We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple but good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sari Bamboo Bungalows
Ranked #201 of 640 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stay ten days in a double bungalow and pay 50.000 Rupia per day.
the bed in the first room are a bit too hard but you can ask and when free space you can change the bungalow.
its a nice place, really relaxed and peacefull.
the owner was helpfull and nice.
its not in the citycenter from ubud with the touristmasses.
you can good and cheap eat around the place and you have also many internetcafes who also not so expensive.
when i came back to ubud i sleep here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikosz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

It is quiet, pretty, the owners are peaceful, helpul, kind persons... We went there for 3 nights, stayed there 11. Drivers are conveniently located at a walking distance and we managed to visit many recommended places for a 2 hours drive max. We went there with our 3 children (6YO, 4YO and 1 YO). They enjoyed the garden without -I think- disturbing the other guests.
The hotel offers two individual rooms with bathrooms and three houses I think. If you are looking for occidental levels of comfort it is not the place. But if you are looking for "back to traditions" kind of vacation, this is definitely THE place. Basic comfort is there -hot showers, toilets for every unit, basic kitchen with working fridge and cooking place-. The rooms are very nicely decorated. The pool is perfect with children. The food is delicious and safely cooked. Breakfast is included in the night price. Pay cash only.
Spas are also two minutes away from Sari Bambu, laundry lady very near too -excellent service-.
We loved the place so much that we are going there again next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calice22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is not a luxury location but it has its own character and ambiance. There was no air conditioning or refrig but we knew that when we rented for about 3 weeks. The service was excellent, the staff ever so willing to please and the adjoining restaurant offered deliciously prepared local treats. Breakfast was included. Lots of rice fields in the area to roam about and find spas, restaurants and even some rather picturesque paths to the supermarket.
The walk into downtown Ubud didn't take very long. Load up your local sim card across the street and use it to call a cab as they are so inexpensive and more than a viable option to take you into town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenabun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

With all of Ubud's wi-fi'd cafes, buzzing shops and building mass tourism restaurants, the Sari Bamboo guesthouse is thankfully still unplugged. The most recommendable option here is the home-cooked and healthy food, which owner Martini prepares freshly and in the best of Balinese traditions, but with her own unique touches added. Having come to Ubud to celebrate my birthday, she was more than happy to prepare a birthday feast which left me a little heavier than when I came! Try the vegetarian curries, which are made to order, as well as the any tempeh/tofu dishes. Skip the prawns, however.

The location is also good, being outside of town and up a steep but short hill on Jl Raya Penestanan. It's not so far from Ubud that it's hard to get to, but far enough that it is quiet. The garden and swimming pool are not the most bling'd out you can visit in Ubud (a la Four Seasons or Hotel Tjampuhan or other places with 'infinity swimming pools') but with its tucked away location the heart of the city it is a relaxing place to be.

Finally, there's the understated and respectful Martini, who is a local from Ubud and runs the guesthouse with a small but hardworking staff. While her name is more evocative of the stiff drinks available at Naughty Nuri's Warung, the experience here couldn't be more different.. quiet, relaxed and good for those who are new to Ubud. Most of the other guests we've seen here are female, more mature sanctuary seekers.

The only criticism I have is that their oldest bungalow, a two-floor traditional house, didn't have a great bathroom, and the water pressure/hot water was terribly low. For the same price we paid (Rp300,000), there are probably other places with newer facilities. But for those whom want to feel like they're staying somewhere local, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyLeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Sari Bamboo is a small warung, art gallery and guest house located on the road above Ubud on the way to Penestanan. The Indonesian food is great and very inexpensive. The noodle soup and Nasi Goreng are particularly good

2  Thank catladyPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Nour T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gabriella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.1 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
2.8 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
1.4 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 4 in Mas
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sari Bamboo Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sari Bamboo Bungalows

Address: Jl. Raya Penestanan Kaja | Gianyar 80,571, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $69 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sari Bamboo Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sari Bamboo Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sari Bamboo Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Sari Bamboo Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing