We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place of dreams”
Review of Toya Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Toya Retreat
Ranked #219 of 666 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2011

What a beautiful place, in a surreal location.

Me and my boyfriend stayed 5 nights in Hanoman. The actual plan was 3 night, but we extend with 2 more nights. It was beyond our expectations! Everything has been designed, created and build with eye for detail. The rooms are peacefull and beautifull.
I was treated like royalty. The very kindly staffing, service was top! and the food delicious, every day was a surprise.

I would definitely go back and stay again but longer.

We definetly recommend this great experience to everybody who wants to have a great experience and the best food in Bali.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogini-Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 46 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2011

We've been soooooooooo luck in choosing Toya Retreat! We spent 5 days in heaven, I was very pleased because I've been planning this trip for ages and had wonderful services over there, the rooms and the ambiance were very meditative all very clean and tidy. The staff all of them very professional and helpfull, I felt at home. I highly recommend this Retreat for any couple as it is also very romantic!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashti01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We booked four nights at Toya Retreat. When we arrived at Toya, nobody welcomed us. We had a bad feeling about this. The room that I booked is Arjuna Room, they prepared difference Hanoman Room. We asked staff, they just said "it's no problem Hanoman is better than Arjuna". But it's lie. We Looked at Arjuna rooms it was in ruins. There are moldy mattress in the bed room and sofa in the open living room, broken air conditioners, dozen of spider nets, dusty floor and so on.. TOYA have three rooms but it seems out of use without Hanoman. The Hanoman has no air conditioner, they also said "it's no problem, nighttime is cool" ,yes, temperature goes down in the nighttime, but humidity goes up and there are full of moldy smell it's makes us sick. And staffs are amateur, not professional. So we stayed only first night and cancelled another three nights. We ran away from TOYA to central ubud next morning...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kokopalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

If you would like to experience the real Bali, you have to go to Toya!

After a ride through small villages, rice paddies and local workers you will arrive into the middle of nowhere, Toya. The moment you enter through the main doors, you are entering paradise, You will be amazed with the beautiful view, the garden, the pool and the rooms. The days you are staying here will be days of complete relaxation

During the day you can relax in the garden, swim in the pool and enjoy the wonderful view.

At night you will really notice that Toya is located in the jungle, The noise of Frogs and Geckos is wonderful. Don't be surprised if you find a frog in your room, because everything is open during the day, they sometimes come in!

One family is running this little resort. Because we where the only guest at the moment we had the luxury of having a private resort.
They provide optimal service, in the morning you will find a pot of coffee or tea in front of your door. The breakfast is very basic, but good, fresh fruit, toast eggs. The lunch is a simple dish but very tasteful. The most special part is the dinner, if you would like to taste the real Balinese Kitchen, You will have to eat here. Not that you have a choice, because you are still in the middle of nowhere. The dinner includes three dishes (fish/meat and vegetables) with rice. All very tasty!

So if you would like to see the authentic Bali, and like to experience the Jungle, are not afraid of bugs, frogs, gecko's etc. you have to come here! a real paradise

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vriesericde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Hummm.
Hard to exactly describe the place.
When we arrived, we fell in love. It was paradise. The tranquility, the amazing view, the beautiful pool, the wonderful vegetation. Butterflies were everywhere. And the house is done is such style!
BUT
As soon as night fell....paradise became hell. Weird jungle noises, the smell of old humidity on the bedsheets, and the apple-sized spiders! I swear, on the first night, sitting on my pillow, a spider like you only see in horror movies. After that, each night we saw its sisters crawling in. We even left a day early because it was'nt relaxing to go spider hunting every night before bedtime.

But again, the daytime is wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philippespointofview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Toya retreat is a beautiful little gem, hidden in a small village about 20 minutes from Ubud. There is no traffic, no loud music and noise, just the sounds of nature. It is the perfect place for relaxation.

The villas are beautiful and the staff are incredibly friendly. The food is plenty and of very good quality. All in all it is very good value for money.

We booked the package with the driver who took us to small villages, rice fields, temples and showed us the best places for bargain shopping, away from the crowds.

I highly recommend this place for a relaxing and authentic Bali holiday. It is absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

After so many trips on business and holidays to many countries in SouthEastAsia i thought I had seen it all - but Bali is a totally different experience in its own right, spiritual and here at the same time and I cannot think of a better place to experience its beauty and spirituality than Toya Retereat. We felt in adifferent world,a world we had longed for - and there it was. Privacy, beauty, old fashioned"normal" luxury, and the kindest people in the world to take care of you and your needs, always there but never in your way - infinitely discreet and open for your wishes. Everything else has been already said in the other statements and I can full heartedly confirm them. Go there and enjoy it, but not when I want to be there. :))

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,874 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
5.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 5 in Mas
153 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toya Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toya Retreat

Address: Sumita, Ubud 80511, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 666 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $218 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toya Retreat is an authentic and almost untouched paradise of exotic culture, rich in art and natural beauty. This private retreat, in central Bali in indonesia, combines authentic Balinese traditions with modern lifestyle and facilities. Toya-bali is the beginner of the paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toya Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing