We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugars Villas
Nearby Hotels
$1,416
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa(Peliatan)(Great Value!)
$75
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$708
$595
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$157
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$714
$664
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$470
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,188
$1,049
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$92
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
72
8
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
8
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful poolnyomancultureprivacyinsightoasisgeckosserenityheaven
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 81 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arrived at Sugars a little shattered after a 'mixed feelings' stay in Kuta, which we realised (too late...) was not the venue to unwind at after a savage working year.

Sugars was the ideal spot to start relaxing, with the stress dropping off as we started unpacking in our delightfully and appropriately furnished villa facing onto the rice paddies. We soon discovered that Sugars is far more than just an idyllic spot. Nyoman and his crew spared no effort in making us feel at home and enabling easy-paced and insightful explorations of the Ubud area.

It quickly became apparent that the Sugars pub is a connecting place for an intriguing stream of ex-pats, who shared some interesting angles on life in Bali.

All in all, I heartily recommend Sugars to travellers who appreciate a homely, personal environment and can step past the barriers of their own cultures to engage the gentle Bali welcome on its own turf.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We loved sugars for the fact that it is not in hustle and bustle of ubud. They made us feel very welcome and always did whatever they could do to make us feel welcome. They even put flowers on our bed !

The hiccup thing that left a bit of a bitter taste in our mouth was that we ended up changing our booking and wanting to leave a few days earlier as we for d ubud just too busy. Nyoman was fine with this when we told him and then when we came to check out 3 days later he told us that the owner John was not happy and we should pay. It would have been helpful to have known this the previous 3 days before so we could change our plans. We were also then charged for food that we were told was for free " a welcoming meal for our honeymoon" . Which maybe was a way for them to recount some cost that they lost. But not that cool when you're told it is a gift. Plus being a small place, there were a lot of children staying on 2 nights which stopped us from feeling like we could be in a chilled out honeymoon place. We would go back though and just make sure we booked only a few days and add them on if we want to stay.
Apart from that I would really recommend this place.

Room Tip: The back bungalow is most private.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Myself and family had the pleasure of staying at Sugars villas over Christmas and New Year and we were so very glad we did.

Nyoman is just such a fantastic kind host and his staff are really great - my son loved being there fishing in the pond out back, playing with the beautifull dogs that Nyoman has or playing in the pool.

New Years Eve arrived and Nyoman presented us with a bottle of wine to enjoy the evening with, how thoughtful... then on the day we left Nyoman presented my son with some A4 laminated photo prints of photos taken of him whilst playing in the pool and gardens, nice touch.

Villas are great, AC was ice cold, food was good, beer was cold, people were marvellous, surroundings were very peacefull. It is a few kms north of Ubud which for us was great as it was quiet and peacefull and we could drive into town in the evening or if we felt the need during the day.

I have lived in Indonesia nearly twenty years and have been fortunate enough to visit Bali many many times, this will be one place where I will certainly be more than happy to return to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Much about this special place has already been said and we can only confirm that Sugars is a must when you are in Ubud. During the week we stayed there literally every day former customers came over again just to say hello, have a drink or to ask if they could stay again. That says it all. The beautiful villas and surroundings, the friendly atmosphere and the perfect mix of hospitality and privacy by the owners makes this a place where you want to come back over and over again. Thank you Nyoman and crew for a wonderful holiday!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank nicopiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I hired a car in Kuta with the plan of not booking anywhere and just heading out on a road trip to Ubud. After stopping in at quite a few Villas around the local area we came across this 'amazing little gem' on the outskirts of Ubud. From the moment we got there we were made to feel like part of their extended family by the owners Nyoman & John & all their wonderful staff. The villas were perfect & overlooked rice fields, we slept soundly in very comfy beds and no mosquito's! Nyoman is a brilliant cook and will whip you up a dining experience to remember any time of day/night. Recommend heading out on the mountain bike trek with the group Sugars use, fantastic experience. Also try the in house massage with one of the local ladies, she was amazing. We truly felt sad to leave this wonderful spot and will be back to visit our new friends next year. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeNev15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews