude of the owner, and the Three Stooges antics of the staff were unforgivable. Talk about a major bummer, I had high hopes.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, our experience was not getting what we paid for so I can't recommend any room, ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WBolesNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swasti, Owner at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. You mentioned that you had booked and prepaid for your room at Swasti in advance. This is strange because Swasti Eco Cottages never accepts advance payments on bookings here. We do not have credit card machine facilities, which means it's not actually possible to prepay. Swasti Eco Cottages works on a trust system and never asks individuals for pre payment of accommodation in advance.

As we are very focused on making our guests' experience a positive one, we have gone through our bookings for April and May last year to review your experience and we did not find any case like yours, not even a similar one. Two weeks ago we tried to contact you via Trip Advisor, regarding your booking, but there has been no response from your side. Can you please let us know the dates you actually stayed because we have no record of them.

we are also wondering why and what took you so long to make this review as you experienced a strong disappointment in our hotel over a year ago and only write about it now. The staff at Swasti (largely comprising of locals who are very dedicated to their work here) are disappointed you didn't have a good experience and would like to avoid similar experiences happening in the future. but we can't help if the information given in reviews is not able to be verified.
Kind Regards,

Swasti Eco Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have stayed in a deluxe room with a/c for 4 nights. It was a pleasant stay there. 20 min walk to the centre of Ubud, walking through the famous Monkey Forest. Very safe even at night but need a torch. The staff isvery nice and helpful. I like the concept of eco friendly hotel with all products used are natural.
11 of the 14 rooms were occupied by a group of women there for a retreat. Unfortunatly it was not that peaceful and quiet place that it should be when they were all together talking loudly near the pool...
I recommend this hotel, it is good for the mind and good for the planet.

Room Tip: I would choose bungalows in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swasti, Manager at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Lovely guest,

Thanks so much for your beautiful review..
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon in Swasti
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Loved everything about this wonderful hotel! The comfortable rooms with their gorgeous bathrooms and artistic balconies overlook a large salt water pool. Imagine a daily walk through the sacred Monkey Forest - the short walk which takes you to Ubud from lovely Nyu Kuning. Nights at Swasti are filled with sounds of frogs and geckos. Don't miss the special evening with local child dancers and hotel staff as entertainment .

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swasti, Manager at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Lovely couple,

We would like to say thanks so much for your beautiful review,
We are looking forward to see you again in Swasti

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is a nice 'back to nature' hotel. The staff are very firendly, and will often get together for a sing and dance in the restaurant. The grounds are very well tended, the pool is cold and filled with salt water, the walk into Ubud is vey pleasent, and booking tours at reception is hassle free.

The rooms are clean, with comfortable beds. There was no aircon in our room, but it isnt needed, as they are designed to be naturally cool. The bathroom was a decent size, and felt very open, yet undercover, which was great.

The restaurant food is great, with most the produce sourced from the on site organic farm, goats, chickens and rabbits.

Swasti is a 25min walk from Ubud main road. You have to walk through the Monkey Forest (for free) and up Monkey Forest Road. However this is very pleasent. Be warned though, Monkeys see plastic bags as being sources of food. I was ambushed by monkeys for my un-edible bag of souvineers, which I never got back as they disapeared into the trees.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyV83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swasti, Manager at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Lovely guest,

Many thanks for your beautiful review..
We are looking forward to see you again soon in Swasti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

My top ten in Bali! Everything made with love in this beautiful and friendly place!
This place is really gorgeous, the staff very friendly and service-oriented.
I had a wonderful and spacious room upstairs, looking upon the lush gardens and swimming pool. The bathroom (big tub) and the four poster bed was being decorated with fresh flowers every morning. I loved the decorations and lovely details throughout the compound.
Food is very tasty and some of it comes from their own organic garden, depending on the season. There's continental breakfast (two choices) and the restaurant/cafe has a nice lounge-like corner where you can just relax, enjoying the view of the banana trees and palms around.
To Ubud centre you can walk, it's a nice 15 - 20 min stroll leading you through the gorgeous Monkey Forest.
For backpackers / budget travellers or if travelling alone, it may be too expensive (room around 50 EUR per night in low season). But the value for money is excellent and it was indeed the best accommodation during my 3 weeks stay in Bali!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franziska007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swasti, Manager at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Lovely guest,

We would like to say many thanks for your beautiful review..we hope to see you back in the future to Swasti..

Sends lots of loves and sunshine from UBUD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Visiting Ubud for the first time we happened to walk through the monkey forest and further south when we saw the inviting sign of Swasti Cottages . On entering the secluded compound we found a lovely setting of Java houses each privately separated by trees and bushes amidst a manicured lawn and a nice pool. What really mesmerised us was the very inviting ambiente of the restaurant and lounge area, with colours and touches of France mingled with balinese style. We decided to change lodges to this place, just walking distance out of the busy Ubud. We enjoyed every moment there. Only negative as such was the always same bali lounge music almost 24h a day in the restaurant area :-) Food great, pool great(saltwater), service very personal.

Room Tip: There are two storie buildings with rooms available, the Java style bungalows are lovely with outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jungen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Swasti Eco Cottages, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Good Morning from Ubud,

We would like to say thank you so much for your lovely review, our new eco-spa had just renovated with more spacious and still use natural organic product..
We hope to see you soon back to Swasti

Many thanks
Bop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#54 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#53 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#92 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swasti Eco Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swasti Eco Cottages

Property: Swasti Eco Cottages
Address: Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#25 Family Hotel in Ubud
#37 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swasti Eco Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swasti Eco Cottages is a charming hotel situated in Nyuh Kuning, a small and quiet woodcarver village adjacent to central Ubud (1 hour from the airport), of 14 cottages and bungalows with a swimming pool, an organic restaurant and vegetable garden and an Eco-Spa providing 100% natural treatments. Swasti Eco Cottages is a place of its own, where you will find yourself submerged in local Balinese culture and a family-like atmosphere with Serenity and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Swasti Eco Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swasti Eco Cottage Hotel Ubud
Swasti Eco Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing