We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded all expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ONEWORLD retreats Kumara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ONEWORLD retreats Kumara
Ranked #1 of 520 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was looking forward to my participation in the Escape the World retreat, but the reality was so much better than I was anticipating. The room and the view from the spacious balcony was spectacular. The setting in the jungle with the river at the bottom of the property is gorgeous, as is the wildlife that you'll witness. The food was delicious and so healthy. The yoga was fantastic, both Iyan and Wayan are lovely and fantastic teachers. The service from all staff members is above and beyond, and everyone is so friendly. The spa treatments are out of this world. The excursions are great and a fantastic way to see more of and learn about the culture of Bali. And finally, the rest of the people on my retreat were amazing, and I've definitely made some new friends. I would heartily recommend this retreat to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    28
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
41
264
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunsborough, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

There is something very special about the ONEWORLD retreat at Kumara in Ubud. The accommodation is a boutique piece of paradise - just 14 beautiful rooms built across the jungle-covered hillside. Yes the pool is gorgeous, yes the meals are divine, but the real beauty of this retreat is the heart and soul of all the people looking after you. Part physical (yoga), part spiritual, part holiday and part re-connecting - this retreat is a soul stirrer. Just go.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 824Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I am so grateful for this truly wonderful retreat! The food was incredible, healthy and delicious. The staff were so caring and attentive, Wayan took such good care of us and Ketut's smile warmed my heart. Our room was so beautiful! I loved doing yoga every day and Rachel put together amazing classes that made my body sing. The massages were phenomenal!
I really hope that I will be back again one day!

Room Tip: We were in room 5 and I loved it as I thought that it was the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I spent a week at the ONEWORLD retreat Kumara in Ubud and it's safe to stay it's the best holiday I ever had.
Service was amazing, food excellent, location heavenly between palm trees and rice fields, I will definitely go back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Firstly, the staff are gracious and generous and the setting and concept of the Retreat inspiring.
I was a return Retreat guest as previous experience was excellent. I hesitated writing this review...but the PRIORITY is safety. A participant had also been injured in the previous Retreat.

I participated in an excursion where the group was taken off a path into wet, slippery, muddy vegetation and in parts a steep, narrow descent. I slipped and fell onto rocks. I injured my shoulder and knee with scratches and bleeding. There was no first aid available, no mobile phone reception in this area and I continued walking with wounds exposed and bleeding. Once we reached the road, there was an inadequate old 1st aid kit. On return to the Retreat proper bandaging and antiseptic supplies were made available.

Management made no enquiry during or following my stay, even though I saw retreat owner/manager, Claude, at reception during my stay.

I had attended the retreat to deepen my yoga/meditation practise and returned home with injuries which restricted my practise.

Other concerns: I finalised my booking a few days prior to the retreat...no advice was given that the pool was being upgraded and could not be used; laundry problems... Blood stain on laundered bed sheet (occurred as well in previous stay); exact same meals as for previous retreat...no variation.

Feedback directly given to management in the previous retreat seemed unaddressed, hence this review. If safety and other issues are addressed, I would still highly recommend the "Escape the World Retreat".

NB. Wayan has a spiritual soul and embodies the Bali spirit. Ketut at reception has a smile that lights up the soul...Rhonda watch out!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

It's hard to know what to say that hasn't already been said here. I was concerned prior to arrival that my expectations might have been raised too high by all the great reviews. But I wasn't at all disappointed.

From the beautiful, unpretentious accommodation and environment, wonderful staff, to the great food and the rejuvenating Escape the World program, the care and attention to detail was second to none. You really do feel that so much care and love has gone into Oneworld that the experience can be quite special. Iyan and Wayan are charming yoga guides - they're both excellent teachers in different ways and Iyan has a delightful sense of fun.

The program is well thought out and full, about 4 hours of yoga & meditation a day, with a few cultural trips which I really enjoyed - especially the downhill bike ride. Everything on the cultural trips was immaculately organised so that everyone's needs could be catered for ie: if you wanted to leave early, not walk or bike too far etc, there was always back up.

I'd go back in a heartbeat. My only wish is that the retreat was for a little longer, say 7 to 10 days.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which was a bit isolated near the bottom of the retreat, (we didn't mind this) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emstar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I went to the "Escape the World" meditation and yoga retreat in December/January 2013/14.
I felt deeply nurtured by the whole experience - the meditation and yoga practice, the daily spa treatments, the excursions and the nutritious meals. The staff were very kind and always smiling.
I would recommend this retreat to anyone who needs time out in a life-giving environment.
Zofia, Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zofia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
2.6 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.8 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#2 of 520 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ONEWORLD retreats Kumara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ONEWORLD retreats Kumara

Property: ONEWORLD retreats Kumara
Address: Jalan Suweta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 520 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ONEWORLD retreats Kumara is remarkably peaceful: the location offers 10 well appointed rooms, 2 swimming pools, dining room, lush gardens, wonderful views of the rice fields and a spa offering high quality treatments including our renowned Ayurvedic Chakra Dhara Massage.The resort is located in Ubud, where famous artists and writers from the world over have found peace and serenity including Elizabeth Gilbert who recently wrote about Ubud in the best seller Eat Pray Love. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oneworld Retreats Kumara Hotel Ubud
ONEWORLD Retreats Kumara Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing