We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"You are home now"”
Review of Sugars Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugars Villas
Ranked #160 of 571 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“"You are home now"”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We arrived at night into Denpasar airport and Ketut picked us up and drove us an hour or so to Ubud. When we arrived Nyoman said to us "You are home now." I shrugged this off as just a polite pleasantry but when the sun arose and we saw our tremendous surroundings and began to met the other gracious staff and locals (that visit the pool and outdoor bar) we began to understand the phrases significance.

There are 3 villas and a restaurant and bar area that surround a beautiful infinity pool. We stayed in Villa #3 which it next to a rice padi as is #2. I believe #1 has an obscured view of the padi and is closer to the pool, bar and restaurant so noise may be a slight issue but when we were there only a couple of people 'might' be at the bar late. The bar was frequented by a few expats and it was a great way to be introduced to Bali's culture from the eyes of a long term and short term expats.

Our favourite night was when Nyoman took us to an Indonesian Rock/Bluegrass cover band and we met more people from around Ubud. An unique experience that is sometimes difficult to find on your own.

During the day we used the services of Ketut and his 4WD and did many day trips with him around Bali. It was cheap and he is an extremely nice fellow. We enjoyed his company so much that on our last day in Bali we used he services again but this time we insisted that he joined us for dinner on the beach at Jimbaran Bay and we learnt more about his life and had a few laughs. I was touched by him saying that he would remember this for the rest of his life as will we.

We look forward to returning soon. Thank you for taking care of us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Nyoman never ceases to amaze me with his attention to detail and his willingness to make all his guests feel like a million dollars.
Only 3 bungalows all overlooking the rice padi with a family of ducks to keep you amused.
The Gone with the Wind Bar at the edge of the swimming pool provides a great little area to meet the other guests while having a beer or two.
Sugars serves one of the best breakfasts I have had in Bali.
Thanks Nyoman and John for another truly wonderful stay at your place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnePP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

sandy's is a small facility with four bungalows each with its own porch overlooking rice padi.
there is an infinity pool a meal area and small bar. the grounds are beautiful with golden coconut palms, lotus ponds, and flowers.
the staff was very accommodating, carrying luggage, serving breakfast on our porches, and placing beautiful flower blossom patterns on our beds while cleaning rooms.
There is a driver on staff that will take you into Ubud which is an over 10 min. drive.
There were a few ants in our room which i am sure the staff would have attended to if we had asked. We did not because it wasn't terrible and we were happy to be in such a peaceful environment!
We did not eat there except for breakfast which was very nice.
Please say hello to Neoman who it is our understanding, is co-owner, he is gracious and quite a philosopher!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saratown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Visiting Sugars is an experience as a tourist or an expat. I have probably spent more time there than anywhere else in Bali!
Nyoman is your host and is the heart and soul of Sugars. The meals are fantastic and the location is beautiful and quiet. I have stayed at Sugars a number of times and the attention to detail by the staff is great. You are also guaranteed to bump into interesting expats who have become part of the family there. Please don't miss sugars when you visit Ubud!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Go there! Sugars Villas is a beautifully located place near Ubud. If you want true balinese welcoming, wonderful views and genuine hospitality, visit Sugars Villas. What you will not get is typical tourism in center of Ubud. But John and Nyoman treated us like family, and Nyoman made Ubud the most fantastic experience. He took us back to his home, introduced us to his family and afterwards he took us to a ceremonial for the dead in his village, telling us all about the ceremony and culture. This experience could not have been bought with money. And Nyoman never wanted us to pay for it. We are so very grateful. Besides Nyoman is so helpful with alle kinds of bookings for daytrips and everything else you could ask for. You will not regret going there

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silkebock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you've travelled a few times you realise the value of local knowledge and genuine hospitality and Sugars provides both in abundance. The location, setting and facilities had us relaxing the minute we arrived and then the warmth and friendliness of the staff and local customers had us not wanting to leave.

The Villa's themselves are top rate rooms with great air conditioning (and ceiling fans), very large ensuite bathrooms and your own private deck with day beds and beautiful views. The pool is top rate and brings in local residents which means you are able to get a range of ideas and views from people that live in Ubud. My son even came away with a couple of knew pen pals to write to after making friends with some of the local children, making his trip so memorable.

The location allows you to escape the hustle of Ubud and really relaxed, but access to town was still simple and very cheap so we didn't miss out on anything. In fact the short drive in and back also allowed us to see things staying in town simply can't, including daily routines of the locals.

In wrapping up, the service and staff at Sugars is warm and accommodating, the way things should be. It represents the friendliness and genuine happiness of the Balinese beautifully and provided a wonderful, relaxing and memorable trip. One I'll certainly be making again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olliemoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arrived at Sugars a little shattered after a 'mixed feelings' stay in Kuta, which we realised (too late...) was not the venue to unwind at after a savage working year.

Sugars was the ideal spot to start relaxing, with the stress dropping off as we started unpacking in our delightfully and appropriately furnished villa facing onto the rice paddies. We soon discovered that Sugars is far more than just an idyllic spot. Nyoman and his crew spared no effort in making us feel at home and enabling easy-paced and insightful explorations of the Ubud area.

It quickly became apparent that the Sugars pub is a connecting place for an intriguing stream of ex-pats, who shared some interesting angles on life in Bali.

All in all, I heartily recommend Sugars to travellers who appreciate a homely, personal environment and can step past the barriers of their own cultures to engage the gentle Bali welcome on its own turf.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#19 of 196 in Ubud
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Purist Villas and Spa
1.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
1.6 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugars Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugars Villas

Property: Sugars Villas
Address: Jalan Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 571 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room rate is US$80 to US$95 per room per night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugars Villas Hotel Ubud
Sugars Villas Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing