We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a favorite ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kagemusha

Kagemusha
Ranked #136 of 628 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bali
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Still a favorite ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Coming here feels like leaving Bali and going somewhere else. Always appreciate the good homestyle Japanese food with good service. Lunchtimes are quiet and food comes quickly. Usually just you and some Japanese families.

Helpful?
1 Thank indobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    36
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Food - Rude Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My partner and I always visit Kagemusha when in Ubud. Love the food, off the beaten track, but the service is verging on rude. No smiles, just feel that they wanted our money and then to get us out as fast as possible, this visit was just unwelcoming! Dont know if we will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nellie2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food but slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

i like the food here beside the rice field, nice
they got cold noodle, i really like it
teriyaki don also nice

but had to wait for long to get food there even only one table
anyway food is good, deal

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank budix i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretend you're in Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

A real hidden gem... head down a little lane and you can pretend you're in Japan as soon as you step into Kagemusha. The little restaurant plays Japanese music, the guests are Japanese, the place is run by a lovely Japanese lady who has taught her Balinese staff a little Japanese language. THE FOOD... oh my yumminess. I highly recommend the wakame (seaweed) salad, Squid grilled sticks (MY FAVE), pork grilled sticks (a bit salty but great), sake on the rocks, warm soba with tempura and agedashi dofu (best I've tried in Bali).
Kagemusha is my new favourite restaurant in Ubud.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MishieLah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A favourite for japanese food and a fill of sake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Hidden away behind the main shops but do yourself a favour if you like Japanese food and want something different from Sushi. it has a great atmosphere, friendly staff and owner in the kitchen cooking away madly.. the food is great and not expensive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kagemusha also viewed

 

Been to Kagemusha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing