We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #392 of 555 Ubud B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet location”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, great staff, but the location isn't great. There are hotels for a bit more (+$15) that provide way more amenities, pool and a/c. The location is not suitable for walking alone at night unless you know the area well. Only two restaurants are close by down the paddy fields, and everything else is a bit farther into town. I liked the property, but for this price wouldn't return now that I've seen what else is in and around Ubud.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    24
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
50
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Easy to book, the staff are warm and helpful and the location is just beautiful... It's important to note that the charm of Sawah Sunrise is that it is in the middle of the rice fields, this means that it is about 500m from Jalan Raya and the footpath might be difficult for the elderly or disabled. Also, if you happen to be a fussy sleeper and the sound of frogs, cockerills, dogs, cats and, of course, ducks is likely to keep you awake then perhaps this isn't for you. We have travelled to Ubud many times in the last 20 years and this is, quite simply, the best accomodation we have stayed in. The breakfast is wonderful and the staff can't do enough to help, but... get there while you can. The footpath that leads to Sawah Sunrise used to be simply that - a footpath. Since our last visit two years ago there has been a huge amount of development in the fields around Sawah Sunrise and beyond. The footpath is now used more by motorcycles carrying building materials than by people working in the fields. Unless the pace of development slows Sawah Sunrise is likely to find itself completely surrounded by holiday accomodation, the access path a tarmac road and the rice fields a distant memory - for more, check out my review of Ubud...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-Kajang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid october 2012 and would thoroughly recommend it.

We booked online which was an easy process. Deposit paid on PayPay and good communication with the Owner (Mary). We arranged an Airport pickup (250,000) and Mr. Suma was waiting for us as we exited the airport.

The Room was great. Very comfortable bed and pillows - which is always well appreciated after a long flight. The room was clean, as was the bathroom and towels. The staff cleaned the room each day.

Having breakfast on bought to the balcony each morning was a lovely touch and the food was good.

Although we had been warned that we might want to bring earplugs due to the roosters - they weren't needed. Oddly enough they seemed to be at their loudest in the afternoon.

They staff were friendly, but not "in your face". The location is also great. Its only a 5 min walt to the town, and the walk through the rice paddies is really beautiful (bring a torch though as its a bit dark at night)

We will definitely return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_and_Andi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place is awesome! A little hidden gem in the rice fields. It's still very close to the town on the rice field track. So, it's perfect to relax. The staff is super helpfull and nice! I was totally surprised by the excellent brekkie. And I loved their cats and dogs strolling around. I didn't mind the roosters next door at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our tour guide (Halo Bike Tours - see other review) told us that Sawah means Rice Fields in Balinese, and this B&B is perfectly named because it looks over gorgeous, green fields of rice. It's about 10-15 minutes down a little foot path to town. The bread with breakfast tasted homemade, and the fruit and yogurt were delicious.

Our room was very clean and nicely decorated, and the fan kept us (mostly) cool. It was a great value! Best of all, our hosts were kind enough to arrange transport for us - on the way in, we were picked up from the airport and taken to Tanah Lot before heading to Ubud, and they also arranged for us to be taken back to the airport when we left. We felt so much more comfortable with the manager's nephew (who's a great driver in Balinese traffic) than with one of the drivers offering his services downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDillinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

10 minutes wending up and around a well-trodden, motor bike path into the paddy fields is Sawah Sunrise. We had a spacious fan-cooled room with a nice tiled ensuite and our own terrace into the garden. So nice to be in amongst it after the sanitary modern hotel on the coast. The breakfast was great, the environment serene and all in all a great find within easy wallking distance of Ubud back down the path or meander further up the rice paddy walk to check out a couple of art galleries, a couple of restaurants dotted along the way and the traditional farming lifestyle, We organised a day trip with their driver and transport to the airport at 5.15 when it was time to go home - all so easy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardolino, Italy
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spend here 4 nights and it was wonderfull! The rooms are big, clean and cozy; the view on the rice fields is magnificent. It is located only 10 minutes walk from Ubud center and traffic. The staff is really frendly and efficient; they can also help to organize small tour, transfer to Denpasar airport or rent a motorbike. We are really missing the deliciuos breakfast, served next to the door, on terrace. There isn't internet but sometimes is even better, you are forced to relax.
Absolutelly recommanded!!!

p.s. I wouldn't suggest to go to the near SPA Cantika (too expensive and not so relaxing atmosphere) or to the near Organic Restaurant (the kitchen floor was so dirty and food was terrible)!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madteo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#176 of 198 in Ubud
134 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
1.4 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#90 of 198 in Ubud
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Abangan Bungalow
Abangan Bungalow
#155 of 198 in Ubud
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#105 of 198 in Ubud
324 reviews
1.8 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#54 of 198 in Ubud
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast
Address: Jalan Subak Sok Wayah, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast is a beautiful home located in central Ubud village. Our tranquil garden accommodation, set amid centuries-old cultivated rice fields, is off the beaten path yet still an easy 10 minute walk from all Ubud attractions: restaurants, museums, temples, spas, the traditional market and royal palace. Each of our 4 guest rooms offers stunning views, en-suite bath with hot water, and private balcony for relaxing to the sights and sounds of Balinese farming life.Sawah Sunrise is a "secret garden" in Ubud's tourist center, with all amenities and luxuries within reach. Our Balinese host family will welcome you and assist with all of your holiday needs: tours, rentals, transportation and special requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawah Sunrise Hotel Ubud
Sawah Sunrise Bed And Breakfast
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing