We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unlikely to recover...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Santai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Santai
Ranked #138 of 526 Ubud B&B and Inns
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unlikely to recover...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have been to many beautiful and amazing places in the world, but I have never had so much trouble leaving as I did Villa Santai. From the moment the driver, Wayan ha, picks you up at the airport you know you made the right decision. Stopping along the way to sample some local fare and grab some drinks for the ride to Ubud was a must and not a problem for Wayan. My wife and I along with another couple friend of ours had just made the best decision of the new year. Arriving at the Villa is nothing short of breath taking. I did know whether I should get a drink, take a swim, take pictures, sit down and attempt to understand how I got to this point in life, or just focus on not passing out. Luckily, I had time to do all of it and more. Quick dip in the pool with a frosty Bintang only to find myself walking around the grounds in amazement a short time later. I think at one point I forgot that I came with other people. I was in a trance, or it could have been the Bintang. The people, ohhhh the people, at the Villa go ABOVE AND BEYOND anything you could expect. From our day trips to dinner and breakfast there was never a sense of disappointment. THEY PACKED A COOLER WITH BINTANG AND WATER FOR OUR DAY TRIP AND WE DIDN'T EVEN HAVE TO ASK :)

I would say, for those seriously considering a trip to Bali and something in the price range of Villa Santai do not hesitate. Book now, book it twice! I cannot imagine how you could be disappointed. OOHHHH, and sleep in the suite on the river side for more of a cooler room and nicer sound. I could go on and on, but it is not conducive to my withdraw symptoms from Villa Santai and Bali in general.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josephk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Words really cant describe the wonderful experience we enjoyed over our short holiday here at Villa Santai. From the moment you travel into the jungle towards the villa you realize that you will be receiving more than you ever bargained for.

The Villa:
Amazing! Absolutely breath taking and peaceful. The villa is nestled away from the road leading into the property with beautiful stone designs that accent the surroundings of the jungle. After the staff meets you with open arms you step onto the top level and are blown away at the scene that is encompassed around you. You can see through the valley that has a rushing river below and you feel as if you really just died and went to heaven. The villa's seating and relaxation areas are open and inviting, almost as if no area is better than another area. The infinity pool really adds to your experience and offers you a great view into the jungle's valley. The tones of the villa makes your mind as ease with the wood floors and sand stone tiles.

The Rooms:
One of the best parts about this villa is the open air rooms. Going to sleep was never hard because of the beautiful sound of the river and the chirping of crickets and frogs. Waking up was even better because your mind is in complete harmony with nature. Looking off the balcony you can see the gorilla mist rising up from the river as swallows play in the sky. The arrangement of the rooms was very nice and peaceful. The beds were very comfortable and easy to keep laying in. I honestly think these are the most peaceful rooms I have ever stayed in.

The Staff:
You could not have asked for a better staff. Everyone of them was super nice and would do anything to make your stay better. They were always ready to help and never shy ensure you had everything you needed. While enjoying my time here they were always there exactly when you needed them but always quietly in the background as if they were not here.

The Food:
The chef did a great job making some traditional Balinese dishes that were out of this world. Flavorful and well presented, I would eat anything he suggested.

Overall I am highly impressed with this villa and what they offer. Having lived overseas for 10 years and going to almost anyplace you can imagine this trip by far was the best and it hurts me to leave. Save yourself some time and come to Villa Santai, it will be the best decision you have ever made.

Room Tip: All the rooms offer the sound of the river below however the front ones would be better to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrHomeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Ten of us (including children ages three and five) recently stayed at this oasis of calm and beauty, which is located just outside central Ubud.The entire staff was friendly and most accommodating. Dedy, the driver, who was available to take us on various sightseeing adventures,proved to be a fount of information, and Made, the manager, ensured that everything ran smoothly, The cooks prepared delicious fresh fruit drinks and Balinese-inspired dishes, as well as banana pancakes for the children.This spotless villa has four separate bedrooms, each with its own changing room and well-appointed bathrooms downstairs, and a large open-air area above, with a dining table, bar and several sitting spots, as well as an infinity-edge pool overlooking a jungle ravine. We would highly recommend Villa Santai for a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshalutchlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Villa Santai for a total of five days in February of 2012, and found both the accommodation and staff to be exceptional.

The villa is located perfectly for a relaxing getaway, featuring a mostly open-air design overlooking a picturesque jungle ravine in the outskirts of Ubud's paddy fields. The scenery is amazing to wake to each morning over breakfast and viewable from just about any vantage point in the villa. It is possible to take a scenic walk through some more rural areas into central Ubud from the villa, however this would not be recommended on a frequent basis or on those hotter days. Luckily, however, the staff are more than happy to shuttle you in and out as you please so this does not become an issue.

Each of the four rooms in the villa are spacious, well maintained, and feature equally good vantage points of the surrounding area. All have a private bathroom, walk-in wardrobe/changing area, as well as tables and chairs. The beds are comfortable and, most importantly, are fitted with mosquito net drapes to keep out all manner of crawling things during the night (of which you will definitely encounter at one point or another in your room). Other amenities include an infinity edge pool, large dining area, open-air couch/tv space, and bar equip with an internet ready computer and villa-wide sound system - all of which are equally spacious and well maintained.

What truly makes the stay special, however, is the very personable, friendly staff members, all of whom are just super pleasant and willing to welcome and accommodate you. The in-house cook is a particular treasure, capable of whipping up mouth-watering Balinese cuisine morning and night alongside freshly squeezed tropical juices that are easily on par or better than eighty-percent of the restaurants we visited within Ubud during our stay. The villa is cleaned regularly throughout the day and groceries/bar items available to be picked up from the local market on request without hassle. As previously mentioned, a personal driver is also provided to take you wherever you might need who will also provide you with his phone number for pickup as necessary. In addition, staff are prepared to book many activities for you ahead of time on request.

Overall, I would highly recommend Villa Santai to anyone thinking about a stay in Bali and the Ubud region. Everything about our stay here was exceptional, allowing you to just switch off and relax amidst some of the most beautiful scenery in the world.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We, a family or two adults and three kids, recently spent 3 days at the villa.

What a beautiful spot. The villa overlooks a valley, with the sounds of the river in the background. Swallows zip in and around the villa, although surprisingly little other birdlife. The photos on tripadviser tell the story. 4 large rooms are downstairs. Each come with en suites and very large walk in robes. The living area surrounds the pool and there are also two other undercover pavilions.

The one gripe I would have though is the lounge furniture. It is just not up to the standard required for such a villa. Please get rid of what is really just outdoor furniture dressed up as a lounge. Replace it with a large comfortable one ASAP. What a difference this would make.

Apart from that we had a very relaxing time. We did do the Bali on bike trip one day, and also made the quick trip into ubud town to walk the main road and visit the monkey forest. But the vibe in this villa is a lot different to that of seminyak (or leggian etc...). Peace and quiet.

With regards to the standard of food served at the villa - I would have to say we were a bit disappointed. Breakfasts were really good. We only had lunch on one day and the BLT's were fine. But the Indonesian or Asian inspired dishes for dinner were not the best. As a result we reverted to of all things burgers at night. They were really good though. Having said that we would have preferred local dishes. The lunch at the end of our Bali on Bike tour were amazing though!! Hint!

All up a beautiful and peaceful villa with staff that were very much in the background so you could enjoy the serenity. The villa was spotless and the daily cleaning was done without you even knowing.

Room Tip: Two front rooms, though you don't spend much time in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goldlox1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
324 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Absolutely amazing week in Villa Santai, we wish we could have stayed there longer. Everything was simply exceptional. The staff are awesome, so friendly and welcoming, making you feel like it’s your home for a brief moment in time. You are far enough away from the busy tourist areas that it’s like your own little oasis in the rice fields with an unobstructed view of the valley below. You can easily spend your days lazing around the villa without any need to venture into Ubud, but if you do it’s only a short 10min drive…by the villa driver of course. The highlight of the stay was the small cooking class we had with the staff, we felt so special to have our own local introduction to some super tasty local food. It’s rare that we find something worth going back to, but we’ll be back to Villa Santai…thanks to all the staff for the amazing week.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Amazing accommodation in the heart of the jungle. We cannot fault anything about this villa: everything was perfect! Breakfast included plenty of fresh fruit with the usual eggs and toast - superbly cooked. The menu for lunch and dinner was small but all beautifully cooked and well presented. The rooms all had excellent views and were very spacious. Bathrooms were enormous and each room also had walk-in wardrobes. We had a turndown service each night and the rooms were sprayed with mozzie repellant each night.

The staff were very helpful. Made, the manager, made sure we had everything we needed and Dedi the driver was really friendly and accommodating. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and easy-going.

The location is stunning. We had thought the villa overlooked rice fields (good), but in fact it overlooks wild jungle and a deep ravine with a fresh water river below (Amazing!). It's so completed secluded, you can just make out shining lights of a small jungle resort in the far distance.

Re: bugs from a previous post. We had no issue at all, but the mozzie nets over the beds were a nice touch.

We had the most amazing and relaxing stay and will definitely be back. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms - the front two have bigger floorspace, better views, but smaller bathrooms. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.1 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
14.7 mi away
The Santai
The Santai
#6 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ubud Dedari Villas
Ubud Dedari Villas
#37 of 527 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#1 of 527 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
8.0 mi away
Senetan Villas & Spa Resort
16.1 mi away
Villa Santai
Villa Santai
#73 of 105 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Santai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santai

Property: Villa Santai
Address: Jln. Raya Tanggayuda, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 526 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Santai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Santai is a very private and secluded luxury villa only 5k from Ubud center. Our house staff of eight will provide you with a level of service that is unparalleled. The villa's four romantic suites offer you spectacular sweeping views on the Petanu River, ancient rice terraces, and pristine jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Santai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Santai Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing