We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only one word to describe Villa Santai: WOW!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Santai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Santai
Ranked #122 of 511 Ubud B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Only one word to describe Villa Santai: WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Amazing accommodation in the heart of the jungle. We cannot fault anything about this villa: everything was perfect! Breakfast included plenty of fresh fruit with the usual eggs and toast - superbly cooked. The menu for lunch and dinner was small but all beautifully cooked and well presented. The rooms all had excellent views and were very spacious. Bathrooms were enormous and each room also had walk-in wardrobes. We had a turndown service each night and the rooms were sprayed with mozzie repellant each night.

The staff were very helpful. Made, the manager, made sure we had everything we needed and Dedi the driver was really friendly and accommodating. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and easy-going.

The location is stunning. We had thought the villa overlooked rice fields (good), but in fact it overlooks wild jungle and a deep ravine with a fresh water river below (Amazing!). It's so completed secluded, you can just make out shining lights of a small jungle resort in the far distance.

Re: bugs from a previous post. We had no issue at all, but the mozzie nets over the beds were a nice touch.

We had the most amazing and relaxing stay and will definitely be back. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms - the front two have bigger floorspace, better views, but smaller bathrooms. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is seriously the most enjoyable accommodation I have ever experienced. There were 7 of us that stayed for 8 nights and we were all very sad to leave at the end of our trip.

No matter where you are in the villa the views are spectacular. We spent many hours sitting by the pool, reading our books and just staring at the scenery (with beer in hand of course). We honestly felt like royalty perched up on the hill looking around the villa.

The staff were fantastic. Impeccable service and always smiling. They kept the villa spotless, prepared & cooked amazing meals and Dedi was great, driving us all around on our day trips answering all our touristy questions. A big thank you to all the staff for adding to the whole experience.

Our whole group would highly recommend this place and we are already talking about our next trip to villa santai.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Excellent... outstanding... beautiful.

This was a terrific experience as the villa is stunningly beautiful and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. London Perry was excellent in helping us organize the trip. We were there as a group of 15 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

The only mistake I made was not spending enough time in the villa with the attempt to explore all of Ubud. Stay here... and stay for long.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front are lovely and preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rKaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

London, and his team at Villa Santai provided an experience of a lifetime. Often, when you see photos of places like Villa Santai - you do question how reflective they are of the actual location. Well, our group of 8 can truly say that every part of those photos is reflective of the actual Villa. But what tops it all, is the hospitality, kindness and warmth of the team at Villa Santai. Every detail was taken care of for us - from pick ups, to places to visit, to beautiful, fresh and local meals in the Villa. Have no issues whatsoever recommending Villa Santai as a place to go. My only caution is to be wary of the travelling times to the major tourist spots (e.g., Seminyak is over 1.5hrs). However, the travel is worth it in the end :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlickV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

I was stay 4 days with my family, and we are realy enjoy with the atmosphere. nice staff, friendly and special thanks to Mr. Adi, he was help us during we are stay there.....!!! I will recomend this place to my colegues and friends....!!!
We are never forget with this moment....thanks guys....adios.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jayagovindadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Villa santai met/exceeded all of our expectations and was the perfect spot for our vacation to Bali. The villa itself is beautiful and quiet, offering a peaceful escape from nearby Ubud (~10 minute drive to the center of town) and reasonable accessibility to most of the island. Aside from it's stunning views and serene atmosphere, the high point of Villa Santai is unquestionably their excellent staff -- truly some of the kindest and most attentive people I have ever met.

We spent one week at the villa with three other couples. The food was amazing; we sampled virtually everything on the menu over the course of the week and loved all of our meals. The staff was more than willing to cook anything we requested, even when it wasn't on the villa's menu. Ask for the fried bananas!

The staff were also very accommodating in making arrangements for daily activities. We enjoyed many different activities ranging from massages at the villa to scuba diving trips in tulamben to beach trips to Kuta. Dedi (Villa staffmember) was an excellent chauffeur, showing us around Ubud and patiently driving us on several excursions around the island.

As far as the aforementioned bugs, yes they did exist but were in no way a hindrance to sleep or pleasure at the villa. As I previously mentioned, the villa is quite peaceful and the staff are very responsive should you encounter anything you aren't comfortable squashing yourself. We felt entirely safe on the premises; a security guard was on site all night after the evening staff team retired at 10 pm.

There are 4 generously sized bedrooms. Two rooms have queen beds but a larger bathroom with bathtub. Two other rooms had king beds and wider views of the jungle but smaller bathrooms. All rooms had large walk in closets that could fit an additional roll away bed, if necessary. The property was well maintained and clean. The staff swept and mopped the wood floors daily. The bathrooms were well stocked and cleaned daily. Turn down service was provided each evening. The upstairs common area was well equiped with two eating areas, a full bar, and three different lounge areas in addition to the pool chairs. The villa maintains a computer for you to use as well as wifi throughout the complex. There is also a stereo system and tv.

Overall we highly recommend Villa Santai to those that want to explore the island and want a relaxing atmosphere to call "home." We found it to be well maintained and very reasonably priced.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank UPtownPilots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

we stayed at Villa Santai Last July with another family, we all (adults and children), absolutely loved it and thought it was the highlight of our trip!
i would definitely would love to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank irissaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.1 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
14.7 mi away
The Santai
The Santai
#4 of 34 in Kerobokan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ubud Dedari Villas
Ubud Dedari Villas
#34 of 518 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#2 of 518 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
8.0 mi away
Senetan Villas & Spa Resort
16.1 mi away
Villa Santai
Villa Santai
#78 of 103 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Santai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santai

Property: Villa Santai
Address: Jln. Raya Tanggayuda, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 511 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Santai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Santai is a very private and secluded luxury villa only 5k from Ubud center. Our house staff of eight will provide you with a level of service that is unparalleled. The villa's four romantic suites offer you spectacular sweeping views on the Petanu River, ancient rice terraces, and pristine jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Santai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Santai Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing