We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity on high altitude” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Awang Awang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Awang Awang
Ranked #62 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Landskrona
1 review
“Serenity on high altitude”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Being a family of two adults, a boy and a girl ( 6 and 4 years old ) we loved staying at Villa Awang Awang with its spacious and tasteful interior. A stunning view from the balcony overlooking the untouched nature and sunset in sight. The food was delicious, and the staff was very kind and attentive. The transport service offered by the house was efficient and smooth.
We all enjoyed the beautiful pool, were the children could stay in for hours.
After our daily Bali adventures it was a delight to return " home " to Awang Awang.

Urban Claréus
Pumpans .com

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Urban C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    54
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
122
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed in late January in the Villa Beji. Accomodation was luxurious yet homely, inside and out. The staff were unfailingly caring and attentive. You would expect all of this from a luxury hotel in Ubud, but you get much more when you stay at Villa Beji.
Such as the opportunity to swim in your own refreshingly cool infinity pool with the sound of the river rushing below and eating a different home-cooked breakfast each morning. Like being chauffeured into town and being safely escorted back to your room when you return from dinner.
Staying at Villa Beji you have the privilege of experiencing life in a rainforest environment (Tokay Geckos and all) in a small traditional village, and being cared for by what feels like an extended family in what could be your own home.
If you are looking for a flashy resort experience such as you will find in abundance all over Bali, this property might not be for you. If however, you are looking for a truly unforgettable travel experience I can’t recommend Villa Beji enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carpetshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our holiday was a shared one with our adult daughter. The Villa had two bedrooms with separate ensuites and balconies which enabled private space for all. The surroundings were lush and beautiful, friendly and helpful staff were always at hand when required and when we dined out and returned to the villa were waiting with torches and umbrellas to escort us safely to our villa. A morning walk led by a staff member through the local village and rice paddies was an unforgettable experience. I read with interest the negative comments regarding the geckos. We enjoyed their sounds which were minimal and considered this as part of the experience. The private pool and pavillion overlooking the lush valley with the sound of the river running deep down below was just heaven for a swim and relaxation to rest and read.

Room Tip: We had the Villa Beji which had airconditioned bedrooms. Downstairs was a kitchen, sitting room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our stay at this villa was part of a family holiday to Bali. Firstly I should say that the villa is very beautiful and relaxing by day. Sitting out on the balcony and reading and watching the sunsets were wonderful. However we had a few issues when it came to night time which made our stay somewhat unpleasant.

The primary problem with this villa is the open nature of the ceilings - there is a large open gap which runs between the top of the walls and the ceiling which runs around all of the bedrooms (apart from one which had its' own aircon). What this means is that bugs, flying insects and spiders are free to roam around while you sleep. We are not particularly squeamish people but it is hardly relaxing when you are lying in bed and can feel things crawling on you. The villa has attempted to solve this problem by attaching fabric to the four-poster beds which you need to tie up every night - the problem is that there are gaps in these even when tied which still allows room for things to fly around. Further, once this fabric is tied around the bed it becomes very hot and stuffy - and seeing as you are already in a hot climate this makes for very very uncomfortable sleeping. Yes, there is a fan - but what good is it when the top of the bed is covered and you are sleeping in a little hot box? Basically we hardly slept the whole time we were there. My youngest step-daughter slept even less when after the first night she awoke to a giant spider crawling on her bed.

The second problem with this open wall design is privacy - if you want to use the bathroom or if you want to have some private "mum and dad" time - forget it - everyone in the villa can hear everything you do (unless they are on another level of the villa at the time). We have stayed in other villas throughout Asia which solve this problem simply by either 1) installing glass over these gaps and adding aircon or 2) installing wooden shutters and adding aircon.

There were a few other minor irritations as well - such as breakfast which states is made fresh to order in the morning. However - when it came to breakfast time several things I wanted were not available. Then when I ordered one type of eggs and my stepdaughter another type, they asked my husband what he would like to which he replied an omelette - then they just brought out a giant omelette for all of us to share which was not at all what we ordered. We found this very frustrating as we have fussy kids to feed. I don't understand why they do not take your breakfast order the evening before so that they can provide everything you want and make sure they have ingredients for things they do not.

We had a few extra drinks added to our tab because there doesn't seem to be a system for keeping track of drinks. For example, at dinner they put some beers and soft drinks in the fridge. Then someone would come and randomly take them away in the morning - and somehow these were added to our tab. We couldn't be bothered arguing about it in the end so we just paid but thought that a real mini-bar system might be more useful.

Dinners in the villa were nice and transport was always easy to arrange. The pool was always very very cold however as it never really gets any sun. The servicing of the villa was always expertly timed so that it was all complete once we had breakfast which was very good.

Overall we think the villa has potential if some improvements to comfort could be made.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMandBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Anila, Owner at Villa Awang Awang, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are rather surprised to just receive a review now for a stay which took place almost a year ago in March 2012.
We do appreciate guests taking the time to share their experiences, and to offer suggestions for improvements, but perhaps comments are less than helpful or accurate when made so long after the event.
The open style of the upper level building may not suit everyone but most guests tell us that the unique soaring roof, the openness to nature and the fresh air are some of the attractions for them. They choose to forego the mundane glassed-in, boxed up and shuttered. The villa is designed to cool by cross breezes from the river; it is situated at higher altitude than Ubud and is always cooler. If the doors are left ajar and the ceiling fans are on it is often cool enough at night to need a blanket.
Two bedrooms with their own en-suite bathrooms are situated on the lower level; both have regular closed ceilings. Of the 3 upstairs bedrooms, the main with it’s own en-suite is situated by itself on one side of the house. The other 2 bedrooms are on the far side of the expansive living area and separated by a large bathroom.
We do not nor have we ever had 4 poster beds.
The strange fabrics you describe are regular mosquito nets used throughout Asia to let air circulate and keep insects out, and are considered very efficient.
Unfortunately tropical Asia is not without insects. If an odd one is a bother, the staff are on hand to promptly remove it. Happily Balinese spiders are less prevalent and harmless to humans, unlike some of their Melbourne cousins.
Our kitchen is usually well stocked, occasionally something may not be available e.g. mango when not in season.
We do now have a breakfast order form which guests can give to the staff the evening before.
The fridge drinks are counted and re-stocked every morning during housekeeping. I am sorry you decided you couldn’t be bothered to bring the issue of the drink charges to our attention- we would not dream of arguing with a guest.
The infinity pool faces west, and in clear weather receives full sun from 11 am until sunset.
We regret that we did not meet your expectations, however we continually strive to provide guests with an enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything about Villa Awang Awang was fantastic. Beautiful location, friendly staff, gorgeous fresh food, idyllic location but it was slightly spoilt by extremely loud geckos that kept us up all night on day one and day three. The staff removed two of the geckos after the first night but one reappeared on the last night and despite staff crawling around our roof at 10:30 pm the gecko managed to to find its way to the bedroom next to ours and keep my brother up all night. The noise was unbearable and really effected our stay in Ubud because of lack of sleep. We have stayed in Ubud before and usually geckos don't bother us as we have them in our house at home but these large spotted lizards were extremely loud. The manager told us he had spoken to the owner and agreed they needed to fix the problem.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick9d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Anila, Owner at Villa Awang Awang, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are so very sorry that your stay was spoilt by the Tokay gecko.They are such beautiful creatures and very helpful in keeping the area mosquito free but unfortunately they are very noisy in mating season . We have now solved the problem and we hope you will stay again- we can promise you quiet nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Villa Awang Awang in the last week of December with our family of 13! We loved the place for the superb views, the layout of the villa, which is very spacious and tastefully done.
The placement of pool is fantastic. The breakfast provided was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful, and they catered to all our needs with a warm smile.
They organised tours for us and drove us to and fro frm Ubud many times a day which was very convenient.
We loved the early morning rice field walks on which a member of the staff accompanied us.
In all a fantastic stay! And we will return soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashwini_Oza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the little precious gem called 'Awang Awang' in 2010 and the memory of the stay is still fresh & exciting. We were celebrating our first year anniversary & couldn't have picked up a better location! The place is truly magical. Its hidden in the rainforest with spectacular views.
The infinity pools are a delight. The staff and the food were fab. All in all, its probably "the" place to be while in Ubud. Go.

Room Tip: There are two villas. One large and the other smaller. We stayed in the smaller with two rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tejassanghvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.3 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#65 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#37 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#22 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
2.4 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Awang Awang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Awang Awang

Property: Villa Awang Awang
Address: Jalan Melayang, Ubud 90571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ubud
#32 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#48 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#54 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Awang Awang 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nurture body and soul in a luxury villa.A choice of 1 , 2 ,4 or 5 bedroomed villas Situated ten minutes drive from Ubud, the cultural centre of Bali, overlooking the sacred Petanu River and lush tropical jungle. It is designed according to ancient traditions. 14 Staff include a masseuse, chef, and driver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Awang Awang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Awang Awang Hotel Ubud
Villa Awang Awang Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing