We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, Peaceful Retreat”
Review of Narasoma Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Narasoma Homestay
Ranked #39 of 654 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Narasoma came highly recommended by a trusted friend. Wow. This is a gem in the middle of Ubud, a 5 minute walk from the palace! Yet it is entirely removed from the buzz of Jalan Monkey Forest, a main through fare. It is another world, surrounded by a jungle canyon and small rice fields. The owners have paid amazingly beautiful attention to detail. I stayed at the retreat center in the back of the property for five days and came back for another week. The views, the scenery, the calm, the peace, the beauty of the rooms, the building, the grounds, the always helpful staff - simply superb. There are many places to meditate on the grounds. The yoga studio on the roof is a special treat not to be found anywhere else. I came here for a combination of personal study/meditation/yoga/vacation. It is the perfect place for that. And very affordable.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center here. My 5 points are for the outstanding yoga studio facility available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagabundierer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 128 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have stayed here 5 times I love this place the location the grounds and the staff are fantastic. The owners live in the main house and the rooms are on the 1st and 2nd floor. If you have a problem with too many stairs there are other options including a Traditional Balanese suite with only a few stairs. I have stayed in the suite it's just beautiful and very luxurious. There is also a yoga retreat centre beautiful pool and many places to relax around the grounds. Breakfast is either served in your room or on the balcony or in the breakfast room overlooking the pool. Benji Gang is off Monkey Forest so this place is great for relaxing shopping or walking over to the Palace for Traditional Dance proformances

Room Tip: This is a Homestay no lift so ask about the stairs to the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April120449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed solo at Narasoma Guest House for 10 wonderful days and nights.
The owners, Charlotte and Nyoman, and the Staff, especially the two Wayan's and the two Made's were kind, friendly, and very accommodating.
The grounds are really lovely and peaceful, with a nice pool area. I was on the third floor with an amazing view towards Mt Agung, the room was fan only and there were nice breezes with the front and back doors open, and no need for air con. The bed was comfortable, unfortunately the water pressure was slow for the shower. The balcony was a great place to meet other guests and to relax.
Wayan's breakfast was more than adequate and very enjoyable, his banana pancakes and mixed juice are superb!

All in all, Narasoma IS a home away from home! Missing it and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have more privacy and wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilovelillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We booked a combo vacation that included a hotel in Padang Padang. We went to Ubud for the day and stumbled upon Narasoma Homestay. It was an amazing little paradise. The front desk clerk indulged us in showing us around. This one building on the property looked like a palace and we were told it was a suite available to guests. Also ths land once belonged to royalty. We just had to have this experience of staying in this beautiful building all to ourselves! We came back the next day, did some shopping and sightseeing and then retired to our little palace. The handcrafted details around the whole property were amazing. I literally took 200 pictures while there. We met the owners and found out the whole story of the property, and all about the time and love they have put into making Narasom feel as lovely as it does. It was so affordable too! I thought our suite would be a few hundred dollars but it was about $50.00 for the night! Included is a made to order breakfast overlooking the pool and green of the hills. It was all so peaceful. We explored every inch of the grounds and found the regular rooms to be just as nice as our little palatial suite. We were supplied with everything we needed. The WiFi works great everywhere on the property. We arre so happy the Narasoma beckoned us down that little side road to make our trip to Bali unforgettable!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Narasoma. The breakfast was yummy and the rooms are decorated in a beautiful way. The whole compound is amazing. I took so many photos. It's like staying in a work of art! The host family and staff were all very kind towards me and my my stay memorable. Narasoma is located in a fantastic spot and the view of the volcano from the rooms is breath-taking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jes517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful, traditional rooms were the highlight of this stay. A single room cost 300k rupiah, a bargain for the central location. However, showers were not hot and there was no air con at this price, just a fan. The night was cool so this wasn't an issue for me, but something to be aware of when booking.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveladdict545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Narasoma was a great introduction to our first time in Bali. The accomodation was basic but nice, the grounds were beautiful and the staff lovely and bent over backwards to help and offer advice.

The pool was stunning for such a low accomodation rate, and the temples were fascinating. We had brilliant views - the best i've ever had from a toilet!

The breakfast was very basic and not very substantial, but not really a big deal. Out of four nights, we decided to eat out for breakfast one morning.

Situated right in the middle of Monkey Forest Road, the location was fantastic for both shopping and dining out.

There was construction going on whilst we were there, but this had no effect whatsoever on our stay.

For those with toddlers, the stairs were a bit precarious (large & tiled) so take care. Again, no big deal.

Overall, a really great place to stay.

Room Tip: Our first night we were on the top level without aircon but with a fan, then because we had booked a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.7 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#50 of 197 in Ubud
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cendana Resort and Spa
Cendana Resort and Spa
#130 of 197 in Ubud
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amoya Inn
Amoya Inn
#66 of 654 in Ubud
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sumantra House Ubud
Sumantra House Ubud
#29 of 654 in Ubud
52 reviews
0 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#10 of 654 in Ubud
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narasoma Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narasoma Homestay

Address: Beji Lane, Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 654 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Narasoma Homestay Hotel Ubud
Narasoma Homestay Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing