We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmoshpere and friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Awang Awang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Awang Awang
Ranked #62 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Great atmoshpere and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

Great place to stay with amazing views. Close enough to Ubud and with a driver supplied it is easy to get around. Helped out a lot when trying to plan our trip during the days, and also helped us when looking for good places for dinner. While when we wanted to stay in the Chef on premises made amazing food! Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scadlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    54
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
122
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

overall we were very happy with awang awang. location is fine if you have a driver to take you around ubud. view is into the river gorge which i think is not quite as nice as rice field views but everyone has their preference. service is excellent - more of a hotel feeling than a villa feeling, which is appreciated. decor and quality of the villa is ok but not stunning i.e. i've seen places which much nicer stuff in them. value seems fair, not a steal by any means but not a rip off. Most important, its one of the few villas with just two bedrooms, so if you just have two couples traveling it works out well. only bad moment was a massive ant attack. beware and dont leave any food at all outside.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonofabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

If you want to have one of the best experiences in your life, you should stay here.
Magnificent place, breathtaking surroundings and the best service you can ever get. Above everything, you feel that you're in good and reliable hands.
We were missing a mosquito net to be able to let the windows be open during the night to use the pleasant freshness of night air. For guests coming from urban areas, they should expect a sleepless night due to all animal signals during the night!
We could have also planned to stay longer if the information sent after the booking had been placed in your website prior to the booking.
We will definitely stay much longer at your villa and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elham032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

As a rural contrast to our previous hectic 4 days in busy Seminyak in a luxury villa, we found awangawang to be a beautiful peaceful haven. The architecture and spaces of the villa are magnificent with the constant sound of the river below, beautiful lush gardens, frogs, geckos and fireflies at night. The feeling of proximity to nature and the peaceful local village are palpable. Staff were smiling, friendly and capable of orgainising the activities we needed for our two nine year olds [white water rafting, elephant rides at Taro and local cycling tours]. Internet access was good during our stay. Kitchen is rudimentary at present and beds/soft furnishings could use an upgrade but the reason to choose this property is not for 5 star luxury but to commune with a beautiful natural environment and community away from the bustle of Ubud

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank POPs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anila1, Owner at Villa Awang Awang, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the villa . Unfortunately , though beautiful , the Bali climate is very hard on furniture and furnishings. We do have an on-going maintenance program to regularly replace items. In March the villa was painted throughout , the furniture replaced and new curtains hung . I am sure on your next visit you will appreciate the new decor .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

If you want to get back to nature - this is the place for you!
This magnificent villa is set on the side of the valley in a quiet village about 10 mins from Ubud. The villa has a very open air feel as the valley side is open to nature.
The friendly staff are on hand to provide scrumptious meals, top up your supplies, provide transport etc. Nothing was too much trouble.
The villa was very comfortable, with plenty of room for 2 families to spread out. A great base to come back to each night. to relax, watch the fireflies and just enjoy the quiet peaceful surroundings.
A truly wonderful holiday destination.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gottagotobali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

We had a family gathering at Villa Awang Awang for Christmas - Six adults. The Villa was gorgeous and ideal for a large group of adults. The staff were friendly and efficient and dealt with the odd problem courteously and promptly. We enjoyed the food prepared by the staff, including a beautiful 'Bali B-B-Q' for Christmas lunch, trips into Ubud and a day trip to the local sights. Only wish we had a longer to stay to enjoy some other the other activities.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ace021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nannup, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

On our previous visits to Bali we stayed in a hotel in the major tourist areas by the beach. To celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, however, we chose a villa in a more romantic and secluded area near Ubud. Villa Beji is the smaller of the two villas at Villa Awang Awang in the village of Melayang, a 10 minute drive from Ubud. The villa clings to the side of the jungle clad Petanu River gorge. The villa was as depicted on the website and was of generous proportions, with two large double bedrooms, an open plan living area opening on to a lush garden and a generous plunge pool tiled with local stone. In house meals were excellent and the free shuttle into Ubud worked well.

Our principal disappointment was the lack of privacy for what was supposed to be a romantic hideaway. The path and stairs around two sides of the compound gave a commanding view into the courtyard and pool area. Staff and builders working on the spa being developed on site seemed to make a point of looking in every time they passed. The gateway leading to the front door could not be locked from the inside (nor is there a bell) and on a couple of occasions we were surprised to suddenly find a staff member standing next to us. We got used to the village priest appearing without warning every morning to place the Hindu offerings on our upper balcony.

There were some maintenance issues: the television did not work during our entire stay and there was no indication of any effort to repair it – the decoder box was on a shelf in the pantry; the gas bottle for the hot water system was empty for our arrival - a discovery made with a cold shower; the light in the downstairs toilet did not work and despite asking for a full complement of towels twice (pool and hand towels) we spent the last two days of our stay with just a bath towel each.

It is a beautiful place to stay, but while the villa is located in a spot considered secluded that should not be confused with private.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Numbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anila1, Owner at Villa Awang Awang, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
I am sorry that you were disappointed in some aspects of your stay.We have never promoted either of the villas as secluded , romantic hidaways. Most guests choose to stay with us to experience the wonderful scenery and to see a side of Bali which tourists are not normally priveleged to see. The valley side is totally open to nature in order to enjoy the lovely views. There are so many places to stay in Bali where guests have total privacy but the view is of a stone wall . We do appreciate that guests have different needs for privacy - it is mentioned in the villa information folders that one only needs to let the manager know if they do not wish staff to enter the villa .. One party of guests requested that the priest not place offerings due to their religious beliefs but most guests have found it a special experience to gain such an insight into traditional Balinese life . I apologize for the lack of cable television due to a failure of a providor . This is now rectified and because of your experience we have also installed a mechanism so that the villa gate can now be barred from the inside . I noted that you only ticked 3 / 5 for value for money. You chose to stay in a 2 bedroomed villa normally occupied by a families or 2 couples .Our rates are based on 4 person occupancy and as such , we believe very good value . Thank-you for giving us the opportunity to rectify any shortcomings .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.3 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#65 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#37 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#22 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
2.4 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Awang Awang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Awang Awang

Property: Villa Awang Awang
Address: Jalan Melayang, Ubud 90571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ubud
#32 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#48 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#54 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Awang Awang 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nurture body and soul in a luxury villa.A choice of 1 , 2 ,4 or 5 bedroomed villas Situated ten minutes drive from Ubud, the cultural centre of Bali, overlooking the sacred Petanu River and lush tropical jungle. It is designed according to ancient traditions. 14 Staff include a masseuse, chef, and driver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Awang Awang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Awang Awang Hotel Ubud
Villa Awang Awang Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing