We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Places like this are the reason I holiday in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Toya Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Toya Retreat
Ranked #259 of 527 Ubud B&B and Inns
Woodend, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Places like this are the reason I holiday in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We loved the Toya Retreat, it is the 'real' Bali, I would wake every morning and be stunned by the view, it truly is paradise. Toya overlooks a valley thick with tropical forest, you feel a million miles away and so quiet, all you can hear are bird and animal calls. We are a family of 4 (kids aged 7 and 4) they loved the pool and garden. The food is fabulous (included in price), I went home with a case of clean clothes because the laundry I put in the laundry basket was just whisked away and done (included in price). We had a day out with a driver, visited a temple, a spice garden and monkey forest and shopping in Ubud (1 day transport included in price). It was so incredibly relaxing, not having to think about meals or going anywhere, just enjoying the magnificent pool and taking in the magnificent view was fabulous. Having a little frog appear in our room just adds to the fun, you are in the jungle for goodness sake, that is what makes it so special. Mosquitos weren't a problem because of the nets, their weren't many mosquitos around anyway. The weather as with everything was perfect. My only discomfort was the incredibly hard bed! But I find this is a consistent throughout Bali not just at Toya, maybe I'm just getting old! Having the wonderful masseuse come every day helped with the aches and pains ($8 an hour). My only other advice would be to take some drinks with you if you like anything specific as drinks options were very limited. Nyoman's fresh fruit juices where incredible though, and so accommodating, we didn't realize it until afterwards but we asked for mango juice and she went and bought the mangoes specially during our breakfast because she didn't have any left. I would recommend the Toya to anyone, especially couples looking for a quiet get away, having said that our kids loved it for the 4 days we were there, if we had of stayed longer they probably would have been looking for some activities but I'm sure if I had have wanted to arrange a nanny to keep them entertained for little expense I could have.

Room Tip: The Hanoman suite was huge and comfortably accommodated the 4 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KylieMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Toya Retreat for 3 glorious nights in July 2012. The setting, facilities and atmosphere were world class and we quickly reached the decision that we would spend our time there doing absolutely nothing except to relax and enjoy. Bibit, Nyoman and their family made us feel very much at home and the meals Nyoman prepared were a constant delight. We intend returning at some time in the not too distant future and have no hesitation in recommending Toya to anyone who wants a truly relaxing, unique Balinese experience.
Congratulations Alessandro for your vision in the presentation, and your commitment to the preservation of the grandeur of Toya Retreat. Bob DS

Room Tip: Every room offers magnificent views....we stayed in Hanoman. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

PURE MAGIC. We recently stayed at Toya Retreat (June 17 - 20) for 3 unforgettable beautiful nights and fell absolutely in love with this place.

We chose Toya because after a day in the loud crazy south, we were after a genuine Balinese experience, and were overwhelmed by how close this secluded retreat came to being paradise. In fact, when we first arrived, we couldn't believe it - because every aspect and moment on was PARADISE on earth.

I've travelled to many places around the world, and there is no place as stunningly gorgeous and magically harmonising asToya - from the astounding open air authentically balinese architecture and perfectly maintained gardens, the divine infinity pool, the spacious charming suite and equally jaw-dropping beautiful balcony (the BEST balcony in this world taking you to the green jungle) all set in the peaceful secluded calmness and serenity of the lush jungle and rice terraces to the tranquilising trickle of water wherever you go to the family who runs the place (Bibit and Nyoman and their 3 beautiful daughters) to the BEST freshly made and prepared delicious balinese food (thanks Nyoman!!) - this is truly a special and unique place, unlike anywhere else.

We owe Bibit's family for creating a literal utopian Balinese experience for us - never before have we seen so much pure beauty and magic and felt so much harmony and serenity ever before on a holiday.

Whatver it is that you do to keep this local place (which does not even have a sign) running and secluded and in a true sense, authentically Balinese, keep doing it!!! :)

We're simply overjoyed to have stayed here even for 4 short days and 3 nights, and cannot wait to return.

THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!!! Especially to Bibit and Nyoman - always shining and always smiling :)

Room Tip: The Hannoman suite is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janette_Chung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I had booked at Toya for 1 night during our 8 night stay in Bali.
Bibit picked us up from Seminyak at noon for our journey and on arrival, Bibit's wife, Nyoman offered to cook us lunch.

We had booked the Hanoman suite. The room was very large with a view to die for.
The room now has a airconditioner installed though we didn't need to use it.
A mosquito net was placed over the king size bed.

Toya is all about setting and we were impressed. The pool was large and we could not resist having a dip.

That evening, Nyoman stunned us with an extensive spread for dinner. We felt very spoilt.
The gardens and surrounds are stunning promoting what proved to be a very relaxing stay.
We spend all our time laid out on the sun lounges next to the pool or relaxing on the beautiful day bed.
Morning coffee was enoyed on the balcony and it was delicious.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Toya and would recommend the retreat to anyone who wants to get away from it all (and don't mind a few bugs).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupleDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stayed 3 night end of August in Hanoman ( Package Relaxation)

After several days spent in the crowd of Kuta/Legian/Seminyak, we eventually expected a true Balinese experience. We found it in Toya Retreat.
Bibit and Niohman (the family in charge of Toya) gave us the best picture of Bali and their full attention. The food was absolutely delicious (thanks again to Niohman).
The place is indeed remote and in the middle of the “Jungle”. Look like the time stopped there. We felt kind of back in the time with aging stones, moss and lively fauna.
It is definitely part of the charm and far from sterilized hotel that you could find either in Cancun, Phuket, Borracai or Seminyak.
Hope this comments will reach understanding travelers.

Cheers

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makfly115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We spent 2 glorious nights and 3 lazy days here in August, 2011. We were lucky enough to be the only guests at the time and stayed in the Hanoman suite. While the drive off the "main" road of this lovely village, Sumita, is unassuming (there is not even a sign indicating Toya!), there is a wonderful sense of serenity when you pass through the traditional entrance and into the beautiful gardens and buildings of Toya. The view from anywhere is gorgeous, not least from the pool area and from our suite, both overlooking a deep ravine, with sounds of a gushing torrent below, and the forests and rice fields opposite.
And then there is the staff: Delightful Bibi will most likely pick you up at the airport and you will see him around the gardens, and on Tuesday afternoon, in his local soccer team uniform in the village in the evening after a game! His lovely wife Naomida organises the kitchen, and her food is stunning - genuine Balinese dishes, freshly prepared and served. We also met their eldest daughter, Wayan, who offered to perform some Balinese dancing with friends from her dance school, and which we enjoyed the following evening (with no expectation of payment). We felt privileged to stay at Toya with such lovely people and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dccb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed at Toya Retreat for 3 nights, and absolutely loved the tranquility. The view from the bungalow's terrace and from the swimming pool is stunning. Just as we hoped it would be. We liked the open air feel of the bungalow. The staff, Bibit and Nyoman, were very friendly and took good care of us. The breakfast includes a big bowl of fresh fruit and eggs any style you like. But if you ask for banana pancake, Nyoman will be happy to make them for you. We left the choice for dinner up to Nyoman, and each day we were pleasantly surprised by the quantity and quality of the food. So, if you are looking for peace and tranquility, this is the place to visit. But if you like to watch the rural life, just walk out of the gate and walk along the small road where there are lots of small woodcarving businesses.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaliLovers047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
4.3 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.4 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
2.7 mi away
Swarapadi Villa
Swarapadi Villa
#115 of 527 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
16.0 mi away
Karmagali Suites
Karmagali Suites
#4 of 134 in Sanur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toya Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toya Retreat

Property: Toya Retreat
Address: Sumita, Ubud 80511, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 527 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toya Retreat is an authentic and almost untouched paradise of exotic culture, rich in art and natural beauty. This private retreat, in central Bali in indonesia, combines authentic Balinese traditions with modern lifestyle and facilities. Toya-bali is the beginner of the paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toya Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing